We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful time”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We spent a week at Hotel Lapad. After visiting the stifling old town (bus stop outside the hotel) it was wonderful to get back to the hotel facing Gruz harbour where a lovely breeze blows. The pool is great, the "sunlounger gate" has been solved by putting loungers in the hotel garden with access to the pool through an archway. We never had a problem getting a lounger.Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the air cond very much appreciated. Our balcony was a bit small but we spent most of our time outside anyway. Our room was very quiet, no noise from the road or the neighbours. The staff is very helpful. Special thank you to the bar staff, I used a walking stick and had a swollen ankle, they provided me with ice chips in a sealed bag at the end of the day, very much appreciated. The food is plentiful and delicious both at breakfast and dinner. So much choice , impossible not to find something you like. We had drinks and olives at Orsan the fish restaurant down the road, very reasonable prices and lovely location alongside the water with view of the marina. We very much enjoyed a night out in town watching the Lindo folkloric dancers and singers. In all Dubrovnik is beautiful but if you don't like crowds avoid the middle of the day, the cruise ships empty and the walls and street fill up very quickly. Would recommend Dubrovnik and hotel Lapad wholeheartidely.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank macarons2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear cucksond,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay.
I appreciate your positive comments about helpful staff,, great pool, comfortable and quiet room. I will be happy to share your comments with the entire team, especially with the bar staff
that provided you with ice chips at the end of the day.

I am delighted you enjoyed your overall vacation in Dubrovnik and I hope you will visit us again.

With kind regards,

Katica

Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    801
    168
    38
    13
See reviews for
240
1,309
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Having read previous reviews about the hotel, my one reservation was about the pool and the sunbeds, however I can honestly say we didn't struggle to get beds on any day of the 2 weeks we were here. People did not come down and put towels down at 7am, indeed the beds didn't get put out until 7.45am!

We had booked a room with a side seaview and balcony. I would recommend you don't bother though. It cost us an extra £10 per night andf the balcony was far too small for the 2 of us to sit there comfortably, although the view was fine. Some people we met didn't book the seaview and were given it anyway. The room was plenty big enough for us as a couple and the bathroom was beautifully done out with a fantastic shower. Maid service was daily and everywhere was immaculate. The beds were really comfortable and we both slept like logs, not always the case with us abroad.

I can't understand why people would complain about the food. The breakfast was unbelievably comprehensive, fruit, croissants, fresh pancakes, french toast, sausages, bacon, eggs, cheese cold meat, scrambled egg, omelettes, fried eggs, boiled eggs, fruit juices, pastries, cereals, yoghurt, etc etc. All was buffet style and as soon as the dishes were nearly empty they were refilled. We went half board and didn't need to eat at lunchtime and I'm a big bloke with a big appetite! The evening meal was again comprehensive, without going in to too much detail it was again buffet style with a choice of 2 soups (always including beef consomme for some reason), loads of salads and at least 8 main courses. If you wanted all 8 main courses you could have them and go back for more! The sweets, well I didn't bother with them as I was always full!

The bus for the Old town stops right outside the hotel and then goes out of town before it comes back, but this way you are more or less guaranteed a seat. It's cheap and you get your tickets from reception. It's easy to walk to the beaches but the old town would be a bit of a traipse in the heat. The hotel is set in a fantastic position opposite Gruz harbour so you can see the big cruise ships coming in and docking. I agree with however said not to go into the old town when they are in, and I downloaded a list of their arrivals from www.croatiatraveller.com before I went and didn't have a problem at all.

The staff were great, all friendly and helpful especially at reception.

I would gladly return to the hotel again and happily recommend it on all counts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGoHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We spent 2 nights here as a treat at the end of our holiday. Bit of a walk to the old town up and down hills but there is a public bus service. Bus can also take you to Lapad bay for the beach.Excellent breakfast included buffet style with loads of choice and unlimited servings. Room was clean and spacious, we had a balcony with a harbour view. Large pool area with loungers, not cheap to buy snacks/drinks at bar but then this is 4 star Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Amy D,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your stay at the Hotel Lapad.
We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit and we do hope that you will return to visit again.

Warm regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here for a week in June. The location of the hotel is great, bus goes from outside the door to the old town. Staff are so helpful, made our holiday so easy by booking everything we wanted from hire car (which was dropped to hotel to us) to day trips to segway tour. Room was lovely, balcony very small so two cannot sit on it which is a pity so not worth paying extra for. Pool is small so prob would not recommend if you are looking for a pool/beach hol but for sightseeing and the occasional day by the pool this hotel is fab. Breakfast selection is great and bar food is lovely. Some lovely restaurants nearby, in particular the second one on the right when you turn right as you leave the hotel (can't remember the name) which was amazing....our only disappointment was we didn't try it until our last night. I would definitely return to this hotel if in Dubrovnik again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollypops12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in comfortable and modern room as well as the food that you found excellent.

We hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had 5 nights here on the way to Korcula Island. It is located opposite Gruz Harbour which suited our plans to catch a ferry. The hotel goes up the hill and has a sandstone facade and a brilliant swimming pool area with a shaded bar. Be early though if you want a pool lounger as they fill up fast from 8am in summer. The rooms were good, modern, big enough, some with balconies and some with outside sitting areas with a limited view of the sea and harbour. Breakfast was very good and the coffee excellent. Hotel staff were quietly helpful and the bar staff seemed to really enjoy their work. Well done Hotel Lapad! Location was good, eat at the yacht club up the road or one of the nearby konobas and catch Bus number 6 from the road out front into the Old City.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel have an outside areas for sitting and having a drink, snack whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank druzzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to hear you had excellent stay at our hotel and that we could accommodate your needs as you visited Dubrovnik.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Dubrovnik is a must on any visitors list. The Lapad Hotel borders on luxury in the resort of Lapad located outside the old city. The rooms are modern and comfortable, Air.Con a must as the heat outside can touch 37+ degrees with the humidity and you do feel sapped! We stayed half board and the food was excellent, every choice catered for. Swimming Pool is small and best used first thing if you can. No kids screaming in this Hotel, mostly suited to smart couples relaxing in the croatian sun. Local buses stop outside Hotel for Dubrovnik town just 14 minutes away. Lapad has a small beach and variety of bars and restaurants which are chic and cool. Great hotel.

Room Tip: Newer part of Hotel at rear, rooms are cool and modern in style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Paul W,

Thank you for your great feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in comfortable and modern room as well as the food that you found excellent.
We hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

1. This hotel has a lot of package tourists from UK
2. Is small, clean and recently refurbished to a good standard
3. Rooms are clean and well appointed , but bathrooms are small
4. Great location by the harbour which had a bus or 70 Kunar taxi to town
5. Old Town is 40 min brisk walk ( uphill!)
6. Staff are efficient and generally friendly
7. Pool has 60 loungers ( first come, first served) but not enough if the weather is good
8. Food is what you would expect from a package holiday hotel, big portions, but fairly bland
9. Drinks at the bars are good value
10. Reasonable restaurants within walking distance, Otto Taverna for bistro like food, Orsan YC for seafood, Buona for pasta or Blindje for a lunchtime pizza.

Overall a decent hotel for familes or people looking for a quiet stay away from the tourist hoards of the old town. Good value for money and a decent 4 star, but a huge way off a 5 star, but that is reflected in its price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
867 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,729 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing