We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We found the service, cleanliness, food and friendliness at this hotel second to none. The only slight problem is if you want a relaxing day at the pool it is too small for sufficient sun beds.
If we return to Dubrovnik we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear ChrisLeicester,

We are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your compliments.

We noticed your remark regarding the pool. It is small due to the traditional architecture that Hotel Lapad boasts.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Dubrovnik,

Katica
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    774
    161
    36
    13
See reviews for
228
1,253
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just returned from a week at the Lapad, this is an excellent hotel. I can't think of anything to complain about, even found the evening meals acceptable for a buffet style dinner despite what some other reviewers have said. The staff are polite & very helpful, the position is great, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jude 49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Jude 49,

Thank you for taking time to recommend Hotel Lapad on Trip Advisor page.
We are very glad that you had a great experience and do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,

Katica
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Excellent class hotel Room 39 looked up the hillside. Very spacious. Shower equipped with modern jets was welcome on very hot days. Excellent breakfast included. Waterfront rooms extra 20 Euro's. Staff very pleasant and helpful. All you could want. Bus lets you off back home from the Old City just a few steps down the roadway. Ride down to the end and back around instead of walking a bit for the first stop back to town.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Rochester_NY_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very glad that you had a great stay and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards from Hotel Lapad,

Katica
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My friend and I spent 4 nights at the Hotel Lapad - we are seasoned travellers and very fussy!
Thanks to all the staff/the location/ absolutely everything was really a 5 star experience. I would return today if I could.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 'new build' floor 5/6/or 7 - amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank meribel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear meribel 12,

We enjoyed reading your review about your 5 star experience at our hotel.
There is nothing more rewarding to our staff than knowing that we exceeded our guest’s expectations.
We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again.

Warm regards,

Katica
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This was our first experience of Croatia and we shall be back. The hotel was the best we have ever stayed in, all the staff were really pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. It was my birthday on our date of arrival and there was a welcoming birthday message and basket of prepared fruit in our room. We stayed on the 5th floor, our room being fitted to a high standard.
We had decided to stay B&B, the breakfast was of high quality with plenty of choice. On the one occasion we ate in the restaurant the buffet the food was excellent. The service in the bar area was second to none. Location perfect for town and local facilities.
Two small restaurants one hundred yards to the right when leaving the hotel, The Mozart and Blidinje (for pizzas) are recommended.
The people were so friendly, the city and coastline so beautiful, we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear john s,

We really enjoyed reading your review and we are thrilled that Hotel Lapad is the best hotel you have ever stayed in.
Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience with other travelers.
We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for all of your activities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Katica
Guest Relations

Kindest regards,

Katica
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed here on the first leg of our Croatia trip. The hotel is located in a newish harbour area where the cruise ships seem to dock so you'll hear the occasional ship horn but other than that it's very quiet - we didn't find road noise a problem but we weren't right at the front of the hotel.
We booked this hotel in particular because my husband fell in love with the character of the original building and because he liked the sound of the sea view room in the old part of the hotel at the front of the building. In fact, we ended up spending more on a room here than we had originally planned and staying here instead of another choice based on the sea view room. Unfortunately, when we arrived we were told that the room we had booked had been given to someone else and wasn't available so we had been put at the back of the hotel in the more modern part - back of the hotel meaning no view of anything other than other buildings. It was very disappointing and as we had booked it quite far in advance, I think it was pretty rubbish to have given the room to someone else instead.
The room we ended up in was nice inside, although I think the glass partions and glass doors in the bathroom might not be private enough for some people. The bed was firm and comfortable. The minibar prices were very reasonable and I had lounch via room service one day which was again reasonably priced, delivered quickly and very tasty.
The pool area is nice but you have to be up very early to get a sun lounger as these were all full by 9.30/10am every day.Be warned, the water is very cold! There were some funny moments with people gingerly dipping their toes in and deciding against a dip. You are provided with free towels.
If you drive there (as we did), you'll be subjected to a parking charge of 8 euros / day which is a bit steep to be honest considering you're already paying a decent amount for the room rate. It's on a first come first served basis but there seemed to be plenty of room.
Breakfast was very good - there is a lot of variety and as a vegetarian I found a lot of choice. It includes: cereals, bread & pastries, pancakes, yoghourts, fruit, cold meats, cheese, cooked breakfasts and also local delicacies like spinach pie and mushroom lasagne.
In terms of location, it's a 25 min walk to the old town which we did a few times (particularly on the way home from the old town after a meal). Alternatively you can get a bus which takes 5/10 mins. There is a No. 6 bus (Babin Kuk) 200m from the hotel - you can get bus tickets for 12 kuna from the Tisak across the road (or 15 kuna from the bus driver). We often used the No. 1 bus which is slightly further away but is a more direct route so takes only 5 mins.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clementine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear clementine8,

We are glad to read that you had a nice stay at our hotel and that the location enabled you to meet your expectations.
It is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy completely your visit and surprising that your room was given to someone else .
I very much regret that there obviously has been a misunderstanding upon arrival as we would offer you a room change. We are sorry to hear you did not feel comfortable.
Thank for your compliments about the food and staff
I'm really pleased to read that your overall experience was a positive one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Katica
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
439 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Hotel Lapad, Dubrovnik
This was the last of the 4 hotels we used this trip, others were Radisson Blu, Split, Hotel Park, Rovinj and Best Western Astoria, Zagreb.
This is a very smart hotel in a very good location.
The staff are very smart in their uniforms and all of the reception staff are very helpful.
Our room was one at the front of the hotel which was a good size the only downside is that there are no balconies, for this you would need a room in the new part.
There is a good size pool to the front of the hotel, however there are limited numbers of sun loungers, saying that there is a sign to say that you cannot keep your towel on the lounger to reserve it all day. The road noise and the pool filtration system can get a bit noisy at times.
There is a bar and terrace area where you can get snacks (Hamburger £5.00 bottle of beer £2.50)
Breakfast – there is a good choice and covers all tastes, the evening meal menu in the hotel is not too bad price wise, but there are some nice restaurants outside.
If you are driving please note that there is a car park and the parking charge is 8 Euro / 60 KNA / £6.00 per day. Bit of a rip off really bearing in mind the nightly rate.
The hotel will also book excursions for you including 3 island tour for 250 KNA (£25.00) each, free soft drinks all day and lunch is included, you stop off at the 3 islands and it takes all day. (don’t worry about looking round for cheaper they are all the same price). Mostar in Bosnia this is an all day trip and Montenegro. Some of the trips can be added to your bill otherwise you need to pay cash.
To find what they call the promenade which is a walk-way down to the sea with lots of shops, bars and restaurants go out of the hotel turn left and walk around in a sort of semi circle and you will see the promenade in front of you should take about 10 – 15 mins. Up around this area are a few shops and a supermarket where I am sure that you could leave your car there for free.
Restaurants – Around by the supermarket is a restaurant called ‘Skala’ don’t be put off by the location or appearance the food is really good, one TIP – on the promenade (near the top end by the road) look out for the Skala advertising board and someone there will give you a leaflet which will get you free drinks with each main meal. We had a starter each, Greek Salad and Enchiladas 2 drinks for £13.00. If you are looking for a bit of a special meal go to the Hotel Kasbeck which is almost next door to Hotel Lapad, the food is very good and the setting is good also.
The Old Town – A return bus ticket from the promenade to the old town will cost 24 KNA each. You need bus number 6. When you get to the old town the walk around the city walls (worth doing) will cost 70 KNA each, there are lots of places to eat and there is even an Irish Bar that does Guinness and a curry (if that is your thing). Do not wear flip flops, stones are very slippy.
You can buy a ‘Dubrovnik Card’ you can get a 1 day card for 130 KNA each or a 3 day card for 180 KNA each or there is a 7 day card for 220 KNA each, these cards will give you 10 bus trips and include the cost of the wall walk and 5 other museums within the old city so it just depends what you are looking to do, There is also parking by the old city if you have the car.
Out and About – Make sure you take a trip to Cavtat just 10 - 12 KM down the coast, you can drive or get the bus, really pretty village, lots of bars, you will get charged for sun loungers 30 KNA each for the day.
Trip to Mostar – Leaves hotel about 08.00 and you get back at around 18.00, do not forget your passport well worth a trip, our guide gave us a lot of information about the area and the effect of the war in the 1990’s and do not wear flip flops in Mostar, the cobbled streets are very slippy.

Room Tip: As i said in the review, if you want a balcony then you need to go to the rear or side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank applegate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing