We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful value for an ideal setting in Dubrovnik”
Review of Hotel Komodor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Komodor
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Excellent service, clean rooms, excellent variety food and service, close and easy access setting to Dubrovnik, entertainment just around the corner, facing Lapad Bay (Adriatic Sea), very quiet after midnight.

Room Tip: Rooms seeing Lapad Bay are wonderful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank broj1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We also thank you for sharing with us your experience in our hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Once again, we thank you and we hope you will visit us again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Spaso Bilic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Komodor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Old fashioned hotel, spotlessly clean with attentive staff. Close to Dubrovnik old town with the beach across the road and an avenue of choice for food and entertainment just around the corner. Local trips and bus service easy to book/use.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fredericka8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your lovely vacation. Our hotel staff is always at your service. Once again, we thank you and we hope to see you again.

Spaso Bilic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I had booked a room with a balcony and a fridge and got neither however I am certain this was the booking agency's fault. the room itself was dark and a bit cramped. Cannot understand why a double / twin room would only have one chair. Decided to just make the best of it and glad I did the staff were all pleasant and very helpful and the food was good. The location cannot in my opinion be bettered being right by the bus stop for the old town and a short walk to all the amenities of Lapad ( a good holiday destination in its own right.

Room Tip: Cannot possibly comment Only saw own room and hotel was filled to capacity
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 59Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. We are glad you were satisfied with our gastronomic offer and hotel staff. Regarding our rooms, all your suggestions will be taken into the consideration.
Once again, thank you.
Best regards.

Spaso Bilic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The title of this review may be misleading as my thoughts are mostly positive. I just wanted to point out to anyone considering this hotel, not to expect a new, modern hotel.

The hotel is geared towards older guests, but that didn't prevent me and my husband (30) for having a great few days here.

The check in was pleasant and when i expressed concern about the room, Boris on reception, gave me keys to two rooms. We chose room 121 simply because it was bigger, but there was very little natural light and certainly no view. If you don't plan on spending much time in your room, this shouldn't trouble you. When i asked if there was another room, they promised they would move me the next day, which they did, to a room opening out onto the swimming pool. While a smaller room, we were happier here as we could relax in the evening before dinner right outside the door of our room.

We stayed half board as the cost to upgrade to dinner was so cheap, it seemed like a shame not to. The food was typical Mediterranean. Salads, meats, fish, rice, vegetable (some deep fried, some done in sauce) and there was always french fries. There were also desserts and fresh pineapple for afterwards. The one thing i disliked about dinner was that you had to buy a bottle of water as they didn't provide tap water. However, i found that they offer only bottled water, everywhere in Dubrovnik, despite the excellent, clean running water that they have.

Drinks at the hotel were 35kn for a quarter bottle (1 glass) of rose wine and around 30kn for a pint of beer.

The bed was comfortable but some people may not like the pillows - ask the lovely Barbara and she will get you more. Barbara was the fantastic house keeper who kept all the room clean on a daily basis and nothing was too much trouble for her. In fact all of the staff were most pleasant and will go out of their way to help you. You are less likely to find the same service with a smile at larger hotels. That's what made this little hotel special.

Breakfast was a bit repetitive with bacon, eggs and bread everyday, but again there was always fruit to keep you filled up.

We loved the location of this hotel. THE BUS stop was literally round the corner from the hotel and departed every 15 minutes dropping you right off at Pile Gate. Don't worry about getting lost, as it is the last stop on the bus. It never took us more than 10 minutes to make it down into the town and i am so glad that we stayed in Lapad.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and want a hotel where you will be welcomed and made to feel looked after.

The bedroom had a very old TV with no ENglish channels, however, you don't go to Dubrovnik to watch TV. Get out there and see it.

Room Tip: Want a view? Expect to pay more for it or if they are not busy they might upgrade you for free.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We will take into the consideration all your comments and suggestions.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager
Spaso Bilic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I would absolutely recommend Hotel Komodor if you are looking for a nice but fairly cheap hotel to stay in. After I booked my holiday with Hotel Komodor, I emailed them to ask for directions from Dubrovnik Airport to the hotel thinking that no one would reply. However someone did, and in very good English! They were extremely helpful and quick with their response. They also confirmed my check in and room number after I emailed them to confirm for me. My husband and I were supposed to be in Room 118 but I had read a review that this room was quite damp and bad for people with asthma. So I asked if we could switch which they did for us.

There is a really nice clean pool to use (it isn't heated so be aware it can be quite chilly!) with sun lounges. You can request for a beach/pool towel at the hotel reception which is nice!

The location of the hotel is really good, and quite near the buzzy part of Lapad. I would recommend the Cave Bar which is about a 10 minute walk away. The More Restaurant (just above the Cave Bar) is also a really nice place to eat. A little expensive but not terrible.

To get into the Dubrovnik Old City, you can catch the number 4 Hotel Palace bus which costs 24 kunas for a return ticket. The bus stop is just round the corner from Hotel Komodor. The bus ride is only 10 minutes and drops you off at Pile which is where you'll find the tourist information office.

Great place for couples. I would recommend June if you are looking to go in nice weather but want to avoid crowds. Be aware that June can have heavy rain! We were fortunate enough to be there the week it was 33 degrees! As we were leaving it dropped to 24 with storms and rain all day!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 110 which was nice enough but quite small. However we tried to be out as much as p...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation.
We are pleased that you spent a lovely vacation in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our hotel service.

Best regards,
Spaso Bilic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 week with my wife and thoroughly enjoyed it here.
It is a budget hotel so dont expect 5 star, but it is comfortable, staff are friendly and it is well placed for lapad and bus to old town.
We paid a bit extra for high floor balcony, had nice view and good room service.
Pool looks a bit cramped, but we had no problems at all getting sunbeds, perhaps people went to the beach instead.
Breakfast adeqate, plenty of room to sit and no bunfight.
Most people had meals outside on nice terrace area so lots of space.
We had half board, which we used a couple of times, and again it was buffet style and good value, but we like to try local restaurants so we went out other times.
If you are eating out in Lapad, do go to restaurant More along beach. Excellent (see rev)
All in all, a very nice friendly stay and we would return.

Eddie n Christine

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us. We are glad you spent pleasant moments in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our hotel staff.
We are looking forward to your next arrival.

Kind regards,
Spaso Bilic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed this holiday
Friendly staff
Great views from balcony windows , great food
Would come back again
Close to beach,
Great day trips
Chilled out place and bus routes
great
Just ask for front views to sea

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suetonyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We hope you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Spaso Bilic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#41 of 68 in Dubrovnik
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 68 in Dubrovnik
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
678 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Komodor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Komodor

Address: Masarykov Put 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £43 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Komodor 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and cozy family hotel withe the longest tradition on the Lapad peninsula and a typical example of the Mediterranean stone architecture. Dubrovnik's top pebble beaches are just a few footsteps away. Our air-conditioned rooms have charming interiors and all the necessary amenities. The first floor boasts a lovely private terrace with swimming pool. Parasols and sun beds are free of charge. The breakfast buffet,included in the rate, is served in our main restaurant offering a wide selection of local specialties and international cuisine. Lapad Bay promenade with restaurants and bars and shopping area is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The Old town is easily reached by regular bus line which gets you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Komodor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komodor Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Komodor Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing