We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but less for families”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed a couple of days in this hotel in July with my family. Nice rooms, nice swimming pool. Unfortunately no beach close by (while in Lapad you have several alternatives in that matter), while the swimming pool and seats blocked early in the morning, so less obvious for a family with kids. Breakfast of good quality, unfortunately no wi-fi in the rooms. Conclusion: OK for a couple, less attractive with kids.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,229)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lapad
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,362 - 1,368 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

Room size was abit small yet it has everything. Clean, and new. Refreshing design with a tiny balcony. But value is good for its partial city and sea view. Service is good and the staff speak English well. Would stay here again if we come.

3 different lifts to our room though. Abit of downside. But **** :)

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jervis_shen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

From the pictures and descriptions you'd imagine a fine Hotel, newly redone with all amenities.
However you'd be wrong to be taken in so easily. This hotel treats guests like they are furniture.

The location is terrible, & the hotel is no where near Dubrovnik's Old Town. The renovation was done with a skimpy hand, air conditioning is a joke, and their food was mediocre.

The Front Desk Manager was snide and unhelpful, with a technical excuse for every problem -- technically it was the guests' problem and not his to help solve!

Lot's of snippy and rude comments about whiny & needy Americans thrown in just to add insult to injury...
We left after two days of a five day booking. They were at least fair about not hassling us for the cancellation of the three days left unused.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere than this hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank psaincorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear psaincorp,

I am extremely sorry to hear that your stay at the Hotel Lapad was not satisfactory as you expected.
It is disappointing to read you consider us a fake 1st star hotel, that our service and food quality was not up to our usual high standard and that your overall impression was affected by the inconvenience you experienced regarding the air conditioning.

I must disagree with your observation that Hotel Lapad treats guests like they are furniture.
We aim to deliver exceptional levels of customer service. Our clients are very important to us, we appreciate their opinion in order to improve our service and provide them enjoyable and comfortable stay. Our greatest reward is the minimum number of remarks and many satisfied guests.

However, please accept my personal apologize for all the inconveniences occurred, hoping, in the next future to have another chance to give you a different impression staying again at the Hotel Lapad.

With my best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 9 nights until Sept 5 th. Stayed in a Double room in the old hotel.
Spacious, modern with a really comfy bed and a wardrobe with plenty of room to hang two suitcases of clothes!! Breathtaking view of the harbour and pool from the window!!
The bathroom was good but the shower was a bit tricky to fathom out and the glass door isn't needed.
The breakfasts were excellent; fresh fruit, salad, breads, hams and cheeses from Croatia and good old eggs, bacon, beans, sausages for the less adventerous. 6 kinds if cereals and 4 kinds of yoghurt too!! We never had dinner there but went to look and it looked good. We ate out in nearby restaurants, in the old town and in cavtat.
The local food is divine and various if you go to mid priced places. We ate in a cheaper pasta/ pizza place and the food was awful; bland, doughy pizza and over boiled noodles.
The staff were very friendly, especially the younger staff on reception and in the dining room. The reception staff told me I could buy bus tickets at the hotel and that the bus stop to the old city was a 5 minute walk and stopped outside on the way back.
The pool was cleaned daily and there were enough sun loungers around the pool and more in the garden area behind the pool. To get the best location around the pool I got up at 8 am and reserved by towels!!
Overall the hotel Lapad was a 5 star place at a 4 star price!! Would definitely staty there again!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nattoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We enjoyed a 4 night break in Aug. Lapad is set on a peninsula a short bus ride away from the old town. The hotel is lovely and clean throughout with a modern interior, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday. Staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. Ask the bar staff about the local drinks, there is a sweet traditional drink to open your appetite before a meal (can't remember its name!) Meals are delicious in Lapad and there is an wide choice at breaksfast including fresh dropped scones. I requested the ironing service, they said it could take up to 2 hours, it took 15mins! We never had a problem getting a sun lounger and staff would help as much as poosible to keep towels from booking loungers all day.
Dubrovnik is a welcoming city with lots to see and do. We took the cable car up the mountain where we watched the sunset - beautiful. There are lots of boat trips on offer, some leaving from lapad, hotel staff can help with booking. The old town is lovely, best when cruise ships have gone. We took the time to walk the walls, explore the side streets and the piers. Many of the cafe bars have live entertainment on the street in one evening we watched a jazz band, a rock duo and an opera singer with orchestra. The fresh fish is a must and is plentiful wherever you eat. It was always fine to get back to the peace of Lapad after being in the old town. Thanks to the local singers at Lapad who sang happy birthday to me!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muckleflugga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We loved the hotel since we got there. The building is magnificent, it has history yet it has been renewed.
The room was so confortable, and the view was the best we could ask for. We even stayed to have dinner by the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseGalvezMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review of Hotel Lapad
It is wonderful to see you had such an enjoyable visit and we are so happy we met your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Hotel Lapad and we had a wonderful time! All of the staff were friendly and helpful, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the breakfasts were absolutely stunning (in particular the fresh fruit was amazing and we loved the endless supply of fresh coffee) and the bedroom was clean, quiet and comfortable. We stayed in a superior room which had lovely shutters, looking out ono the harbour where all the cruise ships arrive, as well as a big bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Finally, the safe in our room was deposit free and easy to use. The location was great, in a peaceful area but within easy walking distance to restaurants, a supermarket and a bus which takes you into the old town (approx ten minutes journey). You can also walk into the old town, but it takes approx 45 mins. The hotel is right opposite the area where various boat trips to nearby islands leave from, which is very useful. The hotel has nice big lifts which are easy to use (maybe not a huge priority for many, but this was great to see as so many hotels have lifts which are too cramped ). There is also a nice swimming pool which is perfect for a quick dip at any time of the day. If you do want to sit around the pool all day then I would suggestthis hotel is not for you, but with the stunningly beautiful Adriatic sea only ten minutes walk away via Lapad beech this did not bother us! Overall, a wonderful time and a wonderful stay. Thank to all the amazing staff at the hotel Lapad!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#29 of 68 in Dubrovnik
834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £75 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing