We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vis

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Vis
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Wasn't sure about staying here, but it was a pleasure. There is no PRIVATE beach but a PUBLIC beach that is right in front of the hotel. I preferred to use the nearby rocks for my leisure. Easy to get around, number 4 bus stops almost outside the door and runs every 20 minutes to Dubrovnik (8 kuna if you get the ticket form hotel). Not too far from restuarants and bars. Supermarket not far away. Hotel has been updated, my bathroom was great the room itself could have been better, it did have a balcony though no view (not a problem for me, was quiet and relaxing out there) it was "linked to" the next room and the door could have been better soundproofed, first 3 nights had a snorer and another night a "loud" French couple. Breakfast was adequate & taken on the terrace with views of the bay, nice touch, air-con was good, bed comfortable, what more do you want. Recommend Pero on the front desk, fountain of information & very friendly. Cleaning staff were always friendly if a little reserved, always ready with a welcome.
Best places to visit Atlantic Restuarant (free wi-fi), try the fried fish, Paladium Restuarant, owner is nice guy, had the black risotto (cuttlefish). Lapad Beach Bar for drinks and view of the bay, got to see a sunset from there. If you don't mind a walk or taxi try the Blidinje restuarant (the terrace) overlooking the new harbour (close to Lapad Hotel), had the squid/calamari.
Things that could have been better, the Lapad Beach area is rundown and needs work, lots of peeling paint and debris, although they were working on it the last few days,

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    209
    161
    64
    63
See reviews for
71
277
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

If you are looking for an average hotel, but are more focused on great location (Lapad) and beautiful private beach, than this is the one! The hotel is nice, a true 3 star hotel which is clean, with sound food, but requires interior refurbishment. Overall, it was a great place to be with beautiful balcony with sea view, which is highly recommended. There is a nice terrace which was not in use at the time (beggining of May) as it was not yet the season time.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2008

The view from our room was spectacular and I have it as my mobile screen saver.

Dubrovnik is a beautiful place to be in. Hotel Vis is a fair call from that beauty.

Our room was tiny. It was like a room for 2 children that adjoined to their parent's room.

The house cleaning staff were great. Rooms were cleaned very well, sheets were changed daily, staff were really friendly.

Front end staff were pathetic. My travel partner and I complained about the size of our room, and the hotel manager raised his hands and said 'what do you want me to do?'

We ate 'a la carte' at their restaurant one night - the buffet looked like all guests had sneezed into all dishes on offer. They gave us a basket of bread - no big deal. We asked for butter. They charged us the equivalent of 2 Aussies dollars for each tiny slab of butter that hardly covers a slice of bread.

We drink spirits. One night we asked for some ice to have with our spirits. Never in the world have I been asked to pay for ice. We paid 12 kunas for a small ucket of ice - about 3 Australian dollars. In Ausralia we get 3 kilogram bags of ice for less.

Dubrovnik is beautiful. Hotel Vis is not beautiful.

  • Liked — The view from our room
  • Disliked — The staff at the front end were unhelpul and rude.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Jekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during a Cosmos tour of the Dalmation Coast. We did not pay the extra for a sea view and our room faced trees and a road. However, the road was not busy and our room was very quiet at night. The room itself was comfortable and the bathroom appeared brand new. Another couple said their first room was not too nice so they asked to be moved and then it was fine.
Breakfast and dinner were included in our package. I thought the evening meals especially were quite good with lots of variety. Sometimes the food wasn't hot enough, but there is a microwave available.
All the hotel staff (reception, restaurant, bar, and cleaning staff) were friendly and courteous.
The only negative was the beach which badly needed tidying up. There were bits of metal and glass and only a few loungers. Perhaps they didn't expect people to want to use the beach in early May, but the weather was sunny and warm.

There is a fabulous cliffside walk on the opposite side of the bay, ideal for morning and evening walks. Also a promenade nearby with many bars and cafes, nice for a drink before or after dinner. The bus to Dubrovnik stops outside the hotel. The fare to the city walls is about 1€ and you can buy tickets at hotel reception. The journey takes 10 minutes.

All in all, we would stay here again.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Shabby beach
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MicheleCdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#35 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#29 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#51 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Property: Hotel Vis
Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing