We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a dated hotel with amazing views”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from 7 night at this hotel. We stayed in room 123 and paid 10 euros extra on arrival to upgrade to a double sea view room. Well worth it. The views are amazing. The rooms are spacious but a bit dated. Walls are very thin so you can hear the people in the next room talking, their TV etc. Very comfortable bed though and great water pressure in the shower which isn't always the case ! The rooms and communal areas were all kept really clean.

There is a lovely terrance where breakfast and evening meals are served. Breakfast is the usual meat, cheese, bread, croissants, pastries, fresh fruit etc. A good selection. The buffet-style evening meals had potential to be good if they had been served hot, not luke warm. The bar also has a nice outside area and prices were normal bar prices rather than hotel prices. Staff at reception were always helpful and spoke perfect English. The staff in the bar were entertaining but the waiting staff in the restaurant were not great. Took so long to get a drink in the evening, you were better off going to the bar to get it yourself.

The beach is pebbles so bring beach shoes with you. You also have to pay for sun beds and parasols. The sun bed man also sells cold drinks including beers, which is nice.

The bus into the old town stops right outside the hotel and there is also a nice walk into Lapad town with bars and restaurants. There is a supermarket a 5 min walk away for water etc.

Room Tip: paying the extra for a sea view is worth it
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your detailed review which will help us in further service improvement.
Additionally, we thank you for the compliments on our reception staff. We will certainly give our best to speed-up the restaurant service. We are glad you liked so much our food selection and our excellent hotel location.
Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me,

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Vis in August 2013 and we loved it. Great location just a cross from the beach with beautiful views overlooking the bay. Staff were always friendly. We had to pay for the chairs on the beach but still good value for a great holiday. This hotel is all about location and we will be back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
We certainly expect your visit again. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed in accommodation and, as you indicated in your review, our beautiful hotel terrace.
Thank you for your compliments about our staff.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel, very clean rooms, comfortable beds, and a functional shower room with plenty of hot water.
Air Conditioning in the rooms was not as noisy as other places I have stayed and could be turned down or off, we had a balcony with sea view which provided that little bit of outside private space to sit and read or just watch the sun set.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, prompt service was obvious.
The hotel is right on the beach, which is stones so wet shoes are advised, there are plenty of water based activities for hire inc sit on tops, stand up paddle boards, pedalos and an inflatable water park to play on - all have to be paid for on the beach.
Sun beds also for hire.
The hotel has a lovely snack bar on the edge of the beach and the food was plentiful for lunch and reasonably priced. There is also a beach side bar/terrace area which was a good meeting place while waiting for our friends to join us before the evenings out.
Breakfast was ok, there was plenty of choice, yogurts, fresh fruit, cereals, cold meats cheese, bread and pastries, and a hot buffet (which needed to be put in the micro wave provided to warm it up)
Trips could be booked from the hotel, but trips could be booked from anywhere!
It is far enough away from the bars to not get the noise but close enough to walk to in about 7 mins.
All in all this is a good hotel and we would go back again without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you ask for a sea view then there may be some noise from the bars but this was not excessive, the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
A big thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation.
As you indicate in your review, we are glad that you spent a lovely holiday in our hotel.
Thank you for your compliments on hotel staff, cleanliness, comfort, food and location. We would be grateful if you would recommend our hotel to your friends and family.
Looking forward seeing you again.
Best regards from entire hotel staff and me.

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a lovely sea view which was certainly worth paying extra for! The bed was comfy and the room clean. The air conditioning didn't work very well and the bar was noisy at the weekend, Thankfully l had packed ear plugs! We still thought it was a nice place to stay and would go back. Breakfast was the standard buffet. Eating outside was great but watch out for the seagulls! It would have been nice if there had been a small fitness room.

It doesn't seem fair that you have to pay to use the sun beds by the sea. Despite the extra charge, it was fantastic to have the facility on site!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lindsay1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for being our guests and for planning to visit us again.
We apologize for the noise from the aperitif bar terrace; we had a group of younger guests in hotel.
Fitness room is situated in Wellness & SPA Uvala just across the road (Wellness & SPA Uvala is a part of our hotel group) and for your next visit, you will get an appropriate discount to use it.
Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me.

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel more than adequate including breakfast and any issue we might have had with our room was more than made up for by the fabulous sea view from our balcony. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Bus into Dubrovnik old city stops outside hotel and runs regularly. Bus tickets can be bought at hotel reception. Dubrovnik old city is is amazing but lovely to return to the hotel to sit on the clean pebbled beach outside the hotel. Didn't see anywhere else I would have prefered to stay within our price range. Great holiday thank you Hotel Vis and Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 245,567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for all kind compliments you wrote in your review.
We are glad that we made your vacation a memorable one.
We will be grateful if you recommend our hotel to your friends and family.
Looking forward seeing you again.
Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me.

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We travelled here as part of an organised trip. Our room was at the back. It was very small and gloomy with no view. All food is buffet service. Breakfast was average but had quite good variety and you can make yourself a decent cup of tea. We had dinner on one night and it was terrible. The reception staff were good and helpful . There was plenty of help to carry our bags up the many steps both inside and outside the hotel. A super location but spoiled for us as above.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bri_in_the_Sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
We apologize for the inconvenience, but it was a part of your booked group arrangement. However, you had a possibility to request a sea view room, off curse, with supplement.
Thank you for your compliments about hotel staff, location and breakfast.
For other observations, we will take them into consideration.
Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me,

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here one week with two other couples at the end of May. As previously stated, there are a few steps down to reception, up to rooms, and down to the beach. No lift, so if you have mobility issues its probably not for you, but anyone who tells you that the steps are a problem is exaggerating somewhat (perhaps needs to get a bit fitter?) Rooms are basic, with old fashioned decor,(and TV !) but comfy beds, lots of hot water, plenty of storage and a decent balcony. Sea view definitely the better option. The room was kept spotless, top marks to the cleaning staff. No pool, but its not needed, as the pebbly beach leads to a beautiful bay and we swam every day as well as renting kayaks and paddle boards. The bar was well stocked and the terrace is a great place to watch the sunset with a beer. The beer was no dearer than most other bars in town and cheaper than some, which is unusual in a hotel, and a nice bonus. Bus stops outside to go into the old town, and there are nice walks around the peninsula opposite, ending at Gruz harbour, with good bars and restaurants, where you can see the huge cruise ships arrive and leave. There is also a pedestrianised street 5 minutes walk from the hotel with numerous bars and place to eat. Hotel Vis is not 5 star, but you are not paying 5 star prices either. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for sea view room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and the city for your vacation.
From your comment, we can see that you spent a great vacation in our hotel, which makes us very happy. We will do our best to maintain and improve all our hotel standards. Thank you for your recommendations; we hope we will justify your trust.
Hope to see you soon. Until then, kind regards from entire hotel staff and me.

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 68 in Dubrovnik
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 68 in Dubrovnik
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#49 of 68 in Dubrovnik
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £42 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing