We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly hotel ....”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel was fantastic. Although the bedrooms are not enormous, they are very clean with all essential items provided to make your stay very comfortable indeed ie: TV (if you want one), hair dryer, etc. The staff are extremely helpful and polite. We were only on bed and breakfast, but the breakfast provided had everything you could possibly wish for, there wasn't anything the hotel had not thought of that wasn't on offer to you.

If there was anything to complain about I would have say it is the pool area. When we were there I don't think the hotel was at full capacity or the weather was perfect every day and the pool area was overcrowded with people (although, there was a sign saying not to) trying to save sunbeds.

The location was excellent sitting alongside the harbour front with the bus stop to the Old Town of Dubrovnik in front of the hotel. The Old Town is lovely to visit, but very crowded on days the liners come in, with some lovely restaurants.

The beach is approxmately 25-30 minutes walk from the hotel, which is a very pleasant walk once you leave the main road and start to go down the promenade. The beach is situated at the end of promenade. There are restaurants lining the promenade, but they are mainly Italian/pizza type restaurants.

We found Dubrovnik an extremely lovely place to visit; the people are friendly, it's very clean and most of all you feel safe there. We would certainly recommend visiting both Dubrovnik and the Hotel Lapad.

O

Room Tip: If you find walking or are elderly, you may want to request a room near to the main lift as some of...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,231)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lapad
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,413 - 1,419 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

6 of us stayed here for a week, including a wedding at the weekend. We definitely preferred being out of the Old Town. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly throughout our stay. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived so we had lunch in the pool bar, very nice. The rooms were fine, the glass panels were not an issue for any of us, 2 rooms were both couples and the other 2 of us were in single rooms.
I won't go on too much about the sun beds, but it was a shame there weren't more of them, or that the garden space couldn't be utilised by guests. Other than sun beds you had to sit at the pool bar which was almost completely in shade all of the time.
We all purchased the Dubrovnik card which saved us a lot of money on bus fares and entry fees to attractions (although it didn't cover the cable car).
We used the bus most days, it is better to get on outside the hotel because it is packed by the top of the road and impossible to get off then until the Old Town.
The hotel buffet breakfast and evening meal were nice, a good selection of food, not all brilliant but that is the good thing about buffets, just try a little to see if you like ti!
I have a nut allergy and had advised the hotel of this in advance by email, on our first night when we all arrived for dinner, Kiko the Maitre'd, asked which one of us had an allergy and advised me that savory would be OK but to see him about desserts, that was all fine. I was so pleased that they had taken note of this and that it wasn't an issue at all. Waiting staff were very attentive but unobtrusive, apart form 1 night which was exceptionally busy and it was very obvious that they just needed the space, but even so we didn't feel rushed out.
Reception staff were great, answering questions, giving us info and even getting superglue for a false nail before a wedding ! Leia, was particularly friendly and helpful.
Tips: get into the old town very early or evening, midday is horrendous with cruise ship visitors. If you're going to do the City Walls walk, definitely get there for when they open because it gets so hot and there is very little shade up there. The day we went it was very hot, and roasting by the time we came down. We struggled to get out of the town that day because of the crowds, and discovered back at the hotel that there were 6 cruise ships in that day so potentially an extra 18.000 people in the old town. You must go on the Cable Car, well worth it. We went up just before sunset, so we saw the views in daylight, had a drink at the top in the lovely terraced restaurant and then came down in the dark and enjoyed fabulous views of the city lit up.
The stroll up to the promenade and beach from the hotel is worth it, as is the Peninsula walk, although we didn't do the whole walk.
The temperature in June was much higher than the average, we were up to 38 degrees at some points, so like a previous review, we spent some afternoons in our rooms with the air con and a pack of playing cards because we couldn't get near the pool and it was just too hot to walk to the beach. The A/C was not icey, and you couldn't change it yourself, but it adjusted according to the outside temp we were told. it stayed at about 23 in the room, but a little cooler if you shut the glass door between bedroom and bathroom. 23 sounds high, but compared to the outside temp, it was very cool.
There are loads of excursions available, do a bit of research for prices and what's included. We did one through our Holiday Rep called A Taste of Dalmatia, which was well worth it. We also had a boat trip to Lokrum Island, this was part of the wedding we attended, but Lokrum is definitely worth visiting.
We will certainly return to Croatia, and very likely to stay at Lapad again.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms high up that require a couple of lift rides. We were on floors 5 and 6, you can wal...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank artgeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Charming hotel with excellent service from the knowledgeable and so helpful staff. From the superlative Lea at check in to the tall chef who boiled eggs for us each day, the staff couldn't be more helpful. The buffet breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the modern rooms were nicely refurbished if a bit on the small side. The small balcony was a huge bonus. We chose this hotel based on value for money and location overlooking the new harbour. We were not disappointed. A new cruise liner appeared each morning and the views of tall sailing ships and yachts was delightful. We didn't use the pool but it was very busy each day and you had to get up early to secure a bed. The location is quiet but accessible for the old town and some lovely local restaurants. it was hard to leave and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a sea view and you will get a side view which is great. The only front facing rooms are in t...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveller707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

True to the positive comments of trip advisor the hotel is perfect. Set next to the picturesque harbour. There are 2 lovely restaurants next to the hotel. 1 with roof top views - I personally recommend the mussels and squid. There is also a nice bar that looks also out onto the harbour. The old town is a pleasant 30 mins walk with some stunning views. We totally recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieH535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

What a place. Had hoped for a great hotel after the amount of research I'd done (via this site) and was not disappointed!

Travelled with my friend, and had been to Dubrovnik before and knew location was great for beach access, Elpahite Islands trip and a break from the Old Town. So easy to get about (though be prepared to get friendly on the busy buses sometimes) and taxis only c.60 kuna one way.

Rooms were spacious (we stayed in a standard room with a sea view) though I would just note the following for reference:

- sea view was on left of balcony when you went out there, so don't expect to see sea from bed
- air con was impossible to change, luckily was set at a decent ambient temp, and also good that it turned off when door as open
- 'magic' door that screens off bathroom was not an issue, but if you are travelling with a mate, it means they need to stay in the bedroom until you're clothed:)
- layout of the hotel requires a bit of a mission to the 8th floor, including three lift journeys. Not anyone's adult, but do let them know if you have issues with travelling that distance by foot

Really excellent though, and these are minor points. Can't recommend highly enough, and also an excellent breakfast.

Staff were knowledgeable and friendly- especially Lena(?) on Reception.

Amazing trip, can't wait to go back.

Oh, and take the cable car to the top and eat there one night, it is worth it!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank jaxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had three comfortable nights in this attractive hotel. It is clean, fresh and comfortable, an elegant building in a pleasant harbourside location with just a short walk and a frequent ten-minute bus ride into the Old City. (You can buy a pass at the hotel for buses and museums). The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the breakfasts good.
The problem: the weather was too hot to do much before late afternoon, and there weren't enough sun-beds to go round. Despite the hotel's efforts to police them they were bagged early on. Also, they were just in the pool area, which is surrounded by stone buildings and so was like an oven. We ended up sitting in our room. Yet there was a large garden-type area, with tree shade, which was closed off. It would have been great to sit in there.
I raised this on leaving and the receptionist totally agreed and said a lot more sun-beds were on order. If they can sort that out, then this hotel would get five stars from me on everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Z2513NMjohnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear broughton5,

We are pleased to hear about your comfortable nights in our elegant hotel in a pleasant harbourside location with helpful staff who do their best to offer the best hospitality and service.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory as you expected.
Lots of our clients are bothered by lack of sunbeds but as it has already been mentioned, 60 is the maximum number we can offer because of the pool size.
Hotel Lapad that boasts with its 19th-century wing is a city hotel not a resort
The Hotel Lapad Management takes very seriously any of ours guests’ feedback, as it would help us improve our service and quality. 
We are happy that you still felt comfortable with us and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Katica

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

An enjoyable holiday in a very clean and modern hotel with mainly pleasant staff.

Summing up:

Average age of guests 45 - 55 years
Average % Brits around 80%
No language problems.
Check-in: Don't arrive too early as it seems that all the rooms suddenly become available at 1400.
Front of house, bar staff and room maid very cheery and helpfull.
Breakfast excellent, with endless choices.
Dinner OK but a little sameish. Beef consume was a starter every day we were there!(along with another random soup)
Location good, nice views but not really walkable to the old town in 35 degrees. Old town very nice but very busy. Top tip: Check out when there are no cruise ships opposite the hotel and go then, either early morning or late afternoon. A couple of these ships can hold 4-5000 tourists and they're all heading to one place, the old town.
Pool area: The hotel has been extended and the pool has remained the same size, which is smaller than it looks on the photo's. The hotel has 160(ish) rooms so 300+ guests at peak times. There are approx 60 sunbeds. As others have mentioned, why not get another 40 or 50 and use the area to the side of the pool area. The hotel gets extra revenue through lunches and drinks purchased by people staying in the hotel grounds too!
Beaches: (I don't mark a hotel down on this point as it's out of their control). They use the term very losely, basically gravel that is very uncomfortable to even walk on. They are small and jam-packed, drinks are expensive and a couple of beds and a parasol will set you back £10 a day! The wonderfully misleading Copacabana beach is a 30 minute hike and very small. So if you're after a beach holiday look elsewhere.

I would recommend this hotel but probably for a 5-7 day break and not for sun worshipers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
974 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#29 of 68 in Dubrovnik
834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £76 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing