We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Poppleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent - great hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel in early May and had a most enjoyable stay. From the time of arriving to departing one can only say the staff were brilliant. From the reception desk (Katica especially) to the cleaners everyone was most friendly and efficient. We were happy with the wide range and quality of food choices and the flexibility of times to eat. Location was lovely and we would definitely like to return. Not too keen on smoking on the terrace bar and around the pool which seemed to contravene the " no smoking in public areas" policy but could live with that given the other positives.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Mikestravel,


Many thanks for your lovely review of your recent stay at the Hotel Lapad.

We appreciate you have taken the time to let us know about your stay.
I have passed your kind comments to the entire team, who are all very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. 

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future! 

Kind regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    776
    162
    37
    13
See reviews for
230
1,262
54
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

A lovely hotel in a good location but can they sort out problems? Our room was large, albeit a bit dingy, clean with a super looking bathroom (bath and modern shower). Unfortunately the tap water was cold and the phone didn't work when we tried to contact reception about it. When we did speak to them, to their credit a man was sent up immediately. He let the water run for 15 minutes - still cold - and tampered with the telephone connections all to no avail. He said the water would get hot when hotel usage reduced - it didn't for the whole week; and the telephone was never repaired. When I told reception the water was still cold, all I got was a smile. But it was a nice smaile! Luckily the shower must be on a separate system as it the water was hot and plentiful, and we survived happily on that. It didn't spoil our stay but you have to question the customer service, and maybe room 28 should be avoided. Apart from that, the food was good, bar/waiter service good, pool great - a true 4 star. The manager usually comments on these reviews, I await it with interest.

Room Tip: Rooms at the new extension at the rear seem to have balconies and a sea view - room 28 had neither.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear alanadjan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Hotel Lapad on Tripadvisor pages.

We are pleased to read about lovely 4 star hotel in a good location with a super looking bathroom but at the same time we are really sorry to hear about the inconvinience due to the cold tap water and never repaired telephone.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the experiences made during your stay in room 28 and I truly regret that we were not able to meet your expectations.

Thank you once again for your very valuable feedback. With this you give us the chance to constantly review our services and to better adjust them to our guests’ needs.

Allow me to assure you that I have already evaluated this matter with the respective department in order to avoid such re-occurrences in the future.
Our chief engineer has also looked into this matter in order to fix possible problems immediately.

I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Hotel Lapadin the near future.

Kind regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I chose this hotel based on trip advisor comments, and was delighted. Found a great deal via Monarch Airlines for 1 week half board.
Hotel gives a great first impression, a lovely building with old style charm from the outside and nicely contemporary on the inside. Lovely pool in sunny courtyard to relax by, as well as plenty of shady corners to relax in the next courtyard.
Highlight must be the staff who were friendly and helpful, making this feel like a family run hotel, and somewhere you can make yourself feel at home. Everyone seemed to take great care in their duty, and nothing was too much trouble.
Room was a little small, but nicely decorated and clean. Balcony, TV, Aircon, minibar, safe, really comfortable beds with good linen bedding. Tea making facilities were provided on request and replenished every morning. Bathroom well appointed, and the shower head gives a really good drenching.
The half board option was part of the Monarch deal and not something I would usually choose, but it was great. There was an enormous choice for both breakfast and dinner, and food was very good. Plenty of staff and managers on hand to ensure that plates were cleared quickly and buffet did not run short of supplies.
Location was perfect. Surrounded by beautiful villas with leafy gardens, it was less commercial than the other side of the peninsula where most of the hotels, bars and restaurants are based. A bus into the old town stops outside every 15 mins, and it's perhaps a 10 minute walk to the aforementioned bars and restaurants, although the Orsana Yacht club is only a 3 minute walk away and was brilliant.
Excellent value and highly recommended, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear FionaC,


First of all I would like to thank you for writing this great review.

It truly was a pleasure to read that you were so pleased during your stay with us and I also highly appreciate your very positive feedback on the friendly and helpful staff.
I read with great pleasure that our team members made you feel comfortable
Thank you once again for your kind words and I truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Hotel is lovely, rooms are nice. We stayed on the 8th floor which required 3 different elevators due to expansion. We figured out how to reduce this to one elevator with taking a couple of stairs. Breakfast was very good. We had comp buffet dinner because we stayed for 3 nights but the dinner buffet was awful. Location is good. On the harbour. 20 minute bus ride to the old town. Nice lobby bar. Good staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelledalotCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, but on the other hand we are disappointed to hear our buffet dinner didn't meet your expectations.

We would be pleased to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We have had an excellent week at the above hotel, it is very difficult to find fault in any part of the stay. We had a double bedroom at the front of the hotel which was very good - rooms in the newer part of the hotel tend to be much smaller and could be a little claustrophobic. Dinner was either a self selection type 150 kuna's or there was an Al a Carte menu which was very much to our requirement and not a lot more expensive.The staff all speak English and are extremely friendly and helpful, they fall over backwards to help without being in any way imposing. The hotel will arrange a taxi from the airport, 300 kuna charged to your bill but for some strange reason the trip back is payable to the taxi driver at 250kuna's. The bus to the old city stops right outside the hotel and costs 12k each way if bought from the hotel but on the bus it is 15k worth while using it as the walk up hill is some 3 kilometers.
A wonderful holiday but check the weather forecast every day and do not rely on what you see overhead - said with feeling - caught in a very heavy hail storm in the afternoon having had glorious weather earlier in the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambert058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This time last year we had a fabulous stay at the Hotel David in Florence. Really good accommodation, a brisk (30 mins) walk from the city centre and numerous sites of historical/cultural significance (oh yes, and a hill to climb up if you felt the unnatural urge for additional exercise).
So come on Hotel Lapad, what have you got to offer? Well quite a lot actually:-
Comfortable accommodation - nice quiet room with wifi.
Generally happy, amiable staff (particularly the Maitre & his best friend in the restaurant),
Solid food offering - walk past the fish at your peril!
A healthy 35 min walk (including gentle(!) incline) to the old town.
Fantastic waking tours (Old Town & City Walls 0 inc, 750 steps) & a whole lot of culture.
Closer to home a lovely scenic quiet walk around the Lapad/Babin Kuk peninsula taking you past some lovely beaches and a notable cave bar (Hotel More).
Our first experience of Croatia was very positive - the people are lovely - great example being our taxi driver on the return to the airport - "you, really don't need to tip me, have a great flight home" - "no, you're quite right, but we'd like to" and there is so much history, so many beautiful views and so much good food!
So what's the down side - tough one really - the only thing I can come up with is the cruise boats and their very special brand of expresso tourism "so, which country is this resort in?" they can make the old town a bit busy - the best remedy was offered by our walking tour guide who had a great mindset - "let's all enjoy our national sport of tourist slalom" - it wasn't that bad really.
Would we come back? Absolutely and to this hotel - Dubrovnik is now on our "must see again before too long" list.
.....and a post script - this is a very clean hotel - the lifts smell of lemon and barely a day went by without the corridors receiving a stern hoovering- the cleaners evidently enjoy their work - they were always smiling & laughing - sums the place up perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DavidandKatie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear DavidandKatie3,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review regarding our perfect hotel.
I am so pleased to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and that our amiable staff, services and facilities met your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Dubrovnik!

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

If you have not been to croatia before this is a good place to start. The hotel staff are very friendly and speak fluent english. The hotel is along the harbour and built a few hundred years ago I believe but has been modernised inside to a very good standard. Our room was at the back of the hotel with a balcony and small garden area really private if you did not want to spend time around the pool area. The food was excellent with a huge choice at breakfast time there was something for everyone including the fussiest of people. There was always plenty and they regularly topped up and this was the same for the evening meal. There was only one downside for us we are only tea drinkers and they seriously need to scource a better tea bag! Be aware of the buses they are easy to use but just like Italy the locals do not queue!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new extension are quieter with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
824 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,815 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing