We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value with friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Komodor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Komodor
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Rooms were basic...breakfast was gr8, nice pool area, close to bus route to old town, friendly staff, free wifi at reception area, not noisy at night, close to plenty of restaurants...try A'e restaurant

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevilliersO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    140
    51
    14
    21
See reviews for
36
148
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

we booked this from the internet costing nearly 2000 euro for two weeks,when we arrived it was not the photos of the internet we ordered a balconey and we were shown into what could be only discribed as a prison cell it was like a bedsit,we told the staff we were not happy they were so kind and helpful they even let us use their internet to find another hotel,which we did the argosy hotel which was the same price but it was heaven compared to the Komador. the hotel is good if you dont want any comfort and you are out all day but i could not stay 10 mins in that bedroom but i have to say the staff were so helpful even though we were only there for half an hour,i think because of the good staff thats how they have good reviews,its not for the bedrooms!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank christinehearneclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Lanarkshir Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We've reviewed the Komodor before, and it has become one of our favourite holiday destinations. We were welcomed like long lost family on this our third visit, and throughout the stay were made to feel like favoured pets. everyone remarks on the friendliness and helpfulness of all the people working there, and we can only say it gets better the more often you go. The selection of food in the dining room has improved, with fewer slightly bizarre Balkan offerings and more recognizably European mainstream cuisine. Our third floor room (requested) still has brilliant sea views including the cruise liners in and out of Gruz harbour.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tandmmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

First of all ....
Those slatted doors on the poolside that you see in the brochure pictures are not storage cupboards (as we thought) but the rooms.
Their "balcony" is formed by a couple of window boxes.
We paid Thomson £112 extra for a sea view with a balcony
What we were given was one of these rooms right on the pool-side.
Reception and our rep’ were not particularly helpful at first. So we got straight on the phone to Thomson UK.
Miraculously 2 alternative rooms became available. We chose the "terrace" room, which was very nice.
Although still not a sea-view we have been promised a refund by Thomson.
Other guests were not so lucky and had to stay put although they too have been promised a refund.
oddly only Thomson guests encountered this situation.
Foreign guests and independently booked guests got balcony / sea-view rooms.
Something fishy is going on there.
Apart from that little hiccup though ....
It is in a great location.
20 minutes transfer from Dubrovnik airport.
2 minutes walk to beach or local restaurants.
5 minutes to "Tommy" hypermarket for cheap cold beer / and reasonably priced wine.
A fridge in the room would have been nice.
Drinks are very expensive in the hotel. £16 for the cheapest bottle of red and not a very nice one either.
Clean comfortable rooms were spotlessly cleaned by a friendly maid. Every morning we would go for breakfast and the room was done by the time we got back.
The bed was enormous and comfortable.
The air conditioning easily coped with the 90 plus temperatures outside.
Restaurant and reception staff were all very courteous and friendly.
I don't want to comment on the food too much.
We were half board.
Personally I wasn't impressed but nobody else seemed to be complaining.
Probably best to go B & B and you can eat where you like then.
You can't expect a big choice of dishes in a small hotel like this and they are doing their best to cater for a lot of nationalities.
It is the only hotel I've ever stayed in where there were actually too many sunbeds.
Plenty of sunbeds stacked up poolside. Just not enough space to put them down.
This isn't the sort of place to spend all day by the pool anyway.
The pool was clean and on the small side but not at all busy.
It was almost like having a private pool sometimes.
Overall, for a budget hotel in a good location I would recommend it.
Best to go B & B and make sure you get a good room. (IE don't book through Thomson).

Room Tip: Room 105 / 106 have the large terrace balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beardwell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Very freindly and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. The lady that cleaned our room was just really nice and couldn't do enough. The people on reception were really great on giving us advice. The location was really good. The bus stop was across the road and was 10 minutes into Dubrovnik. We also only had a short walk to the water.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

If you like your coffee in the morning stay away. The coffee was in one of those burco things and was really awful. We got rooms at the top of the hotel with sloping roofs so you literally had to bend over to cross the room as the roof was so low. On the plus side the hotel is pretty soundproof as it's built in stone but if you feel the cold bring something warm as the blankets are made out of dralon and have no heat in them at all. They changed the towels even though we left them on the rails most days and emptied the bins but that's all the cleaning staff did - they didn't tidy make the beds. The restaurent staff are quite pleasant but the guy in the bar was so rude it was funny. One of us had a cold and asked him for some hot water in cup to take a cough remedy and he told us we had to pay for tea - all conveyed in a really graceless manner. For the price though it's reasonable and it is very well situated near Lapad beach and near the bus station to take you into the old town. I'm glad I didn't take full board though as the food for breakfast wasn't great. Despite the low rating given to the restauarants generally in Dubrovnik particularly in the old town we found the food there rather good particularly Lanterna and Cafe Dubravnka which has a lovely view over the sea and the fortress.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belinda502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Dubrovnik is lovely and Hotel Komodor is located at Lapad Bay about 2 miles from the Old City. The beach is a short 2 minute walk. The bus to the Old City stops around the corner if you are not inclined to walk. The hotel staff speaks excellent English, is responsive and aims to please. Breakfast is included but like all other European hotels on the planet the menu is always the same and trends toward "chow" quality. The taxi ride from the airport to Lapad (or anywhere) seems egregiously expensive - more than $50. In fact it all seems expensive relative to other destinations. Worth a couple of days checking out the incredible UNESCO world heritage site.

Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank BugsyMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#57 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#29 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#31 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Zagreb
#22 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Komodor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Komodor

Property: Hotel Komodor
Address: Masarykov Put 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Komodor 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and cozy family hotel withe the longest tradition on the Lapad peninsula and a typical example of the Mediterranean stone architecture. Dubrovnik's top pebble beaches are just a few footsteps away. Our air-conditioned rooms have charming interiors and all the necessary amenities. The first floor boasts a lovely private terrace with swimming pool. Parasols and sun beds are free of charge. The breakfast buffet,included in the rate, is served in our main restaurant offering a wide selection of local specialties and international cuisine. Lapad Bay promenade with restaurants and bars and shopping area is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The Old town is easily reached by regular bus line which gets you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Komodor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komodor Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Komodor Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing