We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach, and convenient to reach old town Dubrovnik”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Bologna, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Right on the beach, and convenient to reach old town Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

As is it almost impossible to find accomodations in the center of Dubrownik, this is one of the best options. The pebble beach is quite clean and not too crowded, it is literally a few meters from the hotel, and it is possible to reach Dubrovnik by bus in just 15 minutes, the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. You can buy bus tickets at the reception or on the bus.
The common areas of the hotel are acceptable, even though it would be a good idea to refurbish them. The rooms on the other hand are nice, large and the beds are comfortable.
Too bad there is no elevator in the hotel, nor refrigerator in the room. The hotel offers only a few parking spaces, and it's not easy to park in the nearby streets.
Breakfast (buffet) is not great, but it is served on a nice terrace overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindacarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    223
    179
    77
    69
See reviews for
76
307
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
meath
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This hotel is lovely, our room overlooked the sea and the beach and that alone was gorgeous. The hotel is a little outdated but bear in mind its three star.
We had to get taxi's in and out of the old city it would have been about 45min-1hour walk in the heat.
It was ok, it did the job!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giddygoatMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

My partner and I & 4 friends stayed here for 2 nights and it served its purpose perfectly. Although the room was quite dated, it was clean and all that we needed. The breakfast is a typical European breakfast. We had the buffet one night for dinner and it was really good. The lunch restaurant/bar has lovely staff and we were well looked after.
What makes this hotel worth it is the location (right on the beach with a beautiful view) and it's right across the road from the bus stop that goes into the old town very frequently.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassiec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Booked double room, got two single beds pushed together. When we arrived we complained and were told by a very rude and uninterested receptionist, that we booked a "standard" double room and that was what we got and the hotel was full so there was nothing we could do about it. This was very frustrating as we had been looking forward to getting a double bed together after 2 weeks camping.
Breakfast was poor, all long life foods, tinned frankfurts, stale breads, horrible breakfast juice. Tea and coffee from a broken machine.
Rooms and hotel were clean and we did get a great view from our sea side balcony altough the shower shoots water everywhere, the sink constantly leaked, and we had a broken toilet seat.
On checking out the same receptionist (Pero) was working and slapped the bill at us in a very rude manner he didnt speak to us and we made a formal complaint to him about our stay where he shruged his shoulders at us and said there was nothing he could do and didnt understand why we were complaining. we again said about the beds and asked him what he thought a double room was and he said two single beds pushed together and we should have ordered a matromonial room although this type of room was not stated on the website. He just didn't want to know.

We decided to have lunch in the restaurant for handiness, which was basically a reworked version of breakfast. My fiancee ordered a tuna salad and recieved tinned tuna with a few slices of tomato and about 4 rings from an onion, cappacino was in a dirty cup, with coffee stains all round the outside. For what we recieved for lunch it was very expensive. Location of this Hotel is good and it is clean, altough staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful, Food was pretty awful, and the Hotel interior looks very dated i.e. something from the 70s. Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightfox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ilkley
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We picked the hotel for the Dubrovnik leg of our cration Holiday and it was OK and served a purpose with a good public bus sevice, every half hour, to the old city. Apart from breakfast we did not eat in the hotel and again this was nothing startling but we have had worse.
Our sea view room was right above the bar patio but this did not cause a problem as evening entertainment was very sparodic to non existant but we did have a plumbing problem with our shower flooding the bathroom floor but we managed to get this fix
The Beach was very busy and a disapointment. Getting into and out of the sea over the rather large pebbles was a real challenge and as this was the hotels only relaxation/sunbathing area it was a real minus rather than a plus
On the plus side the hotel reception can arrange a 3 Island boat trip which is cheaper than you will buy elsewhere and it was a real gem with lunch provided at the boats captains house. It was probably the best meal we had in Croatia.
I f you want a hotel to use as a base whilst sightseeing in Dubrovnik it will suit yiou fine but if you want a relaxing sunbathing experiance, stear clear

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postcardmakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I was very disappointed with this hotel, the rooms and bar/restaurant areas were very shabby but I could have overlooked that if the staff were at least pleasant. For my first visit to Dubrovnik I picked the Vis for its obvious advantages - the price, location nearby to bus to Old Town and the fact it is right in the beach. However when I got there I realised how small Lapad Bay is - all hotels in this area have the same access to the bus and there are better parts to the beach than where Vis is. In hindsight I would get a hotel on the main little promenade in Lapad Bay where all the shops are (where the hotel Dubrovnik and Hotel Zagreb are) - since the Vis charges for its own beach sunlounges anyway you might as well stay at any hotel!! The Vis to me felt like a (bad) hostel. If it wasn't on the beach it would surely be no different to a hostel. There was no welcome when we arrived, just a curt handing over of the key. The receptionist telephoned me in my room to shout at me for booking my second nights accommodation directly through a website, then hung up on me!! Do not change money at this hotel and make sure you know what rate you are getting in Croatian kuna and your local currency and check their exchange rate. The walls are paper thin too so dont expect any sleep quality. All in all this hotel nearly ruined my stay in Dubrovnik and I will definitely not be back. The breakfast system was really strange - they labelled each of the tables with the room number.s There was no access to an iron at all. If you must stay here, make sure you book your room through booking.com or other, as the hotel rates seem higher if you book directly. Budget hotel for families or solo travellers but would not recommend for a couple. If I book a hotel I am paying for Service and Sleep, I got neither. Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We actually booked the Adriatic Hotel which is right next to the Vis but on arrival were told we had been upgraded there. The hotel chain owns 5 (I think!!) hotels all down the same street in Lapad and all looked pretty nice from the outside.
We booked a sea view room at the Adriatic and this is what we were given at the Vis. It only costs a little bit extra for a sea view room and I would really recommend doing it because our room was very spacious and comfortable and we managed to get glimpses inside the rooms on the other side of the corridor and they all looked a lot smaller.
We ended up with a twin room when we would have prefered a double but it wasn't a big problem for us. If you specifically want a double, I would ring or e mail the hotel to double-check what you'll be getting.
The bathroom was perfectly adequate for the stay however it did suffer from an influx of ants from time to time. Having stayed at other hotels in Italy and Croatia this appears to be a pretty common problem and a quick spray of insect repellent sorted it.
The hotel is very well placed straight onto a pebbly beach (jelly shoes are a must!). We thought the beach and surrounding area was lovely and felt very safe. The beach and sea were both clean when we stayed.
A note about wireless internet - its free and we were told at reception that we would only be able to get it downstairs in the lobby area however we got a great signal from our room on the 1st floor throughout the entire stay.
A couple of downsides- the breakfast is in the restaurant and is in a lovely setting as it is outdoors overlooking the sea however breakfast itself isn't great, the staff arn't particularly friendly and the coffee is absolutely awful!! There is plenty of selection however and you can fill yourself up.
Also as far as I could tell, the hotel doesn't have any lifts. No problem for us but I don't think it is suitable for disabled people as there are lots of steps within the hotel and its grounds.
The hotel doesn't have a pool but then again it really doesn't need one when it is so close to the brilliantly clear and welcoming sea. There is a pool/spa at the hotel over the road where you can book beauty treatments and use the facilities for an extra charge.
The gym facilities are brilliant because it is a private gym right next to the hotel. It has brand new equipment and friendly staff. If you are staying at the hotel you have to pay for a temporary membership (which I think was about £7-8 but cant remember definately). This works out at good value if you are staying for a week like we were.
The surrounding area (Lapad peninsula) is a good base from which to visit Dubrovnik old town. It is pretty, there are loads of restaurants and a handy supermarket 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The pizza restaurant right next to the supermarket is dirt cheap and reasonably good. Buses take 10 minutes to the old town and you can buy the tickets from reception at the hotel.
The hotel has free car parking aswell.
We found reception staff (especially the 2 gentlemen who checked us in) to be very friendly and helpful and our room attendant did a good job.
We would stay at this hotel again no problem and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_animals66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#43 of 68 in Dubrovnik
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#47 of 68 in Dubrovnik
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Property: Hotel Vis
Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing