We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total disappointment”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hotel vis was the first hotel my friend and I stayed in on our arrival in Croatia. I was very excited as the views on the website looked fabulous, overlooking the pebble beach. I booked a room with balcony.on arrival I was told in no uncertain terms that the hotel was fully booked and I would have to stay in the sister hotel across the road.after lengthy and strenuous arguing with staff and refusing to accept this change in arrangements that had been made some 6 months earlier, I demanded to speak to the boss.this caused the staff to roll eyes and make rude exasperated noises.he appeared miraculously from the adjoining office, obviously realising I was not going to give in. After directing me to the terrace for a bottle of wine on the house, a room for me was found.i can only describe it as a very basic budget room,with a small balcony, old carpet,old beds, bathroom bordering on decrepit, the door did not even close properly.Had I not just flown in from Sydney, would definitely have left and found other accomodation. We thought we'd make the best of things and headed to the beautiful beach for a swim. Of course we had to pay for towels, and a deck chair because you can't sit on the pebbles. Breakfast was so bad, even the fruit was poor quality.The bus is a brisk 15 minute walk from the hotel.Returning in the evening from dinner out is a dark walk back to hotel and cheap souvenir shops are the best shopping here.The area itself is very pretty as evidenced by the photographs but having spent five days in the area I would definitely stay in or closer to old city. Not much to do in Lapad apart from beach and a few restaurants.On the last night a large group of people had a party in the room under ours which went on until 4 in the morning. This was a Pythonequse experience without the laughs.Not even cheap. Do not stay here.
Click to view larger image or hover over to zoom

$3,999

Add to Wish List
Download PDF Specification Sheet I booked a room overlooking the bay on the pebble beach. On arrival I was told

Room Tip: Don't do it
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank robertloretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for being our guests. Your comments and suggestions will help us to eliminate all the shortcomings you indicated in your detailed review.
We will do our best to improve our hotel standards.
Best regards.

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Choosing accommodation when staying in a destination for the first time can be daunting. It can be very difficult to know in advance of your arrival if you've made the correct choice.There are many 'posh' looking hotels around the city of Dubrovnik but if you're looking for reasonably priced,suitably situated,convenient with friendly staff,a relaxed atmosphere and direct access to the beautiful Adriatic sea then look no further than the Vis hotel.We were very happy with our choice. The public transports local bus stop is directly across the street,bathing facilities right on your doorstep and far enough outside the old city to ensure a quiet and relaxing time.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a sea view from your balcony. Waking up to and going asleep to the be...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
While reading your comments, it is obvious you had a dilemma which hotel to choose for your holiday. We are pleased you have chosen Hotel Vis and, as you indicated in your review, you were satisfied. Your compliments about our hotel make us really proud.
We will be grateful if you recommend us to your family and friends.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a week last week. We loved it. We had a great room overlooking the bay on the first floor. It was immaculate and wonderfully understated in decor which is what we wanted. It was really quiet - the bay itself is peaceful at night and in the day it is not noisy. The staff were really lovely- the waitresses in the restaurant and the cleaning staff work really hard and are so nice. Staff are professional and polite at all times. The rooms at the back dont have the great view but the hotel opens onto the beach and the terrace and bar area overlook the water. It is lovely. It is a short bus ride to old Dubrovnik. The breakfasts were great, there was a massive choice and lots of it. The evening meals are good too if you want a night in. Its good for kids too as the bay is so safe. I think its the best place on the bay because of the beach location, the bus and the atmosphere. Definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Our room faced the sea on first floor - it was perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Suecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your compliments about hotel staff, food, cleanliness, location and everything else you indicated in your detailed review.
We are pleased that you will visit us again. We will be grateful if you recommend us to your family and friends.
Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me.

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Believe the reviews - Hotel Vis really is a friendly, efficient, clean and superbly located hotel offering extremely good value for money and a great base for exploring Dubrovnik. Bar, restaurant and breakfast rooms next to the beach with stunning views over the whole bay.

The bus really does go from outside the hotel and runs every 15 mins to the gates of the old city.

Lapad Bay itself has lots of great bars and restaurants too - the food at the hotel is OK but with so many other restaurants to choose from close by, you'll probably not want to have anything other than breakfast at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view of course but on one of the higher floors - the view from the ground/first floor is...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are pleased you were satisfied with hotel cleanliness, food, service and location.
However, the most important thing is that you had a nice stay.
Once again thank you. We will be pleased if you recommend us to your friends and family.
Kind regards from the entire hotel staff and me.

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great location, great service - the staff was friendly and welcoming and made us feel like home. The place is incredibly beautiful. I was not entirely happy with the room because the "park view" was actually some-kind-of-noisy-equipment view and the balcony was tiny. The food was diverse and very tasty. All the great sights were easy to reach - they were relatively close or there was easy public transport. The locals vere also very friendly.

I strongly recommend the hotel as we trully enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book sea view. If not, ask for a room in the new part of the hotel as those ro...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Silviya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
It is a great pleasure to get such a positive feedback. Your compliments about hotel staff, food and location make us very proud. We will be grateful if you recommend us to you friends and family. Looking forward to see you again.
Best regards.

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Fantastic location on Lapad Bay, but only 15 minutes into Dubrovnik Old Town.
Super view from our room (357), clean & spacious, and the bed was really comfortable - but you do notice the lack of a lift after a few trips up and down the stairs!
Not hugely impressed by the food - 5/10 at best, but there are plenty of restaurants a few minutes walk away. The terrace bar really does need sorting out - it should be the heart of the hotel in the evening, but it's a ghost town - even during the World Cup......
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and all spoke good English.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Mrs. and Ms. Halstead,
We thank you for being our guests. Special thank you for your compliments about hotel staff, cleanliness, comfort and excellent location.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Until then, greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Niko Zuhovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend booked this hotel in July for 10 days based on good reviews and based on the location and sea view room. We must say it is the perfect location. 10 minute bus to the Old Town and it's so easy to get to lots of other stunning beaches, lovely local restaurants and Lapad is in the centre of lots to do and full of friendly people willing to help. We would stay in Lapad again just not in Hotel Vis.
When we arrived, having paid an extra 15 euro's per person, per night for a sea view room, to be welcomed by a TREE VIEW ROOM!!
Yes it was infront of the sea but we couldn't see the pictureque views due to the clever idea of planting trees infront of it. So if you do stay here make it extremely clear you want a room over looking the terrace. That's the pic they show you all over the internet. The rooms are basic, nothing exciting! However, the cleaners are fantastic, we would go for breakfast and by the time we had finished and returned to our room, it was immaculate. Fresh towels, bed made, toliet and shower cleaned (all done daily).

The breakfast is good. Not great, it's the same every morning but you do get a selection so well worth the small amount of money it costs.
You can't get wifi in your room only in the bar/restaurant so the costs are high for no wifi when you can get wifi everywhere else.

HUGE TIP: My biggest tip (which doesn't involve the hotel) is...exchange your money over there. We did and got an excellent rate. In England we got quoted 8.4 kuna for each £1. In lapad banks we got charged 9.33 kuna per £1. So i would strongly advise to do that and get the most of of your money. Even hotel Vis gave a rate of 9 kuna to £1.
Last tip: Try the cable cart restaurant! WOW the view of all dubrovnik and the staff and price is excellent. Our best evening was spent there.

Room Tip: The sea view room over the terrace has the lovely view. Not infront of the trees!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank JamesWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for being our guests. Also, we thank you for compliments about hotel location, cleanliness, food and our kind and helpfull staff.
We hope you will visit us again and we commit that we will give you room with better view.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Hotel Manager
Niko Zuhovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 68 in Dubrovnik
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#38 of 68 in Dubrovnik
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 68 in Dubrovnik
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#54 of 68 in Dubrovnik
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £43 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing