We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Room with a View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Room with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Recently visited Dubrovnik and stayed at Hotel Lapad on Lapad side of Dubrovnik. My room was amazing. It was not huge, but good size, clean and with a million dollar view. I was amazed by my cleaning person; I left a tip for her and she did not take it. I left more the next day and put it in an envelope for her stating it's for her. She left me a note and thanked me and signed it. I have never seen anything like that before! Croatia is a wonderful, clean country and the people seem quite honest! I would definitely stay at Hotel Lapad again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnamarieBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    774
    161
    36
    13
See reviews for
228
1,253
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with good amenities, then the Lapad is worth a look. We recently stayed there for two nights while visiting Dubrovnik and surrounding area. The public beach is a mere 10 minute walk away as are a number of very good restaurants. You can also catch a local bus in front of the hotel.
Breakfast was included with our package and the front office staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Man52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The weather wasnt very reliable but we really enjoyed our 5 nights here, loved the position by the harbour, we watched the cruise ships come and go.
Pool was nice, would only recomend halfboard for 2 or 3 days , good value but its good to have a change with others nearby

Room Tip: we enjoyed the balcony at side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magsrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our daughter recommended this hotel to us and we were delighted with the " whole package" Brilliant location, views of the boats straight outside the front, stunning headlands to walk round, several rocky beaches and cafes etc within 10- 15 mins stroll and regular busses No 6 to Dubrovnik and Number 10 to Cavtat and many boat trips available. I hate the sea but went on 3 boats and loved it as it was so calm.
The hotel itself was lovely, clean and tidy with wonderful attentive staff in the reception, dining room and bar. We experienced friendly service from the staff and felt that they genuinely cared about the guests( something that we don`t get from the larger 5 star hotels that we usually stay in).
We stayed in room 524 and had a good view of Gruz harbour from the small balcony of this this side sea room.The comfortable smallish bedroom was well equipped,tv, free wi fi, kettle and drinks a fridge and plenty of storage space, free safe and very comfortable beds ( ours was twin) and a modern bathroom with a bath and shower well stocked with toiletries .The bathroom door is glass but is totally frosted, a nice touch was a sliding door to separate the bedroom from the bathroom and wardrobe area.The Air con was great and reliable and for once I didn`t get a sore throat.
We stayed half board. The breakfasts were good, plenty of choice both cold and hot. The food for the buffet evening meals was piping hot again plenty of choice, 2 soups, cold starters, 3 fish and at least 4 meats all very fresh and well cooked with a choice of veg ( my niggle was that I thought some of the veg might be frozen) and fresh fruit and a selection of pastries for dessert. I would describe the food as similar to home cooking rather than exotic, which meant that I didn`t get fed up of eating very rich food.
The covered outdoor bar area is great for chilling out in the evening , some nights there was live background music,
The pool area is small , 60 sun beds- ish but in all fairness with so many beautiful places to sit within such a short distance who wants to spend all day round a pool. Ideal for a quick swim and cool down if you have been on a day trip to places such as Kotor etc.
We loved it here. Dubrovnik is fascinating. I would say the area is more suitable for adults. I have never been to the same place twice but I will definitely stay here again and can`t wait to come back as I just loved the " whole package" and suggest that stay here too.
We booked with Thomson and the hotel rep- Katerine- was extremely knowledgeable and reliable.

Room Tip: Side sea view room 524 or there abouts also similar position on floor 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank head29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during a 9 day drip to Croatia, great location, room looked out over the pool and onto the harbour.

Rented a 50cc scooter for 200kunas a day from the reception which was great fun and a nice was to get around, although the main area in Lapad is a short walk and the number 6 bus goes from right outside the hotel all the way to the old town for about £1.50.

Stayed B&B and must say that the breakfast is absolutely quality cannot fault it at all, was very happy. The cafe/bar menu at the pool for during the day was reasonably average and we did not eat dinner in the hotel so cannot comment. Very good cocktails at the bar though.

No spa or gym in the hotel but there is a nice pool area, was hard to get sun loungers it's a bit cramped down there and there is quite a lot of shade due to the traditional looking walls/buildings.

Room was decent, quite small but clean and finished nicely. I had read previous reviews about there being not much privacy for the bathroom, it is a very strange set up as the bathroom door is glass and there is another small window looking in so privacy is a bit of an issue. I don't really understand why it's done like that to be honest.

All in all had a decent time here I think because we were a younger couple we maybe wouldn't be rushing back to this hotel if we were in Lapad.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dcave87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Overall this is a good hotel. Rooms are a little tired but kept very clean. Very spacious with good wifi.

Breakfast has a huge selection of hot and cold food and was very good.

Pool area is clean and provides towels. There are not enough sun loungers for the whole hotel but we found some each day. Had to move a few around. There is plenty of shade. Other reviews commented it is not that scenic - we didn't find it a problem. Yes you do look out onto cruise ships but they are over 100m away across the harbour so it wasn't a problem.

Hotel is fairly easy to get to town - buses run every 5 mins and it's a 5-8min walk to the nearest bus stop on the way into town and it drops you outside on the return. It's a 35min walk to the old harbour 50% uphill and 50% downhill.


Overall given the price the hotel is good value for money.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned from a two week stay here. The hotel is lovely and very clean. The staff are wonderful and very attentive.
We stayed in the newer part of the hotel and the rooms are small but beautifully appointed, and modern. They had everything you could want, free WiFi, flat screen TV, fab aircon, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. I would recommend you upgrade to a side sea view room with balcony as we had a small garden area, albeit that we shared it with next door. It was rather lovely and the view of Gruz harbour was lovely and peaceful. Room 518. The food is great with plenty of freshly cooked food each evening. At first it appears there is not much food out, but they put out small amounts and replenish it regularly so that it is fresh.
If there was one fault then it would be the size of the pool area. It was smaller than we imagined but I guess with a hotel that is around 100 years old, it is hard to change some things. However there is a garden area to one side that you can move your sun lounger in for some shade or some sun depending on the positioning of the bed.
The hotel is about 25 mins to Dubrovnik old town but you can get a bus outside the hotel (tickets at reception) for 12 Kunas (around £1.32). There are also 4 beaches within a 15 to 20 minute walk max.
Would recommend this hotel, and will definitely stay here again when I next visit Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Upgrade to side sea view room with balcony, as views fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing