We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, charming, friendly, and quiet”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2010

The rooms are the quietest we have ever stayed in! We asked for a room with a water view and were provided with a lovely (though small) room with a terrace that had a view of the harbor. The room is very nicely appointed and very clean. It is in the new part of the hotel so if you don't like short series of marble steps you will need to take two elevators.

The dining room is glass enclosed and overlooks a courtyard with a pool, palm trees, and flowering vines draped over stone walls.

The staff is very friendly and will do anything for you -- it appears they want to do anything possible to make your stay wonderful.

The breakfast is excellent although we do not know about dinner because we were always out and about. Speaking of which, it is very easy to get into the Old Town by bus. The bus system is easy to understand and always on time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,231)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lapad
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,694 - 1,700 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

Just returned from Hotel Lapad and thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Croatia. Food was excellent and staff were always ready to please especially Kiki who is such a gentleman. The buses are just outside the hotel and easy to use BUT coming back from Dubrovnik is a n ightmare because of the crowds . It's a wonder my friend and I didn't get pushed under the bus.. I don't know why there isn't a ferry boat to Dubrovnik from Lapad Harbour it would seem the most sensible way of travelling . Can recommend the trips to Mostar and Korcula but there's not much to see on the three Islands trip, although it was nice to be out on a boat. Will go to Croatia again we loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedith_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This hotel is located in a quiet area away from the bustle of Dubrovnik. Of course the downside of that is needing transport to get there, but buses are frequent and convenient.

The room was comfortable but I hated the bathroom. As other reviewers have mentioned, the doors are glass. Apart from any modesty aspects, this is irritating when sharing a room as putting the light on in the bathroom forcibly illuminates the bedroom too. There was no soap dish and pudding basin designed washbasins could not be stopped - what a waste of water! One other irritating feature was the fact that air conditioning (far too cold) automatically came on when absent from the room. To avoid this problem I left my window open when absent.

I found breakfast to be very satisfactory with sufficient choice and always replenished. However the breakfast room was far too cold. When the outside temperature is 25° C is it really necessary to be frozen by aircon?

Reception staff were always efficient, although I was a little surprised not to be offered porter service in a 4 star hotel (I didn't ask for or need it, but expected it to be offered all the same).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tradeform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

I thought that the hotel Lapad was pretty classy, especially considering the price. Smart premises, beautiful rooms and nice setting. Topped off with a nice pool, free wifi and easy parking. The area seems residential and hence laid back. If you have a car and prefer boutiques to resorts then this is probably the place for you. The only thing i could really fault is that a place like this shouldnt have the (small) charge for pool towels. Really love my stay here,
David

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d7y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed in Hotel Lapad for a short stay in August 2010. I would recommend this hotel to all travellers. The rooms are super modern and very comfortable. Glass to bathroom is a bit funny but there is a smoked glass door between bathroom and bedroom so not as bad as it seems. Breakfast was fantastic selection was unbelievable with something to suit every palate we went half board and was bit apprehensive about it but was not disappointed it was very tasty and great selection. Chefs were constantly checking to ensure that nothing ran out and everything was ok. Very clean hotel with bus stop near by to old town. Pool is clean and nice however gets shady in evening with not much sun. Only fault if you have to take 2 lifts to get to most rooms but this is a minor glitch. The hotel is situated along the harbour so you can watch the cruise ships coming in every day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I was surprised by the top reviews on Tripadvisor, as whilst this hotel is pleasant it is certainly not the best of its kind on the Lapad peninsula in the 4 star bracket.

Bedroom: the rooms are very clean and modern, with spacious bathrooms. However, the advertised sea views aren't direct sea views as you have the pool area and the road between the hotel and the sea. The rooms also felt a little dark and gloomy, and our room didn't have a balcony (I think you can either have a view or a balcony, but not both). Free wi-fi internet access only worked when you sat right by the window, but no biggie.

Pool area: the pool is clean, but much smaller than it looks on the website, and the sun loungers are quite uncomfortable (not all of them have padded covers). No views from the pool area at all.

Food: the breakfast isn't great - the dining room feels cold and bleak, with harsh overhead lighting, and the breakfast itself is mixed quality. Examples included pastries that tasted a little stale and coffee with a weird chemical flavour. The staff were friendly, and there was a good selection of fruit, yoghurt, cheese and ham. The pancakes were tasty, but no maple syrup (sorry if that sounds spoiled!). We had lunch by the pool on one day, and there is virtually nothing on the menu - just a few overpriced salads and sandwiches.

Location: very handy bus into Dubrovnik via the no. 6 bus route. Peaceful, pretty location on Gruz Harbour, which is handy for boat excursions but not so good if you want to swim in the sea (although Cocacabana beach is only a 20 min walk away). Buono and Orsan restaurants are both excellent and within 5 minute's walk (turn left out of the hotel); the pizza place nearest to the hotel is awful (was really sick after eating there).

Generally, I would recommend staying on the other side of the peninsula (on the coast, overlooking the open sea) as there are more facilities, and you can sea-bathe directly from your hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingerwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Hotel Lapad has a fantastic reviews here on tripadvisor. Although we have no desire to ruin its strong reputation, we did come across some inconviences and issues. First, the hotel is nicely taken care and is a beautiful place to visit. Our issues were more with the service of the hotel and the lack of correct room space for us even after our confirmation. Upon arrival, we learned that our confirmed king-sized bed was unavailable and so they placed us in two single beds. With that amount of money we paid per nights, we felt that our confirmation and desires should have been met. Lastly, obtaining information concerning "things to do" was not always so easy. Although we always got great advice, sometimes it felt like pulling teeth to get info. Overall, we would suggest this hotel but warn others that it is not one of our favorite places to stay while we have traveled the world.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajanteGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
974 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#29 of 68 in Dubrovnik
834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £76 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing