We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in early June and had a very enjoyable stay. As other reviewers have stated the rooms aren't huge but are very nicely decorated and have a modern feel to them. Although we ordered a double we got a twin which as they told us they only have something like 10 double in the whole hotel is something which I guess happens alot. Not a major problem as the beds were pushing together but you do find yourself falling down the gap half way through the night!

The hotel itself served our needs perfectly, although the pool is FREEZING, it was refreshing, which was needed! We went for the B&B package as like to explore and try local resturants and found that the breakfast was sufficiant enough to go without a substantial lunch.

Location is good and nice and easy to get from the old town just hop on a number 6 bus from Pile Gate - they cram more people on the buses that you'd get on a tube train in London rush hour to be warned if you're visiting during peak time!

There are a number of nice resturants in Lapad - if you walk to the beach and follow the coastal path to the right of the beach there are a number of nice places tucked away that offer nice views over the cliffs. In general we found the food to be on a par with London prices and paid around £50 for a two course meal and a glass of wine for two. This was in Lapad where the prices are cheaper than the old town!

Dubrovnik was a lovely place, nice and relaxing to chill by the pool and wander around the old town. A walk around the walls is a must - if you do it later afternoon the setting sun makes the orange tiles glow even more brightly!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerityK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,895 - 1,901 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2009

as stated by other reviews this hotel has had a major makeover last year. It is spotless and the bedrooms though on the small size are of a very high standard. Can I also recommend a restaurant called Cafe Del Mar, turn right out of hotel to walk to end of road. Then cross road and cafe is opposite harbour. The Salads, Rissoto and Crepes are of an extremely high standard you will not be disappointed and its only 250 metres away. Best restaurant in Dubrovnik in our opinion

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rooneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Lapad for a week. Unfortunately the weather was bad for three days so this may cloud my judgement. The location of the hotel was ok but on a fairly busy main road with no footpath and at the water's edge so an evening stroll was a bit fraught. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and the buffet food was good but at times could have been hotter. The room was smaller than I expected and I was not so sure about the glass doors for the bathroom. The balcony held one chair and even that was a tight squeeze. The hotel would need to invest in some decent sunbeds as the white plastic ones were most uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabtoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights. This is a very nice hotel with good amenities and an attentive staff. The food I had was uniformly well-prepared and the dining room was pleasant. The room I had overlooked the harbor but did not have a balcony. Unfortunately, the way the furniture was situated in the room, it was almost impossible to get access to the windows to enjoy the view (which was partially blocked by part of the hotel) My room was small but very comfortable. I did have a problem with the in-room safe (dead batteries kept it from functioning) but this was attended to promptly. The bath is almost stunningly modern and has beautiful fixtures. However, the praise ends there. The way the sink area is designed, there is almost no place to put toiletries except well below the sink. This creates two problems...one is that it is hard to find what you are looking for and second, the toiletries often are splashed with water as you use the sink. This is a classic case of design overcoming function, and really pretty dumb in a nice hotel like this. That said, I enjoyed my stay here and can recommend the hotel with some enthusiasm. The pool area is lovely and the situation of the hotel on the harbor is attractive. Just be careful crossing the street immediately in front of the hotel. You'll have to take the #6 bus to get to the old city area, but that is easy and fun.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teds300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We visited Dubrovnik in May 2009 for one week. I think either a short city break or a maximum stay of one week in Dubrovnik is ideal. I felt tourism in Dubrovnik was not fully developed and whilst they have got most of it right there are a few things they need to improve. For example in the Lapad area where we stayed there was a lot of very delapidated buildings at the beach front (all beaches are very stoney and not sandy).

The Hotel Lapad was a very enjoyable experience. The hotel rooms are very modern however quite small and the 'sea view' is not overly spectacular. We opted for half board as the supplement was minimal and we thought we might eat out a few nights as the half board cost was so litte. We found the food quite enjoyable without being a gourmet delight and ended up eating in the hotel every evening. The Hotel has one unheated swimming pool and really nothing else in the way of a gym or tennis courts etc. Perhaps another example of Croatian tourism being behind other countries. The Hotel Lapad is however an older Hotel and therefore perhaps never had other leisure facilities or the space to add them.

Hotel Lapad is situated close to a bus route which takes you into the old city at a cost of approx £1 each way. The buses ran every 15 minutes but could be very crowded. Eating out was a hit or miss experience. There are many pizzerias which are relatively inexpensive and of variable quality. There are also a number of restaurants in the city which specialise in fish and are very expensive. There seems to be no middle ground. We did eat in Gils which is recommed on Tripadvisor. It was truly outstanding and had prices to match.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend both The Hotel lapad and Dubrovnik for a maximum of a one week stay. The jewel in the crown of the trip is the old city itself. I am not sure it would suit beach holidayers unless combined with a second stop somewhere else in Croatia. Highlights were the old city, the weather (28C, 80F late May) and the history.

PS Take walking tours of the old city - very informative and interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

My husband and I have been visiting Dubrovnik minimum once a year for the past ten years. This was our first stay in this hotel and I must say – this was the best treat ever! Rooms, though small, are nicely decorated so you don’t feel cramped. Internet connection works everywhere which is rarely true in the rest of hotels in Dubrovnik (almost everywhere at Croatian cost you usually have access at the reception desk or in some back room ambitiously called internet cafe).

The Lapad Hotel cuisine is superb without mixed, non-definable, all-the-same taste that you usually see with open meals. We stayed for seven days at the beginning of May and for the entire stay we have never had the same menu, even the number of guests was quite small at some point. Special mentioning deserve hotel staff, whose kind and unimposing, yet efficient approach makes your stay welcome and pleasant. Finally, big thank you note goes to Mr. Big Vladimir whose charm made our evenings enjoyable and memorable. We made new friends in this hotel and we are definitely coming back.

Amir and Velida Silajdzic

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeckySarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This hotel is located on the Lapad peninsular about a 40 min walk from the old city. The walk itself is mostly up hill but you get great views once you reach the top and on the decent to the city. Bus number 2 will take you to the city in about 10 mins, bus stop is not far from the hotel.

The hotel is nicely situated over looking the harbour and great position to explore Lapad. There’s a nice walk around the peninsular.

The rooms were quite small but were nicely decorated, with a small balcony or terrace and satellite tv. The bathrooms are nice and the shower was delicious but if you are shy then you have a problem with the glass walls/door to the bathroom.

The hotel staff were really friendly and the breakfast every morning was nice and varied – omelettes, cereals, fresh fruit, cheeses, hams etc. There’s also a swimming pool to the front of the hotel.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank clouds111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
923 reviews
1 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £79 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing