We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife and I returned from Hotel Lapad yesterday where we celebrated our 1st wedding Anniversary.
Our holiday was amazing and the superior double room at the hotel met all our expectations.
The hotel is located in a nice peaceful area away from the centre of town, but within around 30mins walk to the centre of town. We really enjoyed the walk into town most evenings along the harbour and across the tops of the coast with some amazing views.
The hotel staff were very friendly and were always on hand to help if needed. The hotel swimming pool was lovely and you even have a nice view whilst dipping in the pool of the harbor and the hilltops.
The breakfast was good with a nice variety and served up until 10:30am which meant we could enjoy some well needed rest after some tiring days and still make it down for breakfast.
Croatia is a fantastic holiday destination with very friendly people and Dubrovnik itself was a real treat. There is a great buzz around the town and plenty of nice places to stop to eat and have a beer whilst soaking up the atmosphere.
We did the city walls which gave some great views and also went up the cable car.
One added bonus was the Lapad beach which was only about 10mins walk from the hotel and this was a lovely small beach with clear blue sea.
We also found that there was a lovely walk from the hotel that led you around to several beaches along some footpaths with amaizing views and I would highly recommend this walk. Follow the sign posts after turning left out of the hotel and bear right around the harbour and this should put you on the right path.
The week we had at hotael Lapad was perfect for us, and we would love to return again sometime. We would struglgle to top this holiday, and we were very sad to leave!
Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making it so enjoyable.

Paul and Louise

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenko1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    801
    169
    38
    13
See reviews for
240
1,310
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Pros: nice location walking distance to excellent pizza and fresh seafood (both excellent). Hotel food was also the best thus far on these adventures. Eggs are cooked perfectly, pancakes made to order as well as French toast. Fresh cheese and fruit complete the wonderful hot coffee and tea delivered to order to your table.

Cons: wi-fi connection in rooms is poor and very slow. But it's a vacation so we can deal with that. Rooms located in annex section were very small. Suitcases and people had to rearrange themselves constantly just to pass. Still? It's a vacation so how much time do you need in a hotel room??!! The biggest con was that A/C gives you the impression you have control over your room temperature, but don't bother. Room with an evening sun shining in was excessively warm and uncomfortable. And if two people took a shower in the room, the heat was stifling and we found the hallway cooler than the room. My ONLY hope is that the staff who reluctantly took my postcards (and money for stamps) did in fact mail my cards. If they did and they arrive, I will upgrade their rating.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building for ultimate comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hotel offers class and comfort and relatively close to the old town. Our room, overlooking the marina was spacious, modern and clean with a great shower although the large ensuite offered no privacy as the door is clear glass. Bed was firm and pillows the same...just as we like them. Staff were so friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. One of the big advantages of this hotel (set in a former mansion), is its closeness to the heart of the city. A local bus from the city ($2) passes the front door and it's a 10 min walk to pick up the inwards bus (it does a one way loop) .(Tickets from reception). Many of the hotels and resorts in Dubrovnik are set many kms away and you need to rely on a shuttle bus or taxi. There are some shops and restaurants nearby although we ate most meals in the hotel dining room as they had some special deals .Quiet, calm and perfect.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking marina have little balconies and face east
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank independent50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the end of April. The hotel is right on the sea front which is perfect for island trips etc. Dubrovnik is @40 mins walk into the old town but the number 6 bus runs continually (or so it seemed) to the old town and back. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Has a pool which I could imagine would be a necessity in the summer months. The staff were helpful and efficient. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable with small balconies overlooking the garden. we ate out in the evenings so cannot comment on the food. Would thoroughly recommend as a base for staying in Dubrovnik as it felt like a two centre holiday and was a break from the o.ld town which could be claustrophobic

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed in this Hotel from the 19th of April to the 25 of April and i can honestly say that it is one of the best hotel i have stayed in ever .
the accomodation is 5 star the food is excellent ,and the staff at reception, in the restaurant and any where in the hotel were extremely friendly very courteus ,helpfull and did their job in a very efficient mannner,
the rooms were very comfortable clean and the bathrooms were the same .
breakfast was of the highest degree ,so was the dinner etc
i would certainly reccomend this Hotel to anyone and i will certainly return to it in the future
Thank you

Room Tip: Choose a corner suite if at all possible the are generally bigger and they have a larger balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joegerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear joegerald,

First of all I would like to thank you for this fantastic review of your recent stay.
It's a pleasure to read you consider Hotel Lapad one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in.
Positive feedback like yours is a great motivation for our team, ensuring that we consistently provide excellent service to our guests.
I also highly appreciate you would recommend this hotel and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Armagh, N Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My wife and I, from Ireland, stayed in this hotel for four nights in April, 2013, and couldn't speak highly enough of it. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff who were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. I had pre-booked a day trip on which we were to be picked up at 7.00am from the hotel but realised the night before that I had forgotten to bring the voucher needed to present to the tour guide. I went to Reception at 6.00am to see if I could go through my emails and print off the voucher. The receptionist dealt with my request very pleasantly and speedily and there was no charge for the service. A bus leaves from directly in front of the hotel to the Old Town. The hotel itself is beautiful, spotlessly clean, bright with a wonderful staircase. We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone and we will certainly be returning ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Adventurer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay in our Hotel Lapad.
We are delighted to read about beautiful, spotlessly clean, bright hotel with a wonderful staircase and extremely friendly, helpful and efficient staff.
Our staff tries to meet the needs of our guests and we are pleased to hear that they arranged a nice holiday for you during your visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is a lovely, boutique-feel hotel in a restored old building. The lobby is all marble and the rooms (we stayed in an executive room) very spacious. The bathrooms are recently refurbished and very smart with new fittings (although the shower cubicle is a little small - a very minor point). Note that the bathroom/toilet and shower have glass doors facing the room, so you need to be comfortable with your room mate :-) We stayed here for a special birthday occasion, which we did not tell the hotel about, but they produced a nice surprise anyway after figuring out the birthday date from passports at checkin. The staff were all really lovely and very helpful with suggestions and advice. It's about a half hour walk from old town, past cliffs with great views, but the it's right on Lapad marina which is a lovely location in itself. Recommended :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happy_riad_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear happy-riad-fan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review on Tripadvisor.

I highly appreciate your very positive feedback regarding our lovely, boutique-feel hotel and lovely and very helpful staff.
t truly was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your recommendation and I am looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
867 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,915 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,730 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing