We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location, good food and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location, good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned from a seven day family holiday at this beautiful hotel - staying half board. I had reservations about buffet evening meals, but these were very varied with a different wide selection every night and I can't recall any repeat dishes. The hotel room was lovely - paying the extra for a garden balcony was a good decision as these are the biggest balconys with two seats and a table. The bath had two different showers over it! There was a lot of competition for poolside sunbeds but we didn't use these or the hotel pool - why waste your time frying yourself with such a beautiful city and the clear blue sea to swim in - both so near by? All the staff were all exceptionally helpful and friendly (from the Reception to the bar staff and from the restaurant staff to the cleaners) - I do not understand any TripAdvisor posts to the contrary. Cavtat was an excellent day out (30 mins no.10 public bus ride costing 20 Kuna or £2.20). The no. 6 bus is excellent for getting around, but beware it gets very busy and you do not always get on. Bus tickets are chepest bought in advance and consider a Dubrovnik discount card.The City walls, the old town, the cable car and the 3 - island full day excursions (particularly on one of the two galleons) are all musts for your stay. You can swim anywhere so always think about taking a swimming costume and towel on your walks and don't enter the petty competition for the hotel pool sunbeds. Dubrovnik a great holiday resort and Lapad a wonderful hotel base. Thanks to all the staff for such a great week.

Room Tip: Think about paying more to get the bigger and the best baconys and remember these will not necessari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David_B-Billericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    813
    180
    40
    14
See reviews for
247
1,342
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed for five nights and enjoyed the clean, quiet and modern room. Felt like a boutique hotel. However, the two twin beds were pretty small (average European size) and a bit hard. The room was a decent size as was the bathroom. We did not have a balcony or a view from our room. Wifi was free but only really strong near the bathroom.
Staff were generally friendly and helpful and booked a couple tours for us. We bought bus tickets from them to get to the Old City - finding the bus stop was a bit of a hassle.
Walking to the Lapad beach takes about 15 minutes and there are lots of restaurants near there. We thought the free breakfast buffet was decent with lots of selection. Dinner in the hotel restaurant wasn't the best meal we had but we ate there one night because we didnt' want to walk to the Lapad restaurants.
We never bothered with the pool - easier and more interesting to walk down to the beach.
Expect a 250-300 Kn taxi to the airport. Or take the Airport Shuttle bus from the airport to the Old City for 35 Kn and then a taxi from the Old City to the hotel for 60 Kn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCguy20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Dubrovnik is indeed expensive in terms of hotels. Fortunately there is still Hotel Lapad! The fronk desk staff is great, especially Mario, who could not be more helpful and friendly. The room is reasonable size with a nice bathroom. There is a balcony too so we could sit outside and enjoy very romantic sea view. Breakfast is also very good with plenty of hot and cold options. Lots of fresh fruits too. There is also a pool in the hotel but quite small and usually packed with people. Bus stop is about 5 min walk from hotel. It only takes about 10 mins by bus to go to the old town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I (with 2 friends) have just spent a week in this well located hotel in Dubrovnik. Excellent and very friendly service, very good food (although only had breakfast as we like to try different restaurants at night). Rooms very comfortable and clean and public areas the same. Reception, bar and restaurant staff all very friendly, efficient and helpful. Swimming pool excellent although it could do with some more sunbeds/space for sitting out. My only criticism is that the full length mirror in our room (Room 15) seemed to have come from the fairground and made you look twice your width and half your height!!!
Best restaurant in the area by far was Mozart - turn right when leaving the hotel and it's about 50 yards away. Fantastic food and exceptional service - nothing too much trouble. Owned by the chef and his wife who does front of house.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJFJDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Lapd for 7 nights on a B&B basis (July 12). A quite wonderful Hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We were in Room 35 which had fabulous views over the water though we stayed at the front of the Hotel in the old building so i cannot coment on the accomodation in the new part of the Hotel but our accomodation was first class, spotlessly clean and the bathrooms were a joy. Breakfast is fabulous with a huge range of choice to suit everyone and it is constantly being refreshed. The Pool area is small and sunbeds can be hard to come by if your not up at 8am to claim one though by 4.30pm they start to come free again. There is an area beside the Pool that they could easily use for additional sun bed space, i believe this is used for functions (None were on during our week there) but i find it strange that when there are no functions on why this lovely shady area isnt used?. The area around the Hotel is lovely, its a 5 min walk (take the short cut up the lane) to the shops and then over the Hill and down to the beach. You must do lunch at the Yacht Club (400ms away when you exit left from the Hotel) and do dine in Mozarts (100m away on the right) also do lunch in the Hotel as the bar food is great though watch the Club Sandwich as it easily feeds two adults. Go for the Grasevene Wine at 10Kunas a litre (circa £9), great wine with a low alcohol content so perfect for a long lazy lunch sitting by pool watching the boats go buy as the Hotel is leterally on the waters edge. The best recomendation i can give is, would i go back, 100% yes i would and i will.
Innes from Glasgow

Room Tip: Stay at the front of the Hotel and ask for a sea view room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank InnesDMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel was fantastic. Although the bedrooms are not enormous, they are very clean with all essential items provided to make your stay very comfortable indeed ie: TV (if you want one), hair dryer, etc. The staff are extremely helpful and polite. We were only on bed and breakfast, but the breakfast provided had everything you could possibly wish for, there wasn't anything the hotel had not thought of that wasn't on offer to you.

If there was anything to complain about I would have say it is the pool area. When we were there I don't think the hotel was at full capacity or the weather was perfect every day and the pool area was overcrowded with people (although, there was a sign saying not to) trying to save sunbeds.

The location was excellent sitting alongside the harbour front with the bus stop to the Old Town of Dubrovnik in front of the hotel. The Old Town is lovely to visit, but very crowded on days the liners come in, with some lovely restaurants.

The beach is approxmately 25-30 minutes walk from the hotel, which is a very pleasant walk once you leave the main road and start to go down the promenade. The beach is situated at the end of promenade. There are restaurants lining the promenade, but they are mainly Italian/pizza type restaurants.

We found Dubrovnik an extremely lovely place to visit; the people are friendly, it's very clean and most of all you feel safe there. We would certainly recommend visiting both Dubrovnik and the Hotel Lapad.

O

Room Tip: If you find walking or are elderly, you may want to request a room near to the main lift as some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

6 of us stayed here for a week, including a wedding at the weekend. We definitely preferred being out of the Old Town. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly throughout our stay. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived so we had lunch in the pool bar, very nice. The rooms were fine, the glass panels were not an issue for any of us, 2 rooms were both couples and the other 2 of us were in single rooms.
I won't go on too much about the sun beds, but it was a shame there weren't more of them, or that the garden space couldn't be utilised by guests. Other than sun beds you had to sit at the pool bar which was almost completely in shade all of the time.
We all purchased the Dubrovnik card which saved us a lot of money on bus fares and entry fees to attractions (although it didn't cover the cable car).
We used the bus most days, it is better to get on outside the hotel because it is packed by the top of the road and impossible to get off then until the Old Town.
The hotel buffet breakfast and evening meal were nice, a good selection of food, not all brilliant but that is the good thing about buffets, just try a little to see if you like ti!
I have a nut allergy and had advised the hotel of this in advance by email, on our first night when we all arrived for dinner, Kiko the Maitre'd, asked which one of us had an allergy and advised me that savory would be OK but to see him about desserts, that was all fine. I was so pleased that they had taken note of this and that it wasn't an issue at all. Waiting staff were very attentive but unobtrusive, apart form 1 night which was exceptionally busy and it was very obvious that they just needed the space, but even so we didn't feel rushed out.
Reception staff were great, answering questions, giving us info and even getting superglue for a false nail before a wedding ! Leia, was particularly friendly and helpful.
Tips: get into the old town very early or evening, midday is horrendous with cruise ship visitors. If you're going to do the City Walls walk, definitely get there for when they open because it gets so hot and there is very little shade up there. The day we went it was very hot, and roasting by the time we came down. We struggled to get out of the town that day because of the crowds, and discovered back at the hotel that there were 6 cruise ships in that day so potentially an extra 18.000 people in the old town. You must go on the Cable Car, well worth it. We went up just before sunset, so we saw the views in daylight, had a drink at the top in the lovely terraced restaurant and then came down in the dark and enjoyed fabulous views of the city lit up.
The stroll up to the promenade and beach from the hotel is worth it, as is the Peninsula walk, although we didn't do the whole walk.
The temperature in June was much higher than the average, we were up to 38 degrees at some points, so like a previous review, we spent some afternoons in our rooms with the air con and a pack of playing cards because we couldn't get near the pool and it was just too hot to walk to the beach. The A/C was not icey, and you couldn't change it yourself, but it adjusted according to the outside temp we were told. it stayed at about 23 in the room, but a little cooler if you shut the glass door between bedroom and bathroom. 23 sounds high, but compared to the outside temp, it was very cool.
There are loads of excursions available, do a bit of research for prices and what's included. We did one through our Holiday Rep called A Taste of Dalmatia, which was well worth it. We also had a boat trip to Lokrum Island, this was part of the wedding we attended, but Lokrum is definitely worth visiting.
We will certainly return to Croatia, and very likely to stay at Lapad again.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms high up that require a couple of lift rides. We were on floors 5 and 6, you can wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artgeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,966 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
649 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing