We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here for a week in the middle of August. We had a great time and were really impressed with the hotel. The rooms are nice. Very comfortable beds and all the equipment you'll need. The furniture is a little tired but that doesn't detract from the stay at all. The balcony isn't huge but to be honest we only used it for drying towels!

We used Thomson as our tour operator and as usual everything went smoothly with them. We stayed on a half board package so had breakfast and evening meal. The food was good. Breakfast was really nice with a lot of choices. The evening meal had a large selection and I'm a fussy eater but always ate well. The drinks are a tad expensive though. A bottle of wine was pushing £20 and a small bottle of beer was £2.50 so similar prices to the UK really.

We spent a few hours by the pool most days. The pool isn't huge and the loungers there are quite packed in. We always found a lounger though and the pool guy was taking towels off some of the beds that had been left for too long and giving them to people! We tended to sit in the walled garden through a doorway next to the pool and it wasn't as hemmed in there and you could follow the sun around a bit more! WIfi was intermittent around the pool but pretty good in the rooms. A nice touch was a free safe too.

We enjoyed Dubrovnik as a city. We got advice from the hotel desk and caught the number 6 bus into the old town several times. The tickets are cheaper from the hotel than they are if you pay on the bus. If you catch the bus outside the hotel it takes about 25 mins to get there as it goes around the area of Lapad and drops off an picks up at a lot of stops. We found that by turning right out of the hotel and walking about 300m up to the main road you could catch the bus there and it was only 10 mins to the old town.

We were going to do a boat trip around some of the islands but ended up just catching the local ferry from the terminal which is opposite the hotel and about 500m walk. This was really cheap and great fun. The ferry called at Kolocep, Lopud and Sipan. We also caught the boat from the old town to Lokrum which was every half an hour and a great place to visit.

Overall I couldn't really fault the hotel or the holiday and had a great time. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DanBLevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    828
    185
    41
    15
See reviews for
254
1,361
59
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Just returned from a 7 night stay here. Can't fault it in any way. Staff friendly and efficient. The breakfast was brilliant. We didn't have half board here, but the pool side bar had lovely salads and sandwiches. We found the location perfect, you could see all the cruise ships coming in to the harbor so you knew when the Old City was going to be too busy. We had a fantastic time

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyhanmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Beautiful hotel with very modern room. Nice location in quiet area. Stayed 1 night here and would have happily stayed longer. Nice restaurants nearby and the hotel organised a taxi for us to go into the old town. Most of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, our only negative was the bar staff. We ordered a drink but never received it, waited a very long time and eventually just gave up and went back to our room. The hotel was very well kept and clean. Breakfast was very good, we ordered to our room and it arrived bang on time with everything exactly as ordered. A very pleasant stay. Handy car parking also!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gijon, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Excelent hotel. Bit expensive but we found great discount and we enjoyed so much with fantastic buffet where you can find all food that you can imagine. Placed at port and need bus to go to city centre. Swimming pool is nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veryspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

What a surprise to find our hotel was on a waterway with pretty boats (and sometimes very big ones) with clear blue water and sunny skies. Perfect base away from the busy Old City but only 5 minutes away on a local bus. Hotel Lapad is very nice with a cooled pool to refresh you after walking around the walled city. Staff very helpful with a special mention to Jasna who went out of her way to help us when our transfer got mixed up. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try and travel out of the peak times on the bus as they can get very crowded and hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

just returned from this great hotel location is perfect next to the harbour. at night it is nice to stroll along the harbour .good food at the hotel staff great. would love to come back to this hotel when we return back to this lovely country. if you come here you will love it! you have got to go to old town what a nice place we took a walk around the city walls the views where great .

Room Tip: all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel is well laid out and the staff are friendly. Great food, we had one meal at the hotel restaurant in the evening and the service was excellent as was the meal.

It was quiet around the pool and even at peak times we were still able to get a sunbed.

Would recommend to couples rather than young families.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LauraLouise2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,017 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,828 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
811 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#6 of 68 in Dubrovnik
688 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing