We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Villa Adriatica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubrovnik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Adriatica
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Villa Adriatica was so easy to locate, right at the Ploce Gate. I am very pleased that I decided to stay at the Adriatica. It was very hot in Dubrovnik. I could walk out and tour early in the morning and return to my air conditioned room for the hottest part of the day and then quickly return to the Old Town to enjoy more touring and dinner. The terrace was lovely.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1 which had the delightful terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Xandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

As a single traveller I couldn't fault the location, accommodation and all round help from Teo and his Mum.

Great and seamless transfer to and from the airport, assistance in booking excursion to Montenegro (much recommended) and the room was comfortable with a terrace view to die for. It is not luxury accommodation but very clean with just a few metres to the town walls. I recommend the apple strudel breakfast from the bakers downstairs and the Kozum supermarket is SO handy for everything else. Kitchen facilities are downstairs from the room with all the essentials and the fridge in the room mean that beer, wine and water can be kept at hand for chilling watching the sun go down from the terrace.

In case Teo forgets to tell you - take Euros if you are doing the Montenegro trip! His tourist office downstairs offers all the regular trips and money exchange.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed two nights here with another couple in rooms1 & 2, which are directly off the massive terrace overlooking the sea and the old city walls, so it was perfect for us. The balcony views are really spectacular as is the location of this place. Old town is literally steps away from the front door. The rooms are nice with an old feel, the door locks alone are well over 150 years old. The bed is two beds put together but was comfortable enough. The bathroom was small and did not have a tub but that didn't bother us. When taking a hot shower, you need to flick a switch to start heating the water, which takes about 20 minutes.

There is an ATM across the street, next to a really good coffee bar. A decent bakery is steps away from the front door. We had to pay for parking but that is to be expected considering the perfect location. We didn't use the kitchen or common room but they were quaint with an old world feel too. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We are a family of 4, with 2 older teens. We booked Rooms 2 & 3 - Rm 2 having direct access to the terrace, and Rm 3 is where we put the kids. They didn't mind because they spent the entire 4 days & nights exploring the old city on their own with only one rule -- stay together. As per the other reviews, the rooms are serviceable, but one doesn't spend much time in them. We did, however, spend a great deal of time on the terrace, which one shares with the guests in Rm 1. This spacious terrace and the unobstructed view of the harbor and the old city is the #1 reason one would book the Villa Adriatica. Happily for us, they were a charming couple from northern England, and we enjoyed a few bottles of wine together while watching the sunset. A fabulous bakery just below the villa on street level provided breakfast goodies every morning, and the villa provides access to its kitchen for making coffee. Street parking can be challenging, but once parked, you don't need your car for much until you leave, since exploring Dubrovnik on foot is the best - and only - way to see it. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with direct access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanciInNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed in room 3 in late may 2011. Location cannot be beaten, just at the ploce gate entrance to the old town. Room 3 does not have direct access to the terrace, but the views over the harbour from the bedroom window are still fab. Old fashioned croatian traditional decor with 150 year old locks on the doors (we were told to be careful with the doors) The bed however is quiet uncomfortable.
Supermarket and tourist information office immediately below the apartments ( we booked tickets for an amazing orchestral recital in the rectors palace down stairs) Beach is approx 5 min walk from apartment out of the town. Komarda restaurant next door is well worth a visit.
Cost is a little more than most apartment rentals in general old town area (we paid 85 euro a night) but this is justified by locations and views.
Would definitely be back and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We took two rooms at the end of September.
Room 2 had access to the terrace with the best view in Dubrovnik.

Unfortunately, it was extremely windy and we couldn’t really make full use of the terrace as things kept blowing away from us. I think that’s just the time of year though.
Room 2 was fairly basic inside, but had some nice antique furniture and was clean and comfortable.

We also took a mini apartment facing the street. It had a nice bath and kitchen with a sitting area. Again, the room was furnished with nice antiques and had lovely parquet flooring.

As it faced the street the shutters over the windows were nailed shut, so there was no view or daylight. It was a little noisy at night from the street, but nothing I couldn’t cope with.

Unfortunately the wind was very strong and the whole placed rattled noisily during the night. So much so that I got up several times to try and wedge doors closed. Obviously Villa Adriatica can’t be responsible for the weather in September, but I think we would have enjoyed our stay better a little earlier in the year.

Finally, I foolishly left something valuable behind when I left. The owner very kindly met me at the airport and returned it to me. I was very impressed by his helpfulness and courtesy. Thanks again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheezypuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Location and view can not get any better! It rates a 5! We stayed in room 2, with access
to the fabulous terrace, with million dollar views. The room was average, the bathroom small, and the shower leaked horribly. Cash only. If you are used to upscale, go elsewhere. For the view, location, and price point, it works. The are great amenities nearby, as stated in other reviews. Just accept it as is, and enjoy a bottle of wine from the terrace!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
#34 of 68 in Dubrovnik
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Orsula
Villa Orsula
#33 of 68 in Dubrovnik
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Gloria
Villa Gloria
#12 of 179 in Dubrovnik
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MirO Studio Apartments
MirO Studio Apartments
#1 of 179 in Dubrovnik
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavisa Apartments
Pavisa Apartments
#93 of 499 in Dubrovnik
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Banje Beach
Apartments Banje Beach
#280 of 499 in Dubrovnik
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Adriatica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Adriatica

Property: Villa Adriatica
Address: Frana Supila 4, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 499 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places that will simply take your breath away, enabling you to experience a feeling of complete well-being. Surrounded with centuries of history and culture, with a magnificent view on the Old Town of Dubrovnik, the Island of Lokrum and the sea, Villa Adriatica presents a natural choice for all those longing to spend a memorable vacation in the magic town of Dubrovnik.This old family house was build in the first half of the 19th century and until today we have tried to preserve the interior and special feeling from that time.Our dear guests will appreciate the newly renovated accommodations decorated with old antique furniture. The original interior is still preserved and can be observed in the numerous details and items, some older than 100 years.We are not just offering accommodations to our guests ! By staying at Villa Adriatica you will be taken back into time, surrounded with antique items and furniture, being able to enjoy a magnificent view of the Old Town of Dubrovnik, its harbor, the mystical Island of Lokrum and the sea.Welcome to Villa Adriatica! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Adriatica Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing