We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe hotel”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Excelent hotel. Bit expensive but we found great discount and we enjoyed so much with fantastic buffet where you can find all food that you can imagine. Placed at port and need bus to go to city centre. Swimming pool is nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veryspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 2,259 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

What a surprise to find our hotel was on a waterway with pretty boats (and sometimes very big ones) with clear blue water and sunny skies. Perfect base away from the busy Old City but only 5 minutes away on a local bus. Hotel Lapad is very nice with a cooled pool to refresh you after walking around the walled city. Staff very helpful with a special mention to Jasna who went out of her way to help us when our transfer got mixed up. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try and travel out of the peak times on the bus as they can get very crowded and hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

just returned from this great hotel location is perfect next to the harbour. at night it is nice to stroll along the harbour .good food at the hotel staff great. would love to come back to this hotel when we return back to this lovely country. if you come here you will love it! you have got to go to old town what a nice place we took a walk around the city walls the views where great .

Room Tip: all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel is well laid out and the staff are friendly. Great food, we had one meal at the hotel restaurant in the evening and the service was excellent as was the meal.

It was quiet around the pool and even at peak times we were still able to get a sunbed.

Would recommend to couples rather than young families.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LauraLouise2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel. Great rooms. Fab shower. Food great. Location. Right on the water. Short bus ride into old town. Local bus just outside hotel. If you are looking for a lovely stylish hotel this is it .Can't wait to return. I would recommend , it's a must

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is a delight to stay at. It is aesthetically very pleasing and is in no way a modern eye-soar like some of the hotels in Croatia. Its wonderful location facing the harbour at Gruz adds to the wonderful appeal of the place. Rooms are immaculate and the staff are professional and friendly. The pool is great for a swim; however it can get a bit busy around lunch time. The Old Town is approximately 35 mins walk but you can take a number 6 bus - make sure you take it from near Lapad beach as it cuts out a long stretch of the journey. The meals at the hotel were lovely and breakfast certainly sets you up for the day. The evening meals are relaxed and there is no mad rush at 7pm as you may see in some hotels frequented by German tourists. We would definitely recommend for a couple or older family.

Room Tip: Excellent wifi throughout and a cool looking control panel for the air con and lights - go for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MJSS501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned from a one week stay at the Hotel Lapad, which was booked on the strength of the positive reviews here on trip advisor and I can say we weren't disappointed. Our room was at the front of the hotel on the top floor and had great views of the cruise ships moored at the harbour, it’s a shame the rooms at the front of the hotel don't have balcony's but we knew this at the time of booking.

A point to note is that the music played at the pool bar of an evening could be heard in our room till quite late in the evening but this wasn't a major issue for us.

Our room was a good size with a spacious bathroom which included a full size bath and was kept in very good order by the cleaning staff. Although wifi in the lobby area was reliable the signal in our room frequently dropped making for a frustrating experience - though we have found this to be a common issue with many hotels we have stayed at.

Being a smallish hotel facilities are a little limited but are perfectly adequate, the pool area and adjacent courtyard just about provided enough space, though sun loungers get quickly taken up, and parasols are definitely in short supply which was a problem if you were unable to find a naturally sheltered spot.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis although made use of the A' la carte restaurant which was set up at the poolside of an evening, this proved to be very good value, always had a nice atmosphere and the standard of cuisine was excellent. The choice of food provided at breakfast was fine though the choice of fresh fruit was a little limited for our liking.

All of the staff encountered during our stay were extremely polite and pleasant with a good command of English, and certainly added to the enjoyment of our stay.

The choice of nearby restaurants was restricted, we ate a couple of times at the adjacent pizzeria which has a nice rooftop terrace with good views and was excellent value. We also frequented the Orsan restaurant situated next to the harbour to the left of the hotel though this proved to be very popular and advanced booking is a must.

There are more restaurants to be found in the commercial area to the rear of the hotel though these were a little mass market for our liking and we didn't make use of them.

The nearby beaches can be reached on foot but they are shingle so unless you rented a lounger were uncomfortable to lie on, and are commercialised, the nearest beach was definitely a no, no, for us. We settled for a while on the furthest beach (Copacabana) which was ok but even this was spoilt by the ridiculously loud music coming from one of the nearby hotels.

We chose to walk to the 'Old town' which took about 40 minutes, the walk is a is a bit up and down, and was a challenge as the temperature during our stay was around 28 deg., you do get some good views along the way though. Although very busy the walk around the city walls is a must though be warned you do need a head for heights!

There are dozen's of gift shops and restaurant's on the side streets surrounding the 'Old town' we chose to seek out the quieter ones way from the marina area and on the two occasions we ate were impressed with the food quality and value.

We took the short boat trip around Lokrum Island which was very pleasant and provided a different aspect to view the 'Old town' and harbour area.

Our favourite day was spent on a boat trip to the island of Lopud, there are literally dozens of company's offering so called 'three island' trips which included the island of Lopud but these were regimented all day trips not really for us.

We chose instead to make our own way to Lopud using the ferry service that can be caught from the harbour the other side of the hotel. Once on Lopud the walk to the beach from the harbour is cross country and quite strenuous, it is well worth it though, as the sandy beach is in a very picturesque setting gently sloping to the sea which was a lovely temperature - much warmer than the hotel pool!

So, all in all, a nice hotel in a good location that comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snub1668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,014 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £62 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing