We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wedsite doesn't do this hotel justice”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I stayed here for a city break. The hotel is fabulous, the decor is excellent and tastefull. The location is outside of the old city which having been there now, I'm so glad it was, unless of course you like having thousand of cruise ship holiday makers walking past your hotel 24/7. It's a short taxi ride away or a trip on the number 6 bus which is right by the hotel. The hotel is right by the marina, and I mean right by. If you walk straight out of the hotel it's about 6 paces to the waters edge.It truly is beautiful. There are plenty of bars, shops etc in the lapad area to choose from.The breakfast is way above the norm, with a massive range of delights to choose from. Don't be put off by previous comments about all the sunbeds being taken up with towels. The hotel have a sign up by the pool, clearly stating that staff will remove any towels that have been siiting there unatteded for over an hour. Also the staff are the lovely, I've stayed at hundreds of hotels over the years and the lapad ones stand out in my mind the most. I would definitly return to Dubrovnik and stay at this hotel everytime.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
4  Thank jackie187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,733 - 1,739 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2010

I went with my father and sister for a week in august, the first impression of the hotel is very eye pleasing, with its historial exterior but very modern and contempory interior. Location is perfect for either a short walk to the beach or a walk to the old town. Buses run in front of the hotel offering quick access to anywhere you want to go for a small 6 kuna if you buy in a ticket office or 10 kuna if purchased on the bus. I would definatley recommend this hotel to anyone going to dubrovnik. The hotel rooms were immaculate and furnished to a high standard. The only thing if you want to go in the swimming pool all day everyday its not ideal as its only a resonable sized pool, but why would you go on holiday to do this. Stay at this great hotel and explore Dubrovnik. Lastly if staying half board like we did the food is very nice but you may think it becomes repitive by the last two days of the holiday, yet still very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodchildb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Lapad and enjoyed them, though the hotel was a bit further from the Old Town than we thought. (30 minute walk or 20 minute door-to-door bus ride.) There is a large breakfast buffet but the staff don't make you feel very welcome at it. We also asked the front desk staff for a dinner recommendation and they weren't able to provide us with one - they just said to walk up the street and pick one. The hotel was overall a beautiful facility with comfortable rooms, but I would look for a place with better service the next time I visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmweiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We had a great week staying in Hotel Lapad. The location is excellent. We preferred to be away from the bustle of the old town but within close proximity. The buses are so frequent and cheap and stop outside the hotel. The area aound the harbour is quiet and relaxing. The hotel is very inviting. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was a 'superior' and overlooked the harbour. It was large, exceptionally clean and comfortable. The see-through bathroom door is not to everyone's taste though!!
The pool is great and very well maintained. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the meal. The breakfasts are excellent with a great choice.
A great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belfasttraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I would really recommend this hotel if your looking to relax and unwind.We had the first four days in the hustle and bustle of the old town,took in everything there and had the last three days of our trip in lapad hotel.Which we found perfect for relaxing by the pool and chilling out before we reluctantly had to come home.
The rooms were lovely,spotlessly clean and exactly like the photos on the site,which is not always the case.Staff were friendly and very helpful when needed.
Breakfast buffet was fab,lunch was light and tasty,and dinner was no frills but enjoyable.The buffet dinner for 20euro was fine,you get what you pay for and i wouldn't agree with the previous review that it was like a staff canteen,not in any canteen i have ever eaten anyway!
It was lovely relaxing by the pool but some people really took advantage of the sun loungers,towels on them at all hours of the morning,then arriving at midday.Also leaving the hotel for hours and leaving towels in place,when it was obvious people were waiting for a lounger,some people are just inconsiderate i guess!
The night time entertainment wasnt anything to write home about but was fine for what we wanted,just to chat and drink cocktails.They pricey compared to other bars but worth it as they were so tasty!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed for 11 nights from 25th July 2010. Staff very helpful and plentiful. Breakfast excellent.
I booked a "superior" room - which was very well appointed and very modern. However it was an interior room with no balcony or terrace. After a few days I asked to be moved to a "standard" room. Although a little smaller it was still well fitted and had the benefit of a lovely little outdoor terrace which overlooked the bay. Definitely better than the "superior" room.
I recommend the hotel but would advise that 11 nights is too long to be in the area. Book for three or four nights - enjoy the hotel and the city - then move on.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed for one night at the end of the holiday. The hotel has been completely refurbished, so the rooms are modern and stylish. It was the best nights sleep of the holiday. Excellent air conditioning system with modern security cards. Fantastic shower/bath in ultra modern bathroom. The builing itself looks historic and chartacterful. There is a short walk (5 mins) to the Lapad centre where there are bars and restaurants and the old town is a short bus ride away.
The pool is great - I suppose small considering the number of rooms in the hotel. When we were there the loungers were all occupied, but the pool itself was not busy and there were no children playing in the pool. It all felt very calm and relaxed.
The staff are polite and extremely helpful.
We wished that we were staying a few extra nights, but had to get our flight home...
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edandlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,014 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
960 reviews
0.9 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £62 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing