We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just back from a week at the hotel Lapad, lovely place, Staff are very polite and courteous and will help you with anything you need, our room was well appointed and very clean thanks to good cleaning staff. Bus service was really good with a stop out side the hotel, would recommend buying a week long ticket as it will save you time, meals at the hotel were very good but most of the time we were out sight seeing so relied on the breakfast to keep us going, which was more than up to the job with a big selection on offer to keep you sustained until lunch. All in, this is a well run hotel in just about every way, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CB1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear CB1K,

Thank you so much for taking time to post your comments about your recent visit.
We are pleased to hear you found our staff polite and courteous and you enjoyed your stay thoroughly.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Katica
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just returned from the Lapad hotel after a week. In a great location for seeing the cruise liners come in. Hotel room okay, but my son had a fold up bed which was not very comfy, ask could we upgrade but were told the hotel was full.
Came back from being in the old City, to find ants in our room, went to reception to be told that this was unusual by a lady who looked over her glasses at you, she sent the Housekeeper up to spray, who could not speak a word of English, they did disappear after that. When we checked out the young gentlemen asked had we enjoyed our stay, we said yes except for the ants, he said they were quite common and even he had them in his room at the top of the hotel, a different story to what the lady had told us.
Bar staff and dinner staff were very charming, staff on reception were very miserable except for one young girl who was lovely. Breakfast and Dinner were buffet style, but were only just warm, and soon run out.
It was always hard to get near the pool as some residents would put there towel on before breakfast, which should not be allowed.
We really loved Croatia and will be returning, but will try another hotel.
Shower was good and water always hot, the glass doors on the wardrobe and the door hiding the bedroom was a novelty.

Room Tip: Would choose a superior room if you have young adults with you, the put me up beds are small and unc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear sandra 23035,

Thank you for taking time to post review about your recent stay.
We appreciate all comments from our guests, both positive and negative and take them seriously.
We were pleased to read that you found our hotel in a great location and bar and dinner staff charming.
On the other hand we are sorry to hear about inconvenience with the ants. Ants are unusual in our hotel but it's possible that they apppear in the rooms on the ground floor if bread or cookies are left on the terrace.
We are also surprised that reception staff let you down. Our guest's satisfaction is our main goal so please be assured that we do our best to provide them memorable and enjoyable holiday.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance and stay with us again on your next visit to Croatia.

Best regards,

Katica
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The hotel is located in the Lapad area, right on a harbor. The harbor is charming and contains small boats that barely look sea worthy as well as moored cruise ships. The neighborhood has residences and a number of small restaurants. It is a quiet area and a great place to stroll. The rooms we had (on a tour with friends) were on the small side, but well equipped. Unless you close the sliding glass door to the bedroom area there is little bathroom privacy. While the rooms are recently redone, surfaces in our bathroom and bedside tables were already marred by liquids. The decor is nicely done and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. Bus #6 will take you to Old Town. It is several blocks to the stop going to Old Town, but the outward bound bus stop is right in front of the hotel. There is an inviting outdoor swimming pool, well equipped with lounge chairs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Lapad for a week at the beginning of May 2012. The hotel is very well presented with tasteful decor. We had a room with a side sea view and balcony. From here we could watch the cruise ships arriving and docking on the other side of the bay. The room itself was tastefully decorated though somewhat cramped. The beds were extremely comfortable and the air-conditioning was very efficient and quiet. There was no noise from any of the other rooms. Usually there is bathroom noise in most hotels but not here. The location of the hotel also made it very quiet as there was no traffic noise. This ensured a good night's sleep!

Alfhough the hotel is in a quiet location it is only a short stroll away from restaurants and coffee bars. As you come out of the hotel turn left and walk up the hill towards the main road. Cross over and follow the path ahead of you to the right. This promenade takes you along a coastal path with many restaurants and bars. By crossing the road you can also catch the No. 6 bus into the Old Town (about 15 minutes away). Tickets for the bus can be purchased in the hotel and are 2 Kuna cheaper than on the bus.

The hotel breakfast was extensive and served buffet style. There was a fantastic choice and it catered for all tastes. The tea wasn't great but the coffee was fine. Staff in the restaurant were very pleasant and attentive and were quick to clear away empty plates. We ate twice in the restaurant in the evening. Those opting for half-board had a buffet style meal. We sampled the a la carte menu with waitress service one night and enjoyed it very much. On the second occasion we had the buffet meal and didn't enjoy it as much as it was more like a canteen type meal. There was plenty of choice but I prefer having my meal served to me and presented attractively on the plate. The desserts were disappointing as well.

The pool area was very pleasant and good to relax beside after a day out. Our weather was very good and we had temperatures between 22 and 24 degrees celsius. The pool was rather cool as it had not had time to heat up but it was still pleasant enough for a dip. There is a terrace bar overlooking the pool and snacks and drinks are served here. One evening there was musical entertainment as well.

The staff were generally very pleasant and helpful and all spoke good English as is the case for most of the Croatian people we met. Dubrovnik is a beautiful city and we really enjoyed the friendliness of the Croatian people and the cleanliness of the city.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel Lapad to anyone. It is run to a very high standard and is very comfortable and well located.

Room Tip: It is best to opt for a room with a side sea view and a balcony. Room 522 had a slightly bigger balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Anrosh,

Thank you for the detailed review regarding your stay with us.
It's wonderful to read your great comments about the hotel location, comfortable rooms and particularly about the staff.
We are glad that you found our breakfast fantastic and that you enjoyed our a la carte menu very much. You should have tried one of our delicious cakes in the bar. I am sure you wouldn't be dissapointed.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Katica

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Seeing as there aren't many hotels to stay within the old town of Dubrovnik, we stayed at the Hotel Lapad, about a 15 minute bus ride to town.
The hotel is a mix of the older building, and newer modern buildings. Rooms are modern, with a good bathroom (the glass door that everyone comments on is interesting!) that you can use as a bath, handheld shower or huge overhead shower. The only problem was that the glass shower screen didn't keep the water in as our floor got rather wet. I would also have liked face washer sized towels to be provided.
Breakfast was fantastic - great selection of food. Staff was friendly and accommodating when we wanted to change rooms (we were originally given a twin instead of double room).
Two good dining options near the hotel are Otto Taverna (on Nikola Tesla where you catch bus to town) and Orsan at the yacht club.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms offer a partial view of Gruz Harbour. Rooms in new part of hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Supers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

There is both some good and quite bad to write about this place. As for location, it's a bit of both: there is a bus stop (line 6 and 9 from the Old Town) stopping right in front, so being away from the center makes it quieter, but you'll have to walk more for places to eat and/or account for bus travel time. However, food options are much better in this area (try the Grotto) than in the Old Town.

Staff friendliness and efficiency varies a lot depending on people, both at reception and in the breakfast room. Regarding this latter, choice is good enough though quality varies a lot as well (coffee was really poor in particular).

Walls in the rooms are quite thin, so mildly loud discussions or TV from neighbours can be easily overheard. And you need a PhD in astrophysics to understand the giant light / AC control panel. Aside from this, the rooms are good enough. Didn't try the pool but can imagine it's nice enough after a long day of walking under the heat of the Old Town.

Be aware that this is one of the almost ubiquitous group-cattering hotels of Dubrovnik, which has some implications on the availability and quality of some services.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very nice hotel. but somehow just misses being excellent.
Most outstanding features are the location on the waterfront opposite the port and the staff who are helpful and friendly without exception. The rooms are very clean and well maintained, average size - but beware the corners of the bed which is, as mentioned by other reviewers, perhaps a bit too big for the room. NB it is also two singles together with a gap in the middle. Some of the balconies are not much more than juliet size as only one chair can be fitted on them- and despite emailing in advance we didn't manage to change that. Also worth mentioning how quiet and comfortable it was- we slept really well.
Breakfast is excellent, masses of choice and kept fresh and filled right from 7 to 10.30am. Dinner is also good but I cant handle this thing where it's all buffet style so you often have to queue to get to the main sections. That said, the food is good quality though gets a bit samey after a few days . As there are so many nice restaurants on the doorstep I would recommend booking B+B.
There are not enough sun beds in the pool area which is a bit irritating and tends to lead to the reserving of beds from early in the morning. However there is nice little beach about 5 mins walk away.
It takes 25 minutes pacey walking to get into the old Town but the No 6 bus runs about every 10 mins from close by as the walk back is mostly uphill that might be the preferred option.
Don't miss the walk round the headland- takes about an hour, beautiful views and some lovely places to stop for a coffee on the way. And a day trip to Cavtat, about 30 min bus ride is also recommended. Finally though pretty grim, a visit to the war pictures exhibition in the old City did help us to understand Croatia's recent history and was well worthwhile.

Room Tip: Best rooms have a side view of the harbour and a decent sized balcony- I dont know how you can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WatfordWelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,010 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
959 reviews
0.9 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £64 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing