We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Komodor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Komodor
Ranked #37 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
somerset england
1 review
“very pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Recently stayed at the Komodor, superb locality to beach, bus stop, bars etc. We stayed half board, but wished we had done B & B. Food tasted better than it looked, staff very friendly. We did book a pool view room it certainly was a "pool view" as when we opened the patio doors we were right on the pool which we didnt like. We asked for another room which we got the next night, much bigger room with sea view on 3rd floor. Very dissapointed with lift situation as the lift was hardly ever working, each evening when we came back we had to ask for the lift, think they switch it off to save electricity ?. Had to lug our cases down 3 flights of stairs on departure. Not very good. So beware if your not very good on your legs!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheena3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    141
    51
    15
    21
See reviews for
36
148
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Some mixed reviews on here for this hotel. We had a great 2 weeks hotel facilities were excellent, room serviced every day including fresh towels, towels for the pool available from reception at no charge. Pool area was a real bonus for a smell hotel. Breakfast and evening meal are buffet style, although breakfast was a little limited the evening meal offered good choice of well prepared food with a good choice of dishes. Easy access to old town and walking distance to local beach and amenities

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NottinghamStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

When we first arrived we were allocated a spotlessly clean but absolutely tiny 'park' view (actually of a wall) room. Changed after the first night to a spectacular sea view balcony room and our whole holiday improved. the staff are so kind and friendlly, especially fond of children, so makes it a lovely family stay. The pool is great and the location perfect for the beach and transport into gruz and the old town.

The food, as in much of Croatia, is a bit old school and salty, especially limiting for veggies, but head out for endless pizzas! Fish dishes much better.

Small and intimate hotel, much more personal than larger, swisher ones, but just go b&b as food not worth staying in for.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo9ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, somerst
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

We stayed bed and breakfast for a week, and didn't want to leave. The outside lets it down somewhat-really needs a coat of paint. Inside though is spotless and feels very homely, with carpeted floors and marble surfaces. staff couldn't do enough for you, night or day. Breakfast basic but what there was was tasty. We ordered from room sevice several times and the cookedmeals were excellent. the location is perfect, very close to beaches, bars/restaurants and on the main bus route into the old town. We will definately stay there again if we return to Dubrovnik. Paid for sea view room with balcony which was lovely and overlooked park also so was well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glothorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

Good location within walking distance of sea front, bus stop outside to Dubrovnic Town every 20 minutes. Food was good, plenty of choice. Staff were eager to please at all times.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Despite an unprecedent cold snap we had a very warm welcome at Hotel Komodor in October. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Dubrovnik and surrounding areas. The bus stop to the old city is just around the corner. There is so much to see there but our highlights were walking the city walls and watching a very interesting presentation about the war in the early nineties. It is easy to forget just how recently the city was effectively destroyed- the reconstruction is amazing. You can also easily get to the main bus stop if you wish to go further afield. Cavtat is a lovely small town to visit around 40 minutes on the bus for a very reasonable 12 kunas (roughly £1.50). The walk and nature reserve at Lukrum should not be missed - short boat ride from the old city.

The staff at the Komodor could not have been more helpful - speaking excellent english and giving advice on most things you could think of, buses, boats, directions etc. which made getting about much easier. Bus tickets can be purchased at the hotel cheaper than on the buses.The hotel has a pleasant reception, small bar, library with a good selecion of english books, and restaurant. Most drinks are reasonable, although wine is expensive. However we found that this is the case everywhere in Duborvnik. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. There was a good choice for breakfast, cereals, hot buffet, cold buffet, fruit, yoghurts breads brioche and pastries. We were also impressed by the choice of herbal teas on offer together with the usual choices of juices, tea and coffees. The dinner buffet got better as our week's stay went on. The salad bar was particularly good and most nights there was a choice of several meat courses, fish and veggie option, together with vegetables. Fruit and cakes were the usual puddings on offer.

Our room was clean and spacious with a king size bed, tv and air conditioning- although we needed the heating due to the unexpected cold weather and I have to say our room was never cold!! The bathroom was smallish but clean and adequate with plenty of hot water.
Altogether we had and most enjoyable week.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestMidlandsMavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the komodor for 7 nights in early october. It was brilliant. Dubrovnik is beautiful and this hotel ticked all the right boxes. The staff were really nice and helpful. Hotel in general and room were clean. We were booked in for a room with inland view but got one with stunning sea view on arrival with no request or extra cost. Breakfast wasn't the best ever, but I am fussy about my scrambled eggs and such. Room was a little small but adequate, plenty of storage, good blackout curtains + shutters and a nice powerful shower. (you don't go to such a beautiful place just to stay in your room anyway).We thought it was great. The pool was good fun, a bit small, but there was only us in it anyway. Hotel bar was fine though a little expensive but most of dubrovnik is anyway. Beware young un's this hotel mainly attracts an older clientele. Hotel is in a peaceful location with exellent bus link into the old town. Would go back tomorrow, and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ickkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#39 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Dubrovnik Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Komodor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Komodor

Property: Hotel Komodor
Address: Masarykov Put 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Komodor 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and cozy family hotel withe the longest tradition on the Lapad peninsula and a typical example of the Mediterranean stone architecture. Dubrovnik's top pebble beaches are just a few footsteps away. Our air-conditioned rooms have charming interiors and all the necessary amenities. The first floor boasts a lovely private terrace with swimming pool. Parasols and sun beds are free of charge. The breakfast buffet,included in the rate, is served in our main restaurant offering a wide selection of local specialties and international cuisine. Lapad Bay promenade with restaurants and bars and shopping area is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The Old town is easily reached by regular bus line which gets you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Komodor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komodor Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Komodor Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing