We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to Hotel Lapad, Dubrovnik”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Visit to Hotel Lapad, Dubrovnik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is a fantastic hotel with extremely friendly and welcoming staff. When we first booked and wrote follow up emails the replies were courteous and helpful. On our arrival the front desk, bar lounge and restaurant areas had professional staff that were always on hand to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms were spacious and ours had a balcony which overlooked the cruise ships docked in the harbour. Only 3 km from the old town so we only had to jump on a bus or walk down. The breakfasts had a wide variety of choice and the evening meal at the hotel were some of the best we had thrughout our trip around Croatia. There was even a basket of fruit put in the room on my husband's birthday and a chocolate mousse dessert after our meal. I have already recommended this hotel to all my family and friends and we will definitely be returning within the next year or so. Thank you Lapad. Linda P

Room Tip: We had a balcony (only small) but you can look at the cruise ships docked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaP742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Linda P742,

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for your lovely compliments on our staff.
I am happy you had such a wonderful stay and delighted you will return in the future for another wonderful visit.

Kindest regards,
Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    776
    162
    37
    13
See reviews for
230
1,263
54
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Lapad at the beginning of May 2012. We asked for a room with a balcony, it was very spacious, lovely modern bathroom, a small balcony but brilliant sunset.
The Breakfast was really impressive with lots of choice, im now addicted to their pancakes and blueberries. The pool area was lovely, the pool was a little cold but still got in a couple of times regardless!
Hotel Lapad is about a 20 - 30 minute walk to the old town but the bus is fast (5mins) and really regular. cheap & easy. Definitelyrecommend this Hotel! So much I would go back in a few years time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eilidh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Eilidh P,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and recommending Hotel Lapad.
It is our pleasure to hear that you were happy with the hotel location, the breakfast buffet and the size of the assigned room.
We would be pleased to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Katica
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel for four nights bed and breakfast. This is a beautiful hotel set beside Gruz Harbour. Our room was bright, spacious and spotless. All of the staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful and in particular Lea on reception was an absolute star when my friend fell and broke her ankle in the Old City. Although Lea was not working, she took my friend to hospital in her own car. The buffet breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel. It was only about 25 minutes from the Old City by bus No 6 and there is a bus stop outside the hotel. There is a water taxi (7 Kuna per person each way,) to the other size of the harbour. And that was a nice experience. There were also a couple of restaurants yards from the hotel which were good value and good food.

Room Tip: Sorry can't answer this because our room (510) was quiet at night so we had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Sandra E,

We are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Lapad and appreciate your compliments.
We would like to thank you for your fantastic comments on the staff and the hotel. It was a pleasure to look after you and I have shared your great feedback with the team, especially with Lea.
We hope you will soon be again our guest and look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,
Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just back from 1 week stay in Hotel Lapad.Our room 404 was lovely with alot of mod cons the shower was fabulous and the balcony was great (went round corner) so we had a view of the harbour and the gardens. The bed was very comfortable and there was absolutely no noise from the corridor or outside the hotel. The hotel in general was very clean and fresh flowers where displayed everywhere. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and times were great 7 till 10:30, the buffet dinner was average & food was tepid. Due to the weather we didnt get out as much as we would have liked to but The restaurant Dubrovnik in the old town is a must ... The pizza restaurant 300 yards from hotel is lovely for lunch with nice roof top seating (you dont have to have pizza).

The hotel location is great & the views was lovely, with the port right at your door and the bus ride into the old town only steps away. The hotel pool isnt very big and doesnt cater for the amount of people staying (if you want a day by the pool you'd better get up early) & by 3.30 most of its shaded. Apart from the old town there isnt alot to do after youve been to Montenegro. The island cruises are an option but theres not alot to see once you get there. Dubrovnik is good for a short break 3/4 days but a week in my opinion is too long.

Downside

We were up from 3 am to get our flight, so were desperate to get into our room when we arrived to relax and change. We arrived at 11 and were met by a member of staff who handed us tickets for our luggage and walked away. When I asked him what the ticket was for he said check in wasnt till 2. Not the friendly welcome we hoped for. However "we found" reception in another building & asked where we could freshen up & eat . I changed in the ladies toilet!!!. I must say ive never arrived on holiday and had to wait hours for my room.

I can give you alot of examples where the service really let the hotel down, but I want to highlight instead where the good service made a difference. The manager zeljiko knew our names and always said hello. The 2 ladies in the restaurant were great, friendly & professional as was geo in the bar and andro in reception.The only reason I mention this is because Friendly & professional staff can go along way to making a good hotel a great hotel. If the service was consistant and some staff a bit more professional this would be a fantastic little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELICA-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Very clean with helpful and cheerful staff (apart from an odd few!) Bedrooms in the new block were very sylish and modern within the traditional exterior of the hotel. The one drawback was the tiny balcony which was just big enough for one chair, but from the side of the hotel we were overlooking gardens and the bridge with the mountains in the background so a good view. We just would have liked to be able to sit out (together!) enjoying the evening sunshine with a glass of wine! The hotel is not as large as the impression given in some brochures - not a problem as far as we were concerned but the pool area is quite small - the water was chilly in May so it was never crowded - however I can imagine it would be quite busy in high season. Very pleasant sitting out by the pool or on the veranda watching the many cruise ships come and go!

Breakfast was good with a large choice but the evening meals were repetative and I was bored after a few days - no better or worse than other half board deals I've experienced but nothing to rave about. Apart from one night when we were entertained by 3 very good local musicians there was NO entertainment in the evenings - OK if you have the energy to go searching further afield but there was nothing else within the immediate vicinity except a couple of small bars.

Conveniently situated - just a short ride into the Old town on the No. 6 bus and a short walk over the hill to the promenade area on the other side with cafes and bars (there's a short cut). A good idea to wait until later in the day before venturing into the Old Town if there are a lot of cruise ships in port as the tours and tour buses will be on the way back by then - much quieter and more pleasant to walk the walls etc!

Overall this was an enjoyable stay and we were very impressed by the friendliness of the Croatian people but one week was plenty. I would recommend this hotel for a couple wanting to enjoy the sunshine, history and scenery - nice and peaceful early in the season but not a place to take young children as there were no facilities for them.

Room Tip: Views from the old part of the hotel at the front are larger and overlook the bay, most rooms are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Great hotel and the number 6 bus is directly opposite the hotel, which is handy for coming back from the Old City (note: when going into the Old City, you need to catch the bus from a different spot). The included breakfast was popular and very busy from 9-10am, but we always managed to find a seat. Staff and cleaners were wonderful, very friendly. Rooms were clean and quiet. Couldn't really ask for more.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We booked this hotel because of other reviews on Trip Advisor and did not go wrong. This hotel was a short bus ride from the old city. We were able to walk back from the Old City one afternoon.
Our room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was modern and a nice size. The breakfast was unbelievable with a large buffet and the food was excellent. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They held our luggage for us because we had a late flight out. The pool area was clean. The value at this hotel was excellent. It was a great place to end our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Ellen S,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
It was our great pleasure to read your very kind comments about the staff, service and facilities.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing