We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Croatian road trip. 1st Hotel.”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Croatian road trip. 1st Hotel.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

First day of our road trip. Staying at Hotel Lapad for 3 days. First impressions are excellent. Staff are very friendly and polite. I have a room with a balcony on the 8th floor which is very clean and modern with everything we need. The pool area is lovely and great to sit out in the evening at the bar next to it. The breakfast buffet is substantial if that's what you want. It's true that the journey to your room is a little complex ( 3 lifts over 8 floors) but I think it just adds to the quirky character of the place. Lots of local restaurants to eat at too. Went to Dubrovnik today which really is a pleasant 25-30 minute walk away, but the old town was packed with tourists from the 2 cruise shops that landed today. A walk around the city wall is a must (100 kuna each, about £21 in total). We got a taxi back which was great after all the walking but a little steep at 70 kuna or about £7, for a trip that is only just over a mile. I would definitely recommend Hotel Lapad. It hasn't disappointed!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pengwern22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    810
    180
    40
    14
See reviews for
247
1,338
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lapad is only a short bus trip- or interesting walk- from the town and overlooks the river.
The crowds (wow, what crowds!) from the cruise ships make visits to town a bit of a trial and it is great to get back to the peace and quiet of the Lapad. The pool is a god-send, the outdoor bar very nice to use.
The breakfasts are legendary (see all the previous comments!) and make a great start to the day.
The rooms were, quite frankly, a disappointment after you see the lovely limestone facade. We thought a 'river view' room meant a room at the front, not a distant glimpse if you hang off the balcony.
That said, they are nice and new, smallish but with everything you need. The designer tried too hard, and the wardrobe doors will lop off your fingers if you are not careful and the bed is too close to the desk unit and you keep bashing your shin on the wooden base! but these are really minor complaints.
Getting to your room is also weird- I'm sure they could have done it without you changing lifts if they had given it more design thought.
Staff are very very helpful and make up for the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Room on the seventh floor in the front block have better river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gra1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I pre-booked a one night stay for myself and my wife for our anniversary as a surprise. She was delighted as was I. Hotel Lapad, staff, room, restaurant, pool etc. left nothing to be desired. We loved it
It and intend to return for a longer stay later in the year.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

As others have said, pretty hotel in old building with modern facilities.Staff v helpful. Fab breakfast buffet. Lapad relaxing & you only see the cruisers across the harbour, unlike the crowded old town.Try Blinije to the right 50m for great food,service &view from the terrace.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janemcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Janemcgregor,

Thank you very much for your lovely positive review.
We hope to welcome you again in the future if you come back to Dubrovnik.

Best regards from Hotel Lapad,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Situated overlooking Cruz Harbour....with daily changes to visiting Cruise Liners....the Lapad was a great choice for a weeks half-board.The building is impressive and is fronted by a swimming pool with an ample supply of 'non-bookable' sun beds.There is also a sun bathing area with beds adjacent to the pool in a garden area. The staff,all uniformed,are very polite,helpful and knowledgeable...in fact as professional as we have come across in our travels. The room (503) had a small balcony with views over the terracotta roofs and the mountains in the near distance.Very well furnished....comfy bed, plenty of storage,flat screen T.V. (only one English channel),very clean and well serviced.Easily managed air con.,great choice of lighting arrangements,free safe, plenty of plug sockets and a mini-bar. The bathroom was compact, but with everything you could wish for,stategically cited, regular change of towels,abundance of hot water,great waterfall shower and numerous toiletries. The choice of food, both at breakfast and evening meal,was excellent.A superb variety of meats,fish,vegetables and fruit plus much much more.The only sllght minus is that in buffet style eating, food could be hotter. However overall food was very very good. Local wine was excellent and reasonably priced. The Croatian people are lovely, friendly, helpful and a pleasure to be amongst.The cost of living is much cheaper than in other European countries....eating out and drinking at lunchtimes offered multiple choices and was costwise very favourable. A truly enjoyable holiday at an extremely nice hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms will be fine....depends on having a balcony or not,being at the front of the hotel etc..Ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettyandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Rekations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is our great pleasure to read about your truly enjoyable holiday at an extremely nice hotel.
We appreciate you have taken the time to share your lovely positive comments with TripAdvisor travelers.
We would be delighted if you make a return visit in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for a week in late May. First impressions was very good, clean hotel and rooms,very welcoming staff. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, including fresh fruit. Evening meal was a big disappointment, choice seemed somewhat limited and repeated each evening, with a few minor changes. Maybe this was because it was early in the main season.Not acceptable, when we were paying the full rate.
Other than the pool there were no fitness or spa facilities at the hotel. When we asked about any nearby spa facilities the staff suggested using another hotel and paying their day rate to gain access !!
If this had been our first time with Thomson's then I would hesitate to book with them again. For a A la Carte hotel, it really did not live up to our expectations.

Room Tip: higher floors require multiple lift journeys. Limited sea view rooms not worth the additional cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owek20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for a week June 2014 at Hotel Lapad. We are full of praise for the hotel and its staff. We would love to stay here again and recommend it fully. Very friendly and effective staff, nice atmosphere and pool area, breakfast amazing, great rooms and a fabulous location overlooking the harbour.. We walked into town most of the time which took about 30 minutes. Harbour is lovely at the bay watching ships roll in and a short walk to nearby beach as well. Lovely hotel in a lovely country!

Room Tip: We were on level 4 nice balcony with morning sun overlooking harbour. Old part has pool view which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,960 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
647 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing