We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxury..price does not match hotel!”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not luxury..price does not match hotel!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel Lapad disappointed on many levels. Hotel is beautiful from the outside, however, the high expectations for the price just didn't add up. Terrible hospitality tray compared to hotels of this price/standard (not even any English breakfast tea or biscuits?!)Poor selection of television channels. Lighting panel for rooms is a pain. Getting to any floor above the 3rd floor is a joke, lifts are situated in separate parts of the building. Balcony is NOT private but shared so don't think for a second you'll have privacy. Breakfast is possibly the worst I've had in all of Europe. One plus is that the breakfast staff were very friendly and put to shame the miserable reception staff - something very wrong with that in my mind. Held passports at reception for unreasonable amount of time. People who choose to return to Hotel Lapad can be summed by having more money than sense, who haven't stopped to ask themselves what they're actually getting for their money. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ1Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    801
    168
    38
    13
See reviews for
240
1,309
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nokia, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel is good. Good location, near the best restaurants etc.

The rooms were kept very tide and they were decorated beautifully. The basic room only had a little balcony, where was only room for standing. So you might want to upgrade your room in summertimes.

I was also disspointed with co-operation between reception and carservice. Someone forgot to pick us up from the airport and we had to wait 45 mins there. With the price I paid for the carpool, I should expect good service. We weren't even offered any discounts, which I'm use to in any other countries, if customer has to wait long.

Other times the receptionists were very polite and nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rikE_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear rikE-91,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay overall.
It's disappointing for us that you were let down by cooperation you had between reception and car service.
I will investigate the matter with my colleagues as we haven't been informed about the inconvenience so far. Otherwise we would do our best to sort it out during your stay.
We regret you had to wait 45 minutes at the airport and we truly apologize for the service.
Your feedback is important to us because our aim is to maintain high service standards with our guests.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for six nights recently and didn't want to leave. Very pretty from the outside, immaculate inside. Polite and very helpful staff; it felt like a real team. Great location with bus stop outside and metres away from peaceful Gruz harbour. We stayed in a superior room (37 - lovely position). We could not fault the room. Very quiet. Breakfast was fresh, well staffed and good variety on the buffet. Lovely bar and everything about the atmosphere was really relaxing and stress-free. Thank you to the Lapad. We could also recommend Otto Taverna, eight minutes walk - modern menu, relaxed vibe and great fish. Also, Sesame, two minutes walk up the hill from Pile Gate - quirky interior, classy, yet relaxed with excellent dishes and wine. High class cooking and lovely staff; meeting the passionate owner was a bonus! We did the Korcula and winery tour with Adriatic Tours - great value. Marvellous guide informed us of Dubrovnik's past and present. What a fantastic trip - thank you Dubrovnik!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in the old part of the building which had the harbour and pool view - per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adieDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear adieDorst,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review on TripAdvisor pages.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in the superior room, our great location and relaxing and stress-free atmosphere.
Your kind feedback regarding polite and very helpful staff will be passed on to the team members.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

With best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and efficient staff. Good quality room with free internet. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was good and plentiful- they even take the stones out of prunes!
(But how do you pick up a fried egg served on a flat tray with a deep serving spoon- I couldn't do it without breaking the yolk?) Great stay, thank you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Ray A,

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review about great stay in our wonderful hotel.

We would love to welcome you back again.

With best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Charming hotel, great value for location and comfort, however the rooms are a bit small. The bathroom wall is glass, which was awkward, modern design is aesthetically pleasing but not functional, entire bathroom floor got wet when taking a shower (no shower door or curtain). Free breakfast was fresh and delicious, good variety for buffet! Easy bus ride to old town Dubrovnik, and hotel staff was very helpful!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Christine P,

Thank you for choosing our charming hotel for your vacation.
We are really sorry that you were let down by modern design in the bathroom.
It's our pleasure to hear about fresh and delicious breakfast and very helpful staff.
We always strive to provide the guests with the best possible service and it makes us very happy that you recognized our efforts.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I stayed four nights B&B at the 4* star Hotel Lapad sutuated in Gruz Port, approximately 4 km from the Old Town in Dubrovnik.
The hotel is serviced regularly by the number 6 bus from the Old Town. Bus tickets are available at local newspaper stands in Dubrovnik called 'Tisak' (12 Kuna about €1.70) or on the bus you can pay the driver (15 Kuna about €2.10). Bus ticket is valid for 1 hour from first use so you can hop on and off different routes - good for seeing the city quickly.

Hotel Lapad is excellent. From first greeting of front of house staff at reception, through to housekeeping, restaurant, bar and catering staff. Staff are always helpful, professional and friendly. The hotel is spotlessly clean and maintained daily to a very high standard. Breakfast food was very high standard and tasty. Breakfast waiting staff regularly topping up your coffee cup ,(just remember to say 'Please and Thank You' something i witnessed many guests didn't say when being treated so well by the friendly breakfast staff). Altogether a very memorable 4 days in Hotel Lapad. You'll get 5*star Staff and Service at 4* star Hotel Lapad - just remember your manners!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 00Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear 00Alan,

Thank you very much on behalf the entire Hotel Lapad staff for taking the time to share your kind words about 5 star staff at 4 star hotel.
It makes us truly happy to hear that we have exceeded your expectations.
It has been our great pleasure assisting you and we do hope you will visit us again for another memorable stay.

With best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Spent the weekend at Hotel Lapad with my wife. We were very impressed at the beauty of the hotel, the comfortable room and very friendly and professional staff.The breakfast was first rate and the meals were delicious. The hotel is on the bus line that goes to the walled city, but we had a car. The hotel has a parking lot on the grounds...very convenient. The hotel is in a very quiet location. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear James B,

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience on TripAdvisor pages.
We are delighted you were very impressed with the beauty of the hotel, the comfortable room and very friendly and professional staff.
It's also wonderful to hear you enjoyed our first rate breakfast and delicious meals.
We can't wait to welcome you back to our great hotel.

With best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
867 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,728 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing