We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary but lacks charm.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Contemporary but lacks charm.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Good points – Very quiet, clean, smart rooms, friendly enough, good food especially breakfast. No 6 bus passes every 10 minutes and is convenient for access to the Old Town.

Bad Points – Restaurant and Bar decor, Pool area too open and not conducive to relaxation.

Hotel Lapad looks better than the photographs suggest.
The pool area is open to the road that goes past the front door. This is not a busy road but then its not very quiet either. The gates were open all the time that we were there, so its not ideal for sunbathing though not impossible as long as your prepared for the lack of privacy.
The outside bar area is nice but a bit bare. Needs plants or something to break it up. The same could be said for the restaurant which is just so so. Just not that attractive. Looks better in the morning than at night.
The frontage and separate conference building, which you see in the photographs, are beautiful, but only form a small part of the hotel with most of the rooms in the newly constructed rear section.
[One reviewer bemoans the distance from the remotest rooms to the Bar and facilites. We stayed in room 715 which is about as remote as it gets and one lift and a couple of dozen steps and your there. I suggest that they try MGM Grand in LA.]
Staff, while friendly enough, are a bit remote at times and you are not going to invite them to come for a meal when they are in the UK.
The food in the hotel restaurant is pretty good but its not going to be the highlight of your holiday.
Breakfasts were excellent and, to the reviewer who complained, here is a selection of what was on offer.
Eggs fried, scrambled and omelette.
French bread [fresher if you get there before 10.30]
Pancakes fresh and light with either chocolate or stewed berrys. This was YUM.
Streaky Bacon and some chorizo type sausages [the only disappointment]
Loads of cold meats and cheeses a la continental style.
Pastries[sweet] and mini croissants [savoury]
Fresh fruit salad and fresh grapefruit and orange slices. Fresh fruit.
Various cereals and nuts.
Coffee was good quality.
I’ve missed some stuff but its all there.

We stayed in a standard room with balcony. The balcony is tiny and its a tight squeeze for 2.
The room was very good with a totally contemporary feel. Free wi-fi which was good.
Bathroom is a bit tight with no separate shower and a rather revealing glass door.
There is also another door to separate your room from the bathroom and the corridor.

There is a Pizzeria about 30 metres from the front door. DANGER we got a tummy bug from here and the waiter is a CAUC [Complete and utter ....].

Room Tip: Go for the biggest square meterage that you can afford. Balconys are too small try for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whiteroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    774
    161
    36
    13
See reviews for
228
1,253
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Twp., Mich. United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

My wife is confined to a wheelchair, so you can imagine my pleasure to find a fully accessable hotel in Dubrovnik. The room was nicely decorated with plenty of room for using the wheelchair. The beds were comfortable and the staff willing to help with any and all needs. The restaurant was wonderful with a GREAT waitstaff, so willing to help and to put up with my very poor Croatian with a smile. Spending evenings at the pool-side bar listening to the DJ's music, while sipping an evening drink or having dessert was a true joy. The location allows you to check out the wonderful harbour and see which cruise ships were visiting. We will return here and highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bubber8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I would return to this hotel.well worth the extra for half board

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a week in Dubrovnik where we stayed in Hotel Lapad. It was the perfect choice of hotel. The rooms, while not the largest, were clean and comfortable. We were looking out onto the port where the cruisers dock on a daily basis. We booked on a half board basis and it was well worth it as the meals were of excellent quality and selection. The staff, at reception and in dining room, were friendly and helpful, though not too inclined towards conversation. Internet was free to guests by obtaining a password from reception which could be renewed every fifteen minutes. A walk to the Walled City (Stari Grad ) is approximately 45 minutes(mainly uphill), but a great bus service, ( Bus number 6 ) runs almost every 10 minutes to the Walled City and on return stops outside the Hotel door. As one walks out the front of the Hotel and turns left along the waterfront and continuing along the pedestrian path a twenty minute walk will lead to a beautiful little beach named "Copacabana"
We didn't avail of the restaurants much as we had half board and I understand that food is quite dear in those restaurants around the Walled City. One exception we found was a little pizzaria just to the right of the bus stop under Apartment Tomato where one could get delicious pizza at a very reasonable price. The Island tour is a must, as is a visit to the viewing point overlooking the walled city. A visit out to Cavtat is also a must and a boat, from the port within the walled city, will take you there and back. All in all an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: Paid 60euro each to have sea view room. Well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LimaMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Beautiful location right next to the harbour. Within easy walking distance of Lapad bay and beach with many restaurants and bars. there are a few restaurants right next to the hotel, and the hotel itself has a bar and restaurant. No 6 bus runs every 10 minutes into the old town from right outside the hotel (though as its a circular route it's easier on the way in to town to walk about 5 minutes and cut off the corner). Rooms are clean with safe, fridge and free wifi. I paid extra for a sea view which was nice for the small amount of time I was in the room. Rooms aren't huge without being small, the glass bathroom walls may put off some. Extensive buffet breakfast included in the price was welcome. Hotel staff on reception very helpful and the trips I took (Mostar and Montenegro) were also excellent. Not the cheapest and I was a little worried about not being in the old town but having stayed here I would definitely use this hotel again when I go back to Dubrovnik, which I certainly will.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MJK_UK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Hotel in the west of Dubrovnik- 12mins from Stari Grad (old town). Beautiful, modern rooms. Excellent service. A full range of optional excursions. Good variety and quality of food for breakfast/dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonGreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We have just returned from a very enjoyable holiday in Dubrovnik staying at the Hotel Lapad. We found the hotel to be in a great location beside the harbour. Each morning we would look out from our balcony to see what cruise liner had berthed up early in the morning. The reception staff were very helpful in anything that you needed, as were the staff in the dining room. We stayed half board and enjoyed breakfast and dinner. There was always plenty to choose from both at breakfast and dinner. The rooms were cleaned every day. Many other visitors have commented about the glass door to the bathroom but that didn't bother us at all. We would have liked a balcony that had two chairs on for that early evening drink but alas we took it in turns or managed to fit the chair from the bedroom on it.

We enjoyed many a walk along the harbour side to a small beach where the locals have their small boats moored. The scenery around there is amazing. We were in awe of it the first morning we walked along.

All in all the hotel is in an ideal location to be close enough to the city to see the sights but far enough away not to have the hustle and bustle. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone that wanted to visit Dubrovnik and hopefully we will return again one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanandjohn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing