We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view doesn't get any better than this!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Adriatica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubrovnik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Adriatica
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The view doesn't get any better than this!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent 5 days oohing and aahing at the view from our terrace overlooking the Bay and Old City walls. The Villa Adriatica is a family run poperty conveniently located just outside the walls of the Old City. A small market is 2 doors down, the laundromat is across the street as is the bus stop, the bakery is next door and the travel agency owned by the same family is 2 doors down in the other direction. Our room was rather small, especially the bathroom, but the large terrace outside our door made up with any other deficiencies. We spent breakfasts and "happy hours" on the terrace enjoying the views. The housekeeping consists of only emptying the trash cans and supply toilet paper so if you are staying a long time be aware you will not see clean sheets or towels. Breakfast is not supplied but you have access to a full kitchen (stove, dishes, etc)and there's a fridge in the room. Would definitely recommend this property to those that don't require a lot of service/amenities. Teo is the owner's son and runs the travel agency nearby. He is available to provide driver services for day trips as well as arranging tours. Be prepared - they do not take credit cards - only Croatian Kunas. This is true of many places in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: We were in Room # 2 - great terrace views and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

The location is extraordinary. We were right at the gate to the city and our room had an incredible patio (that we shared with one other room) which looked out on the harbor so we could see the boats, the sea, the city walls...everything!
They are pretty strict about wanting you to turn off the A/C whenever you leave the room. Not difficult to comply with these rules. Housekeeping was spotty, but we really didn't care as long as we could go out on the terrace and walk to town so easily.
We were picked up at the airport by the hotel management...the ride to the hotel was at a speed way too fast for comfort. If your flight is delayed you need to find a way to contact the hotel management because they are not happy if you are late and they do not know that you are still on the way. (This happened to us).
Once we were at the hotel, the management was more than gracious to us. We were given a tour of the building and were told some history of the war and shown some war relics. The kitchen was shown to us and we were told that we could use anything at all that we wished...and there was a huge bowl of lemons there to make lemonade with if we wished.
There is a grocery store that is just a few steps away. Easy to get food and drink.
Cruise boats frequent Dubrovnik. I recommend going online and checking what the cruise boat schedule is for your stay. You can find out the number of boats arriving and their passenger amounts. This way you can plan your day around the crowds and spend time on the terrace when the crowds are at their peak.

Room Tip: Get a room that shares the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyMeToKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sskatoon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

you cant ask for better location, right at the entrance of the gate to the pedestrian zone. The owners don't serve breakfast but you have access to the kitchen ; there is a bakery next door and a grocery store. There is also access to a roof terrace with beautiful views of the walls and the sea.
The housekeeping is not the greatest they don't make the bed properly and change the towels only every 2nd day, we were there for 4 nights no change of sheets, but the location is worth it

Room Tip: Room #3 has 2 big french windows with view on the harbour and the gate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marjelaine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMBURG
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed there in September 2012 & had a room/appartment with the windows
to the street. That was quite noisy.
Antique furnitue, big bathroom & bed was ok. I only had some bites form ?? badbugs ?
after the 2nd nite!
But the view form the Terrace ist absolutly breathtaking.
It also is very close to almost everything. The cabel car, beachclub, old harbour...
Bakery & supermarket next door! 10m to the Ploce Gate to Old town.
Friendly dog
I think we would come back for the view! Great location!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the terrace.. No 1 i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamacitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We recently stayed in room 1 for five nights and absolutely loved it. I felt sorry for everyone else who wasn't relaxing on our balcony with that killer view ..... And no steps. The room was not luxurious, but who really needs that with such a gorgeous location. Right next to the ploce gate and the wharf for Lokrum Island and other destinations, a convenience store downstairs for breakfast and lunch supplies (easily prepared in the communal kitchen). Tip: If the heat gets too bad in Dubrovnik, escape to Lokrum. It was a shady respite with deck chairs under the trees and a handy cafe for a coffee or beer. The cafe near the wharf even had live music . Perfect! Do you want a swim but only want to go 5 minutes walk from your balcony? East West is practically next door! Then ... Back to the worlds best balcony for sundowners.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

"I feel like we're in a movie" was repeated by everyone in our group of 5 Canadian travellers during our stay at Villa Adriatica in Dubrovnik.This response was most often elicited upon stepping out onto the expansive deck overlooking the bay and the old walled city. Every morning and evening we relaxed on the deck, enjoying our ever-changing view as yachts, sailing ships and cruise liners made their way in and out of the harbour.

The rooms were up a short flight of stairs and were comfortably furnished. We took 3 out of the 4 available rooms. Our room had a small kitchenette which came in handy but there was a full kitchen downstairs that had anything we didn't have in the room. The air conditioners worked like a charm which was a lifesaver during the nights when the thermometer never dipped below 28C. The kitchen and formal living room downstairs had some beautiful antiques and was the best place to access the free wi-fi.

Villa Adriatica also operates a travel agency in the same building just a few steps away from the front door and was open from 9:00 am to midnight daily. Here we were able to book kayaking excursions and a day trip into Montenegro. One of the 3 main entrances into Old City was a 1 minute walk from our front door and beach access was 2 minutes in the opposite direction.

Teo, the owner, picked us up at the airport and took us back when our schedule forced us to leave this oasis. Teo, his mom and his younger brother were fabulous hosts making us feel comfortable during our entire stay and I would happily stay there again if I ever have the opportunity to visit this beautiful country.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two rooms that have direct access to the deck. The other rooms have access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUDDERSFIELD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Yes , it isnt 5 star , the room was a little on the small size , the bathroom equally so , but this place is all about the location and this makes you overlook any small misgivings you might have about the room . The location and spacious terrace were magnificent and for cost of the room i do believe it would be difficult to find anything better anywhere , never mind in Dubrovnik ! You simply have everything you could possibly want on your doorstep , tourist office , bakery , taxi rank , access to old city , just perfect . TED ![ owners son ] in the tourist office was terrific and looked after from the moment we landed to the moment we took off , arranging a private car trip for the 4 of us to Montenegro which worked out at a little over the cost for 4 of us on a coach excursion . He arranged for us to be millionaires for the day with a private boat trip to 3 islands , with a magnificent lunch at the Villa Ruge , an experience we will not ever forget . All in all it was all just perfect , finished off with an incredible thunder and lightening storm viewed from out terrace on the last evening .

Room Tip: Try to get a room with direct terrace access , but dont be put off if you cant , its no problem goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THATBOYRONALDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Lux Apartments
Lux Apartments
#55 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Town Sunset Apartments
Old Town Sunset Apartments
#285 of 482 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Gloria
Villa Gloria
#19 of 174 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
#2 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Celenga Apartments
Celenga Apartments
#2 of 482 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
MirO Studio Apartments
MirO Studio Apartments
#1 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Adriatica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Adriatica

Property: Villa Adriatica
Address: Frana Supila 4, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 482 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places that will simply take your breath away, enabling you to experience a feeling of complete well-being. Surrounded with centuries of history and culture, with a magnificent view on the Old Town of Dubrovnik, the Island of Lokrum and the sea, Villa Adriatica presents a natural choice for all those longing to spend a memorable vacation in the magic town of Dubrovnik.This old family house was build in the first half of the 19th century and until today we have tried to preserve the interior and special feeling from that time.Our dear guests will appreciate the newly renovated accommodations decorated with old antique furniture. The original interior is still preserved and can be observed in the numerous details and items, some older than 100 years.We are not just offering accommodations to our guests ! By staying at Villa Adriatica you will be taken back into time, surrounded with antique items and furniture, being able to enjoy a magnificent view of the Old Town of Dubrovnik, its harbor, the mystical Island of Lokrum and the sea.Welcome to Villa Adriatica! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Adriatica Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing