We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of Villa Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have been meaning to write this review since we got back from Dubrovnik last year- Better late than never I suppose.The first surprising thing about this Hotel was the entrance ! It looks simple and understated but a few seconds in the lift that leads to reception reveals a modern and very stylish hotel.
Our room was super-comfortable with fabulous views over the bay.
We stayed 5 nights just at the beginning of the season. There were not very many other people there which, far from being a disadvantage, meant that we got wonderful service that was efficient and very courteous. That sounds as if the service would not have been good had there been more guests but that just would not have been the case.

The food was wonderful with everything cooked to order and exactly as we had ordered it.
The weather, whilst not blazing sunshine, was very kind to us given that it was Easter 2013.
We both had a wonderful holiday and are about to book the same hotel for the same holiday in 2014. We would recommend Villa Dubrovnik unreservedly. I can't remember the exact dates we were there but every aspect was brilliant.

Room Tip: Absolutely brilliant holiday. Could not fault the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vivian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Vivian H,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback! I am truly pleased to hear that we have fulfiled and exceeded your expectations. Indeed we are passionate and genuinely love to pamper all of our guests. Thank you encouring people to come to our Villa. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Villa for Easter this year.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great place to begin a visit to Croatia! We relaxed here for several days & the staff was friendly charming and not invasive. The way the hotel is designed to fit the site is nicely done, feels harmonious with the cliffside, birds fluttering in the trees at breakfast.... Very modern, loved seeing the waves splashing in the cove- even from the shower! We stayed at Hotel Bellevue on our return to Dubrovnik and we were very glad that we'd booked the longer stay at Villa Dubrovnik, felt more private, more serene. The only glitch was the check-out, staff was slow & inefficient and we nearly missed our flight!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thevespian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Thevespian,

I am so pleased to hear that our Villa is your perfect place in Dubrovnik. I am truly glad that you liked design as well as friendly charming service. I regret for the inconvenience during the check-out.Please rest assured that this does not reflect our normal standards. Therefore I will liaise with the Front Office Manager about this matter in order to avoid any future occurrence.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has nice posotion near old city . View is the best in town from large new rooms! Staff is profesional AND helpfull. Little expencive but worth !

If you looking beautiful place villa is definitely rightly choice!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davor125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Davor125,

Thank you for such a lovely, complimentary review which has been shared with all the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The experience of Villa Dubrovnik starts right at the entrance as you are greeted by a beautiful Bond girl and escorted into a lift that takes you down through the rock and reveals the hollowed out volcano, I mean Villa below..! Beautiful meal, stunning environment, really cool waiter whose name I think was Boshko was great, friendly and knowledgeable about the national and local wines and winemakers . The restaurant is fantastic. Quiet, intimate, expensive, worth it.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaxGaffney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear MaxGaffney

I thank you for your words of praise regarding Villa Dubrovnik and our colleague Bosko.
We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and I am truly pleased to hear that you have loved to stay with us. I thank you very much for recommending our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Where to begin. We were four girls arriving with high expectations, they were exceeded! With a plan to share a suite, we were accommodated with bedding for the couch and a rollaway cot, the team providing extra towels, robes, and was on hand to make our visit exceptional. The management checked in to ensure we had what we needed. While we didn't take advantage of the concierge research, the service for lunch on site, including seaside lunches and cocktail service was excellent. My favorite moment was ordering glasses of wine while swimming in the sea...I swear the staff anticipates relaxation needs! Some areas for improvement include the spa staff, while the services were lovely, the payment process was a bit confusing and post treatment, serenity not signing paperwork is desired so try to pay in advance if you have a large group and don't want to deal with reviewing charges post zen. The boat is awesome and a fun way to get into town but try to get the schedule if you are planning dinner reservations as when we went they were taking breaks between 6-8pm, the times we wanted to boat into the Old City for dinner. Overall, amazing. You won't regret booking here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CarryOnOnly_CJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear CarryOnOnly_CJas,

What lovely feedback.
It is always pleasing to read that a guest intends to return following a successful stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, especially for the comment regarding the service you received. This means so much to me and the team.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards ,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights earlier in the month. You will love it if you like modern clean design but be less positive if you want something more traditional. Room was a good size and we had a smashing balcony with a view of the town and the rather cool vaperetto that takes you back and forth to the bright lights over the other side of the water.

Great pool facilities, clean and very quiet. Beach area is typical of the Adriatic Coast and a little uncomfortable if you are more used to sandy beaches. Coming from Newcastle as I do and growing up thinking that Whitley Bay is the coast this is saying something. Good jogging routes also available and the views might mean you'll do a bit further than you do back at home.

Ate in the restaurant a couple of times, particularly enjoyed the outdoor terrace that is open for lunch. Unfortunately the venue on the roof was closed due to inclement weather - to be honest it was a bit like a Whitley Summer up there so they may have had a point. Breakfast was very very good quality although service was a little of the variety where it's up to you to make eye contact if you want something. You may need to ask twice.

Star of the show is a chap called Roberto - he was the one who met us at the front once we had descended the cliff. From then on hew as always very cheerful and it's a cliche to say it but nothing was too much trouble. If you ran a hospitality business you would want him up front.

Oh - did I mention the toiletries are from Bulgari? Just for once I felt I could justify taking the half full bottles back home.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view - I think rooms that are in the range 15+ (eg 115, 216, 317) may have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank simonhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear simonhutch

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Villa Dubrovnik. I am pleased to read how much you value the overall experience of staying with us and that you enjoyed the restaurant and Spa facilities. I will share your kind feedback with everyone here and I look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Dubrovnik.

Best regards

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

While the Villa Dubrovnik is exceptional on many levels i.e. location, view, public spaces, it is not yet a five-star hotel experience. The sea-side setting does not get much better than at the Hotel Dubrovnik. The boat ride into the city was an easy way to get back and forth and the wooden boat is a fantastic means of transportation. Additionally, we found the food and service in the restaurant good and had amazing massages in the the spa.

However, if you're like me and need a good shower to start the day, then the Hotel Dubrovnik is probably not for you. The showers in the rooms were hand-showers suspended on a bar -- completely not what you would expect from a hotel at this level. Additionally, the glass doors of the shower were totally worthless at keeping water in the tub and out of the bathroom. I ended up showering at the sauna/pool area because the in-room showers were so bad (and not particularly clean with mold/mildew on the grout around the tub). We noticed the showers during the initial room tour and complained this was not what one would expect in this level of hotel. Apparently, higher priced rooms have different showers but the front desk was unable to change rooms or upgrade us as they were booked - although we only saw two other couples during our stay. I would have expected the hotel manager to contact us as we were truly disappointed in the bathroom accommodations.

Additionally, we booked a package which included massages and dinner at the restaurant. The massages were great and the dinner was very nice but when we got our bill, the dinner was included in the final bill. I called the front desk to explain that it was inclusive in our package and was told it would be removed by the time we checked out. When we checked out, the dinner was still on our bill and the front desk clerk had to phone the hotel manager who made her go over each item that we had for dinner TWICE (yes, we had the beef and the pear tart) before agreeing to remove the charges for our inclusive dinner from the bill with the exception of one bottle of water which apparently was not included. Seemed like a minute detail but consistent with the overall level of guest service.

While nice, until the service level is improved and the showers redone. I certainly wouldn't include this as a 5-star hotel or one of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World.

Room Tip: The Romance Package does not include the Romance Suite. The marketing is a little misleading. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Tim G,

I was very disappointed to read your comment especially knowing that this is neither type of hotel or service that we deliver.

As per the showers I believe it is up to subjective preferences as well as a personal habits.
I need to point out that you already received upgrade in the bigger room category free of charge, rather than having the room that you paid for.
At the moment some suites were occupied, because suites are our most wanted room category, while for the others you were not willing to pay difference in price category between the room that you were already upgraded for a free and the suite.
Which means we were not able to give you 3 category upgrade that you asked for and we give you one room upgrade free of charge.

As per the packages I believe that comment is not on place at all as well.
The main reason is that at the end of the day you received something that is not the structure and procedure in the package and then give us negative rate for it.
This means that we didn’t charge you for the dinner that was not the part of the package deal.
At your check in as well as in the room you were informed about the procedure of packages and that you need to bring the voucher for dinner and before starting the dinner that you need to stress that you will use the voucher for a dinner as a package deal.
You didn’t do that. You just eat and drink what you feel like, even though everywhere, and it was especially noted at the package at the time of the booking, on you arrival and in room, the package deal means that it is set up dinner prepared by our chef which means there is certain defined thinks included in the package dinner and it is not common that people can choose whatever they want.
We always make exceptions depending on the preferences of the guests.
But we never mark it as a package deal if you do not bring the voucher and mention it, because you might use voucher for some other day.
That is why the dinner bill got to your account.
At the end we did exception again and took that final bill from you account.
But I really believe that it is very logic that packages deal includes set menu and not free option for people to eat and drink what they want and as much as they want.

To conclude I need to point out that I really appreciate any kind of comment internally in house or through our questioners or through live travel advisors and always look what we did wrong and making all efforts to improve our selves.
But this comment I do not consider relevant because you were already upgraded for free and we took the dinner check from your bill even though it was not the part of package.

Hope that you find my explanations and comments relevant and next time when you come I am sure you will have different opinion about our hotel.

Best regards,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
182 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kazbek
Hotel Kazbek
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
395 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
795 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dubrovnik

Address: Vlaha Bukovca 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £220 - £690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Dubrovnik, Croatian most exclusive hotel introducing an unprecedented level of luxury and style to one of the world's most famous cities.It is only few minutes away from the fortified beauty of the Old City of Dubrovnik. With spectacular views of the Old City and Island of Lokrum, Villa Dubrovnik welcomes you with luxurious accommodation of 56 sea-view residences. Soothe yourself with personalized treatments of the Villa Spa wellness club and discover excitements of Vaporetto speedboat transfers to the Old City of Dubrovnik and back. Everything is meticulously crafted to ensure the privacy and comfort of your stay. Dubrovnik's most elegant 5-star hotel invites you to share its unique Romance forever experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing