We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this lovely hotel.The hotel is really chic and modern,and the cleanliness was excellent.We found the staff really friendly and helpful.
We stayed BB but had the buffet meal during our stay which we found really good and excellent value for money.
The view from the hotel is pretty and although on a main road we found our room was really quiet.
The only negative we found was the lack of sunbeds and the size of the sunbathing area-though it may be beautful it's just not big enough.
This was out first visit to Croatia,we picked this hotel thinking it would'nt be too far to walk into Dubrovnik old town but due to the hilly area and the heat we used the buses or taxis which were very reasonable.
Definately would return both to Croatia and this lovely hotel!!

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audreyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    776
    162
    37
    13
See reviews for
230
1,263
54
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Hotel Lapad was a happy surprise upon our arrival. The hotel is well maintained, has a number of great conveniences (free wifi, pool, good restaurant) and is conveniently located. Despite being in Lapad (outside of Dubrovnik proper), it was easy to get to and from the city. We often used the public bus (the hotel sold slightly discounted bus tickets), which, when returning from the old city, stopped directly in front of the hotel. Alternatively, you could take a taxi which costs roughly $10-12 CDN. The staff were friendly and helpful and everything was very clean. Our room boasted a lovely view of the harbour and the pool. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripPlanner_0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Beautiful, modern, well appointed rooms. Great hotel staff, room was quiet. Pool is nice, although crowded and hard to find a lounger free. Save your lounger early, but you are really here for the pool. You are really here to your around Dubrovnik. Definitely not walkable, but close enough. It fronts the Marina which is a pretty view but part of me wished I could be in a hotel that fronted the sea, but that was probably exorbitant. This was around $350 usd. Cannot fault this hotel. The marina is lovely too. A nice peaceful part of town. You can walk to a beach which is conveniently up the street.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpbythebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

On arrival at the hotel, first impressions were excellent, literally right on the harbour and by far the most attractive hotel in the area. Check-in was slick and staff very efficent. Our room 422 was a good size, very clean and modern, yet comfortable. The glass bathroom door that many people have mentioned wasn't at all as scary as it sounded and was in fact very private.
The bed was very comfortable, although we asked for a double room, but actually got twin beds pushed together. This however was not an issue for us.
Breakfast was good, great selection of food and regularly topped up. Breakfast was busiest between 9.00 - 9.45am.
The bar was reasonably priced and offered a large selection of drinks. The cocktails were particularly good! The bar staff were very friendly and quick to serve us, even when they were busy.
The pool was clean and very refreshing. Sun loungers were pretty difficult to come by during certain parts of the day, but on a couple of occasions we asked the pool boy if he had any spare ones and if he did he went and got them for us.
As there were four of us in our party it was much easier and quicker for us to get a taxi into the old town (50-70 kunas) rather than wait for the bus which is often crowded by the time it gets to lapad.
Orsan restaurant just round the corner forn the hotel is excellent, but the other restaurants in the area were not so great, well worth going into the oold toen to eat.

All in all we had an excellent stay in the hotel and would return again.

Room Tip: 422 - larger balcony, view over gardens and harbour, quiet location dispite being next to the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

don't know what all the bad reports are about, not good location? crazy. Only into 3rd day and getting better and better. Ok, rooms not that big for families but fortunately got an upgrade straight away. staff very very nice, top class hotel, excellent value for money. would only say one minor thing more for adults that love romantic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 791119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Hotel Lapad (17th to 24th June 2012). This was our first visit to Croatia. We really loved the area, beautiful, clean, friendly and safe.
Before we booked this hotel we read the reviews on Tripadvisor and we would make the following comments. The reception staff in fact all the staff in the hotel were very friendly and most helpful. The 2 small problems that we had in our room were dealt with very quickly and very efficiently. The food at both the buffet breakfast and the buffet dinner was up to the standard that we would expect from this level of hotel in the 'mediterranean'. Good choice for main meals in the evening. We had lunch a couple of times by the hotel pool and we also found these very nice and reasonably priced.

As we were on floor 7 we found that the 2 lifts to get to this floor were no problem at all. (Some reports said this was a problem). We rather liked being on this floor as the rooms were quiet and the view of the harbour was better, yes the balcony was small but as we were not in the room for that long it was no problem.
The only negative comment we would make however is the area surrounding the pool is small and not big enough to accommodate everyone. A suggestion to the manager would be to open up the garden area which we understand is only used for weddings and BBQs. This in our opinion would make an ideal relaxing area.
The hotel is located close to the main Lapad harbour and both interesting and peaceful, it is a short walk to the main Lapad centre with many areas for swimming in the sea and sunbathing. Should you wish to catch the local bus into Dubrovnik you should catch the number 10 which leaves from outside the Scholl shop (bus stop sign marked on the road). Tickets can be purchased from the newspaper kiosk nearby for 12kuna, make sure you buy a ticket for the return at the same time. Tickets on the bus are 15kuna each way, on the return the bus stops right outside the hotel.

There are plenty of walks around the Lapad peninsula to enjoy.

All in all a very nice friendly well run hotel, we would recommend for either a short break to visit the old town or a longer holiday. We were pleased we decided on this hotel and found that we preferred to be out of Dubrovnik a little way

Room Tip: We would recommend a higher floor room if it is possible. (These are in the new wing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beartowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just arrived back from 1 weeks stay. Have never been to Croatia before I wish I had gone sooner.
The hotel is modern and well run, the staff were friendly although they dont smile all the time they are polite and helpful. We stayed B&B and ate 1 night at the hotel it was good and not overpriced. Its true about the pool its not really for staying all day at unless you have a towel on the bed before 8.00 you wont get a sun bed and they do need more parasols. There is however an area at the side of the pool which they use for weddings, I personally think its under used and would make a good shady area for beds thus more people would stay and use the hotel for lunch drinks etc, they could also do a BBQ evening there. I would love to go back and would recomend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing