We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was magnificent”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything was magnificent”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We stayed at hotel Lapad for 9 nights and we´re very, very pleased with everything. The service was impeccable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    786
    162
    37
    13
See reviews for
237
1,284
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Very impressed with Hotel Lapad, booked at very short notice and at excellent price through Expedia. The location positions you in a peaceful area away from Lapad Bay (15 minute walk) and The Old Town (10 minute taxi). The pool is excellent and we spent each of our seven days around it soaking up sun and then cooling off. The rooms were well appointed with excellent modern fitting in the bathroom and the care that had gone into the design and build of the hotel shone through everywhere. Only criticism would be that the breakfast buffet is a little eccentric (asparagus omelette is a new one on me) and the poolside music is a bit cheesy but these are very minor points - all in all highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights following a holiday on one of the islands so that we could visit Dubrovnik. We were lucky enough to have a room upgrade and were hugely impressed by the accommodation. It was modern, up-to-date and spotlessly clean. The staff were extremely professional and always on hand to help. We very much enjoyed the breakfast buffet ... spoilt for choice! The hotel itself has lovely old character features and we loved where it was situated - just by Gruz harbour. It was quiet but convenient for everywhere. We took a bus into the Old Town (there is a water taxi but the sea was too choppy the day we would have used it!), and we walked back, which took about 40 minutes. We also spent some time at the beach, an easy 15 minute walk away. The hotel contributed towards a memorable stay, and I would certainly use it again if we returned to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Nothing to disappoint at all! As other reviewers have said, hotel location is a top feature, easily accessible to the old town by bus every 15 minutes or so.
Staff mostly of the 'old school', ie polite, experienced and nothing too much trouble. Buffet breakfast and dinner perfectly adequate and wholesome - nothing exotic though on the menu, ie lobster, prawns or similar. But for a half board arrangement one couldn't fault quality or quantity.Internet is free too, surprising in this day and age!
Coach trip to Montenegro certainly worthwhile, a full day out for £47, good value for all that one sees. Our driver woried us sorely - he brought his wife and two kids along for the ride and spent most of the journey (including 25 of the hairiest hairpin bends) talking to them, facing them in the next seats. He refused passengers' polite frequent requests to 'watch the road!' He was a good driver though!
Yes, we will return and venture further into the countryside next time, maybe hire a car as rates are reasonable and roads good(ish).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastfarndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The hotel lived up to all my expectations. The location was ideal being both quiet and with in very easy reach of the old city. All my room requirements were met. The accommodation was of a very high standard being both comfortable and extremely clean. The staff are to be commended for their courtesy, friendliness and attention to detail. The meals were varied and of a good standard. Again the restaurant staff added to the dining experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottish053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We were at the Lapad for a week at the end of June. We were on a half-board package (not what we normally do) with Flyglobespan. As per previous post, considering some of the other hotels people were getting dropped off at, the Lapad looked (and was) very stylish. Apparently the original building was a big-wig's villa, then became a hospital in the early 1900s, then a hotel. The public areas, especially the marble staircase, and all fitted out to a high standard.

The rooms are also very stylish and modern. I'd recommend pushing the boat out and getting a superior room - we emailed the hotel after booking the package, and arranged an upgrade for 35 Euro for the week (it's worth haggling here, they initially wanted 70, but the difference in price between the two room types on their web site is even less than 5 per night). The superior room (ours overlooked the pool on the top floor of the original building) is much more spacious (see their web site for pics), but no balcony.

I loved the newness of the place, all completely refurbished, and I though, by and large, that the staff were fine. Previous posts talk about the restaurant staff being a bit morose, but all you have to do is engage them in conversation. In particular, the restaurant manager was as cheerful and charming as you would wish for. The reception desk staff were also efficient and helpful.

My only gripe, for a hotel of this quality, was that the evening meal was completely buffet-style. Fair enough, you get what you pay for, and the food was good, given that it was sitting out in trays for a while, but it somehow doesn't gel with the rest of the hotel. Once, we saw customers ordering from the a la carte menu with waiter service, but all others were buffet, presumably like us, part of a package. A couple of times we asked for a packed lunch for the following day, and went into the old town to eat on those evenings. On the morning of our last full day, we asked if we could take lunch in the hotel rather than dinner, and after a phone call from reception to the kitchen, we were asked to go to the restaurant at 1pm, and the chef would have something ready. We got a lovely, waiter-served, 4 course lunch (although we were the only ones in the room), and we had a nice chat with the waiter between courses, into the bargain!

All in all, we loved the Lapad. It looks from the front like a hotel on the French Riviera, and the interior and staff don't disappoint. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I chose this hotel because of the majority of reviews on this website and am so glad I did. From the welcome at the reception desk to the staff at breakfast, the service was superb. They were helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

The room was small but this was more than made up for by the décor which was super-modern. We especially loved the trendy bathroom. We had the cheapest room which meant the view just looked on to some pleasant gardens. The swimming pool was fabulous and the location of the hotel is marvellous. It's only a bus ride away from the Old Town and the bus stop is about a 7 minute walk. It's far enough from the Old Town to miss all the bustle of the tourists as well so a peaceful place to come back to after a busy day. It looks on to a harbour and on the other side is a supermarket with boats to take you to three of the main islands. Next door is a great little restaurant - try the fish platter!

I really couldn't fault this hotel and will definitely be going back and recommending it to friends and family.

Just be aware all hotels in Croatia have some sort of tourist tax which they hit you with at the end of the stay, it came to about £15 for two of us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Island_Explorer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing