We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth the splurge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Dubrovnik

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos Hills, CA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the splurge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our "splurge" hotel for the last stop in our 2.5 week trip through Slovenia and Croatia. It was definitely worth it! We were allowed to check in early, and even got upgraded to an apartment suite, which had a great view of the old town. The apartment was beautiful, done in a elegant modern design, and the view to die for.

Best part of staying here is you get to take their private boat straight to the old town port. We did it twice every day, once in the morning to go sightseeing, and then again to dinner in the evening. It definitely added glamor to the stay. People would take photos of our boat coming in, probably expecting someone rich and famous :)

We didn't eat much food at the restaurant so can't comment on the quality, but both the beach and to roof-top wine bar were wonderful places to have a drink and glaze at the view. Service was top notch, and we enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests there (mostly British).

Definitely recommend. Probably one of my top 10 favorite hotels ever (the boat pushes it over the line :)

PS: Note that when you do the standard booking, the rate does not include breakfast. I had forgotten that since everywhere else we stayed breakfast was included. So, had myself an excellent but 30 euro breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Judy D,

I am truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked the suite, the view from your window. We always like to pamper our guests whenever there is an opportunity for that. Thank you for your very kind words pertaining to our staff. I have shared your comments with the entire team for I know they will find equally rewarding to make our each guests’ visits more memorable. We look forward to you next visit

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    109
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
109
456
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My sister in law and I checked in for 3 nights and it was fabulous! The modern, upscale hotel compliments the Old Town. The view from our room was amazing and so was the staff. Roberto and Ivana (beautiful blue eyes) were so helpful. We had a lot of questions in order to maximize our stay in Dubrovnik and they were happy to accommodate. Unfortunately, the stunning courtesy boat to town was not available due to weather conditions, but the walk is easy and you are still along the coast. If your search has brought you to Villa Dubrovnik, no need to look any further.

Room Tip: VD is not a large hotel, so everything is easily accessible. There is an elevator, but I also loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Jill G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive feedback of your most recent stay with us. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your vacation and amenities the hotel offers.
Thank you for your positive comments to our service team and I will pass a word of compliments to Roberto and Ivana.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We splashed out and booked the Duke Suite for a 3 night stay in May before moving on to Sipan. The hotel made an error (initially they implied it was our agent's fault but have now confessed it was their own) and double booked resulting in a down grade for the first night. They also failed to honour a late checkout which had been confirmed (they insisted it had not but we have seen the confirmation email from the hotel to our agent). We received a refund of 100 Euros for the first night and, after we then asked for dinner, a complimentary meal offered from a reduced menu. We agree with other reviews regarding the splendid location and the excellent food however we had justified the extortionate room rate for the Duke Suite to ourselves as a special treat and specifically on the basis of the late checkout. Whilst mistakes can happen, we are appalled by the attitude of the hotel staff, including the Front Office Manager in initially denying their errors and blatantly lying to us regarding the late checkout. Our agent subsequently contacted the hotel and obtained the following comment: "I do apologize deeply for this situation, since this is really and completely our mistake. Yes you were confirmed to get the Duke suite and to get late check out. But we had problems with the suite because of system errors we had an overbooking situation on the Suite type, so that was the reason for moving the guests and for not approving the agreed late check out. I m so so so sorry for this. Please let me know if there is anything I can do."
After continued negotiation by our agent we have now been offered a reduction on any future booking made with the hotel, but they will not make any further refund against the small fortune we have already paid. We will not return however - not because of the initial mistake, but because of the dishonesty of the staff in attempting to cover it up, and the derisory gesture of compensation against a very expensive booking. A huge shame as our otherwise excellent stay is now tainted.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Catherine853,

Thank you so much for choosing our Villa Dubrovnik as a place for your stay while in Dubrovnik. I appreciate your candid feedback.

I am terribly disappointed to read that your experience fell far below your expectations. I truly apologise for all inconveniences you went through during your visit, especially with regard to your room type reservation. I can assure you that level of service you experienced does not reflect the Villa Dubrovnik’s service standards and personally I do not want to have in our hotel.
Please be assure that I did all necessary corrections in order not to happen again.
At the end I really do hope that you have received my personal letter of apology sent through your agency.

I look forward to the opportunity to regain your faith in our ability to properly serve you.

Apologetically,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in the is very modern hotel for one night in May. We were warmly welcomed by staff and shown to our lovely room which overlooked Lokrum and Dubrovnik.The food was of a good standard.
The Hotel boat which we hoped to use to get to Dubrovnik unfortunately could not sail because of the weather . We walked the short 15 minute route into the Old Town and returned to the Hotel in the courtesy coach. We found the Internet to be intermittent in our room which meant we had to use the lounge for access most times

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear James C,

Thank you so much for choosing our Villa Dubrovnik as your hotel of stay while in Dubrovnik and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay; however, I sincerely regret to learn of the inconvenience you went through due to the lack of Internet service which I immediately resolved with our Technical department.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in our Villa in not far future.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Make no mistake, this is one of the most expensive hotels in the Dubrovnik area, but it is worth it.

The hotel is located directly on the coast, and approximately a 25 minute walk or 10 minute courtesy boat ride from the old city (the hotel operates a free shuttle boat to and from the old city). Thus, guests have the best of both worlds in that they are staying in a full-fledged resort but have easy access to the city with its restaurants and attractions.

The hotel grounds are brochure-like and the rooms are very nice. We ate at the hotel only once, for lunch, and the food was delicious. We highly recommend starting your evening off at the rooftop wine bar, where you can watch the beautiful sunset, and where the menu is well-stocked with delicious local appetizers, including Dalmatian prosciutto.

The only knock on this hotel was that breakfast was not included, but I suppose that may vary from guest to guest depending on the particular room / package bought. In sum, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Travelers7712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Happy_Travelers7712

Thank you so much for choosing Villa Dubrovnik as your hotel of stay. It gives me great pleasure to read that you had a pleasant time with us and that you enjoyed the atmosphere. We appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration for further improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Six of us arrived at Villa Dubrovnik for a five day stay and initial impressions were wow!!!! Warmly greeted by a very professional staff member , the entrance to the Hotel is a clever design at road level, keeping secret the astounding Villa that is revealed upon arrival at reception.

It just got better from there ,the position is astounding with views across to the old city, and using the word luxury seems understated when describing the rooms and facilities provided. The staff were outstanding friendly and helpful. We had some problems with our personal credit card and received flawless professional support from IvanaTrojauovic-at the front desk who it seemed nothing was too much trouble .The old city is a twenty minute walk or otherwise use the transport service provided by the Hotel which was either a mini bus or James Bond Boat transfer (this hotel is so classy) .We dined at the restaurant ,the food was excellent so fresh , A big thank you to Marijaua who made up the room daily including washing the floors .
Staying at Villa Dubrovnik was one of the highlights in a three week visit to Croatia -unmatched. Barbara Malarski-Australia

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear BarbaraCairns,

I am truly grateful to you for this wonderful!
The whole team and I thank you for pointing out our "outstanding" standards of service all throughout the hotel. This is indeed our utmost reward! We look forward to many other visits of yours.

With best wishes

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just returned back from a wonderful 5 night trip to Villa Dubrovnik. Highlights and (very few) lowlights are below.

Highlights:
- New hotel, good facilities, clean and well looked after. Pretty gardens that have been recently landscaped
- Great location. 10-15 min walk downhill to the old town, or 5 mins in beautiful hotel boat (or shuttle bus if bad weather) which runs on the hour in the mornings, over lunch and late afternoon through to 10 or 11pm.
- Gorgeous views from roof top wine bar, rooms and pool. Very relaxing.
- Staff extremely helpful and provided us with numerous restaurant recommendations, tips for places to eat outside the old town etc
- Delicious cocktails, personal favourite was the grapefruit and mint mojito!
- Decent sized swimming pool (although a little confusing why they didnt build it longer to make it a proper lap pool as they have lots of space to)
- Good spa facilities (steam room + sauna)

Less good bits:
- Gym equipment new but cardio machines limited (1 bike, 1 treadmill & 1 cross trainer). Photo of gym is not real..the gym has less equipment and is indoors with no outside views. Absolutely fine for our needs, but surprising when we arrived!
- Would be great if hotel could add a lighter breakfast option for a lower price. Breakfast is 30 Euros if not included in room rate, which we couldnt justify given we were not very hungry in the mornings. On a positive note, great to see breakfast served until 11am.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripreviewerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear tripreviewerLondon,

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind compliments. I have taken note of your additional feedback and would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention. I will certainly follow up on this.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

With my best wishes,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
3.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dubrovnik

Property: Villa Dubrovnik
Address: Vlaha Bukovca 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Dubrovnik, Croatian most exclusive hotel introducing an unprecedented level of luxury and style to one of the world's most famous cities.It is only few minutes away from the fortified beauty of the Old City of Dubrovnik. With spectacular views of the Old City and Island of Lokrum, Villa Dubrovnik welcomes you with luxurious accommodation of 56 sea-view residences. Soothe yourself with personalized treatments of the Villa Spa wellness club and discover excitements of Vaporetto speedboat transfers to the Old City of Dubrovnik and back. Everything is meticulously crafted to ensure the privacy and comfort of your stay. Dubrovnik's most elegant 5-star hotel invites you to share its unique Romance forever experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing