We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“understated gem of lapad beach”
Review of Hotel Komodor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Komodor
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having purposely asked for small hotel with a little character, by beach and amenities, it was exactly what I asked for and more. room ready on 11am arrival, 1st floor room with kingsize bed, doors opened onto pool area with table and chairs for personal use by french doors, air con, house keeping daily by barbara (absolute star, every hotel should aspire to have a barbara). Small uncrowded pool to keep cool in the august heat. breakfast, well what can i say, there was something to please every nationality, same went for the evening meal with differant dishes every night. Very friendly service team with special thanks to Marko and especially Ivan who asked every night what drinks we would like although he knew already and remembered where to put the correct drinks. Probably not the average holiday makers choice with carpets in all bedrooms and such a personal service but for me thats why I will be coming back.A little updating would be welcome in decor but would not put me off coming back at all. Across the road was the park and beach with water activitIes available such as pedaloes, inflatables and sea kayaks. A very cosmopoliton feel to the main street at night, safe, well lit and cheap for drinks. a haven for those who want a cocktail for about £4.50 and a swinging seat to people watch. Local bus stop around the corner takes you to old town Dubrovnik for 12 kuna each way. Thomson tour rep Diana was not lying when she said old town was a different place at night. wow, it felt like being part of a film set, every restaurant table taken, well dressed locals out for the night, young ones enjoying ice cream and the atmosphere was amazing. So many trips to see and do, spoilt for choice. Definately on my list of places to return very soon

Room Tip: thomson 1st floor rooms were lovely opening onto pool area but having read others reviews i would ho...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaz3531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for being our guest and for writing all of these positive comments about our hotel in general.

We hope that you will return to our hotel next time when you visit Dubrovnik.

Kindest regards,

Spaso Bilić, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Komodor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have just returned from a vacation in Dubrovnik. We had looked at a number of hotels before hand but booked this one through a package deal.
The location of the hotel in Lapad is ideal, very close to a public beach, about 50M, the local number 4 bus to the old town, also around 50m, and close to a local dining street 100M

I would choose here over a location in the old town as you get to see more of Dubrovnik on a daily basis. The bus ride to the old town is about 10 min and buses are very frequent, every 15 min. Tickets can be purchased from reception costing 12 kuna one way.

The main pluses for the hotel are the friendly and easy going staff, all very competent and all seem fluent in a number of languages. We also found the pool very useful as while we were there the temperatures were in the mid to high 30's C and it was nice to cool down. The pool area was always spotless and never too crowded, which was nice.

The buffet style breakfast was very nice also and plentiful. They varied the hot food on a daily basis too and their mini croissants were delightful.

The only negatives for us were the room which was a little dated and the walls a little wafer thin. Our neighbours bathroom was a little too close to ours! The two bathrooms were back to back and also ours was very small. The only other issue was that the wifi was only available in reception, maybe it could be extended to include the dining area and pool area?

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of hotel, those at the back have no views, we had a small view out a sid...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for taking your time and writing this review.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Spaso Bilić, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel is nicely situated at Lapad and gives you a short walk to the beach (right across the street) and is a short bus ride from the Old Town.

The rooms should be renovated as (at least the one we had) they are dark and looks like nothing has been done since the 80s. The walls are thin and we could hear the people on the room next to us talking. We also were annoyed by employees talking outside our door.

The people at the front desk are helpful, but we were annoyed by one of them trying to overexplain everything that seemed clear. Wi-Fi is only working in the reception-area and should be expanded to also cover the rooms. Luckily it is complimentary.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reiseklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

In the nearest future we are planing to renovate part of hotel capacities including WI FI throughout the entire hotel.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I ended up in the Komodor after the hotel we where meant to be staying at was overbooked , and I was not very happy to say the least , but when we turned up unexpected they soon sorted us a room . The staff where very friendly and nothing was to much to much trouble for them .The food was good and lots of it ,with plenty of choice .the pool is small but never over crowed with loads of sun beds tables & chairs . We had room 101 which lead out on to the patio and right by the pool , we believe in the end we where lucky to stay in the the Komodor hotel as it turned out to be a great holiday

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pickledill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for all the compliment you wrote.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was our first visit to Croatia, and we will definitely be returning. The Komodor is a great base for Dubrovnik, as it is away from the hustle and bussle, but within a few minutes of everything you need to see. the main Boulevard and beach are less than 5 minutes walk,with plenty of places to eat and drink while soaking up the atmosphere, and the old town is a 10 minute bus ride, which stops within yards of the hotel.
we booked through an agent, and we were initially placed in a small dark room at the back of the hotel, but when we spoke to Boris and Matco on the front desk, they went out of their way to move us to a much nicer room at no extra cost, as we were staying for 2 weeks.
Barbara the house maid was absolutely wonderful, very friendly, helpful, and efficient, our room always kept spotless and tidy.
The room was quite nice, with kingsize bed, air conditioning, and french doors to a large balcony area with table, chairs and brolly. plenty of storage space, hair dryer, phone and tv(which we never used, as there is plenty to do) ours only had a shower, which was ok for us, but some of the rooms have a bath too.
The buffet breakfast and dinner was plentyful and delicious, and the waiting staff very friendly and efficient. Marko in particular was great, and took great care of us.the dining area is a comfortable and clean balcony area covered over with vines, and although it's close to the road, was not noisy.
The pool is small but very clean, and has sun loungers tables and chairs around it, so a good place to relax, sunbathe and get to know other guests.
Over all, the Komodor has a lovely old fashioned part of the family feel about it,very helpful and friendly staff who work 7 days a week for 6 months of the year,is clean and tidy, and we will be going again.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front of the hotel have nice views, most with balconies, though the 1st floor rooms...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FrankandPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for taking the time and writing this review.

We invite you to come and visit us again.

Kindest regards,

Spaso, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Liked the hotel, staff were very helpful. Pool area clean. Bad thing room 110 dark and dingy. Nowhere to dry clothes, and needed light on at all times. Previous residents had complained and were moved so presumably we may have moved but we weren't intending spending a lot of time in the room so just put up with it. Breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: Don't go into 110. Dark and dingy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millerde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

Hotel Komodor has two room types, sea view room and park view room. Unfortunately room no. 100 doesn't have balcony because is park view room.

Thank you for all the positive comments you wrote about our hotel.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We found the hotel to be very good. The staff were so friendly and helpful, it made staying there a pleasure.
We upgraded to a room with a balcony on the second floor, it was well worth the extra money.
We were in a twin room, but actually had a double bed each, a nice big room and exceptionally clean.
We were half board basis, we were not always that keen on the buffet style meal on an evening, but there was plenty.
Found it to be quiet on an evening, so would go for a stroll and a drink elsewhere.
Location good, very easy to catch local bus to dubrovnik.
We went round the city walls early in the morning, as very busy once cruise ships arrive.
Would recommend visiting Cavtat, a very picturesque little island.
Also, a good restaurant near the cathedral in the old city called Storia, for an inexpensive and good meal.
We went on a trip to Mostar in Bosnia, enjoyed that immensely.
All in all we loved croatia and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 215, it was a very good size and overlooked the pool, with a lovely view from the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garda38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for taking your time and writing postiive comments about our hotel.

We hope that next time when you come to Dubrovnik you will choose our hotel again.

Kindest regards,

Spaso, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 68 in Dubrovnik
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 68 in Dubrovnik
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
678 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Komodor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Komodor

Address: Masarykov Put 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £43 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Komodor 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and cozy family hotel withe the longest tradition on the Lapad peninsula and a typical example of the Mediterranean stone architecture. Dubrovnik's top pebble beaches are just a few footsteps away. Our air-conditioned rooms have charming interiors and all the necessary amenities. The first floor boasts a lovely private terrace with swimming pool. Parasols and sun beds are free of charge. The breakfast buffet,included in the rate, is served in our main restaurant offering a wide selection of local specialties and international cuisine. Lapad Bay promenade with restaurants and bars and shopping area is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The Old town is easily reached by regular bus line which gets you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Komodor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komodor Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Komodor Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing