We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in May; we enjoyed the large room and balcony (not that there was that much to see, just a view of the Lapad district).
Our room and the hotel was very clean and the bed was comfortable; unfortunately the location (like almost all hotels in Dubrovnik) was only average as it was located a couple of miles away from the old town - a little too far to walk on along a busy road. On the plus side it faces onto the harbour where the cruise ships dock and even more importantly, the number 6 bus stops right outside the hotel.
Breakfast, while adequate, was not so well organised as the rest of the hotel. On the three mornings we were there there was usually a group of waitresses gossiping in one corner leaving just a couple of waiters to do all the work. Other than that the hotel staff were very good.

Room Tip: The bigger balconies are on the corners, try for an '04', e.g 404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haystacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Spent 1 week at Hotel Lapad and had a great time. Hotel is situated on a peninsula across from the main Gruz harbour, bus stop immediately outside hotel for travel around peninsula and into Dubrovnik. The staff were very professional and helpful all delivered with a smile! Breakfast was great, lots of choice and coffee served, not from a machine. The only downside as previously mentioned was poolside beds, which needn't have been the case as adjoining the pool area was a garden which was cordoned off with beds stacked up! Other than that would recommend to all

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at the Hotel Lapad.
I am truly delighted to read that you enjoyed a week spent with us.

I will certainly share your compliments about professional and helpful staff with all the team.
Regarding the garden, we have used it so far for the special events only. Probably the wedding dinner took place during your stay and that was the reason the garden was cordoned off.

Thank you so much once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Katica
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just back from two weeks in Croatia and stayed in Hotel Lapad for a few nights and was by far the best hotel we stayed in. The room was very big, free WiFi and excellent bathroom. One day when we came back from a day in the town, the cleaning staff had left my girlfriend a nice birthday fruit basket. Nice touch.

It was very easy to access the Old Town from the hotel. Just a 5 minute walk to the bus stop and 10 minute journey into the Old Town (at a cost of 2e) and is very close to the Gruz port bus station.

Breakfast was great too and so many options. A note as well about the staff - couldn't do enough to help you with any problems or queries you have. Only bad note is that you have to get up very early for the pool side beds.

Great hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Brian B,

Thank you for posting review about your brilliant experience in the best hotel you have ever stayed in!

We appreciate your compliments about the breakfast buffet and the size of the assigned room.
Your comments are especially rewarding for our staff who is more than pleased to help you with any problem or query.

We hope you will soon visit Dubrovnik again and would be very happy to welcome you back at our Hotel Lapad.

Warm regards,

Katica

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

the cleanest and friendliest place ive stayed.dubrovnic is wonderful especially in the evenings after the cruise ships had left. good legs and shoes needed to get to see the place properly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank walkingman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful comments about Hotel Lapad.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The number 6 bus stops right outside the hotel so it's easy to get into the Old Town. The pool is nice, could maybe do with more sun-loungers though. The bar is lovely, overlooking the pool, and its bar-food is nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamstervision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at this beautiful hotel. The hotel is very happily situated on the marina, where you can see all of the big cruise ships coming in for the day, and has very good transport links into Dubrovnik Old Town. We were in a superior room, which was very comfortable, with a FANTASTIC shower (which my husband very much enjoyed using) and plenty of space. Breakfast was adequate, with a number of different options (from cooked breakfasts to fruit, yoghurt and cereal) - i personally thought that the yoghurty porridge was the best! The pool bar serves a wide selection of very reasonably priced beverages (try the iced coffee!!) and we also enjoyed a meal at the hotel's pool resturant one evening, where we were impressed by very prompt and friendly service. All in all - the hotel is beautiful, perfectly situated being only a short bus ride to the Old Town and has very helpful staff.

However, our one main problem with this hotel was the lack of sun-beds. On the first morning we came down from our room to the pool - at about 10am - and all of the sunbeds had been taken. People had obviously come down early, before breakfast, put their towls and items on the sunbeds and then went off to breakfast or back up to their rooms - some of which not coming back down to use their sunbed until as late as 12noon! This happened on every day of our holiday, and meant that we could never be certain that we could have a relaxing day at the pool - as we could never be certain that we would get a sun-bed at all! There were multiple other people in our position also.

Therefore, this hotel is perfect for people who want a base just outside the hustle and bustle of Dubrovnik Old Town - yet within easy reach. However, I would not recommend it to someone who wanted a relaxing pool holiday and to come back home with a good tan - as you could never be sure (at any time) whether you would be able to get a sunbed. It really is a shame, as the hotel is truely beautiful - with fantastic facilities.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are incredibly spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goli22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this lovely hotel.The hotel is really chic and modern,and the cleanliness was excellent.We found the staff really friendly and helpful.
We stayed BB but had the buffet meal during our stay which we found really good and excellent value for money.
The view from the hotel is pretty and although on a main road we found our room was really quiet.
The only negative we found was the lack of sunbeds and the size of the sunbathing area-though it may be beautful it's just not big enough.
This was out first visit to Croatia,we picked this hotel thinking it would'nt be too far to walk into Dubrovnik old town but due to the hilly area and the heat we used the buses or taxis which were very reasonable.
Definately would return both to Croatia and this lovely hotel!!

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audreyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
792 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
924 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kazbek
Hotel Kazbek
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £78 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing