We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but...”
Review of Hotel Lero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lero
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here for the location - about 20 mins walk from the old town - which worked out well. Took one of the family rooms which was pretty good generally but with a view of a flat roof and concrete wall so you wouldn't want to spend much time in it - we were told all the family rooms are like this. Nice pool but too busy much of the time to get a space. Staff were really quite grumpy most of the time. Maybe it's more geared up for business travellers than families. So why four stars? We didn't get our passports from reception when we left (fault on both sides) and didn't discover it until we got to the airport. The hotel was great and someone drove them out to the airport to hand them to us just in time to get the flight. So an extra star for that!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bentonstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just returned from a family holiday at this lovely hotel and had a great time. The rooms are compact, but clean, and the bathrooms have been refurbished to a high standard.
The breakfasts were excellent and there was a very good choice of fruit, cereals, bread, cheese, and cooked breakfasts. The pool was busy but there is a beach just 5 mins away from the hotel.
The Old Town is just 20 mins walk and there is a regular bus service to it as well. The Old Town is really interesting and a walk around the walls is well worth the effort - as is the cable car up the mountain. We had a few meals at restaurants beside the hotel, but there is also a good choice of restaurants in the Old Town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

There are some pro's and con's to this Hotel so if you want a large swimming pool or a room with a balcony go elsewhere! Otherwise this was a first class holiday hotel for Dubrovnik Old Town and the surrounding area. The Hotel has a pool and sundeck, just not that big, however we got sun loungers, for 6 of us before 9am every morning. Also you can get a balcony but just on the top floor "executive" rooms. We stopped in a "superior" room which was spacious, air conditioned and very modern. I suspect a very recent refurbishment judging by the bathroom fixtures etc. In fact the whole hotel looks like it has been recently refreshed and has a bright, cool and relaxed feel to it. Breakfast was absolutely first class, it was a full hot and cold buffet, eggs, sausages, fries, etc, fresh fruit, cold cuts, cheeses etc. I have read some reviews on here that said breakfast was poor so I can only conclude the hotel has upped it's game or the reviewer was a food critic! As someone who travels the world on business and stays in dozens of hotels the breakfast here was first class. Now then to more practical advice, when you head out of the hotel on foot, don't waste any time turning right, there is nothing down the road that way of any interest to tourists. Turn left and an easy 20 minute walk delivers you to the Pile Gate and the Old Town. Alternatively the bus stop 2 minutes down the road will deliver you to the Pile Gate in 5 minutes for 12 Kuna's, you can buy the tickets at Hotel reception and the buses (number 4) run every 15 minutes. Also 2 minutes walk down on the left are 2 very good restaurant/bars. The first is the Magellan and right beside it is the El Torro, we ate and drank at both but I would recommend booking a table if you plan to eat after 6.30pm as they were both popular. Situated between the 2 restaurants is a footpath which leads down to the Casino and more importantly the footpath continues down the left side of the casino in what appears to be a service road but then leads you leftwards down some steps to a beautiful public beach. This is 5 minutes from the hotel, most locals and tourist just lay their towels on the beach to sunbathe, it is popular without being crowded. The Hotel Lero also has a great open air terrace bar, lovely for relaxing after a hard day sight seeing. We also took advantage of the Spa and Gym which were excellent. I really can't recommend this place enough, subject to my comments about travellers who want balconies and an Olympic size pool! I would stay here again without hesitation, the staff were all friendly, very helpful and all spoke perfect English

Room Tip: Book a sea view "Superior" room, the sea view is not great but you won't get the early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Have just spent one week staying at this hotel. The staff were helpful and pleasant and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. I had a room at the front on the first floor and, due to the heat, had window closed and air-conditioning working full-time - no noise at all from the busy road. Stayed on a B&B basis and breakfast provided plenty of choice, although fresh coffee was sadly missing. The location was superb with bus stops very close by and only a 20 minute walk into the Old Town, should the heat allow. The swimming pool and surrounding area was very clean, although somewhat small for the number of guests. Perhaps the congestion in the pool was due to the high temperatures? All in all a great experience - better than I had hoped. Would love to visit Dubrovnik again and would certainly recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Although at the front of the hotel, the double glazing meant that no road noise could be heard. Mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in Hotel Lero for 7 nights. The location is definately the best attribute. It's a 15 minute walk downhill to the old town and there are buses every 15 minutes to get you back up the hill that drop you just outside the hotel. The area feels very safe. There are also some nice restaurants just across the road. The pool is also nice and was definately needed in the heat!

The rooms are a little basic but nice enough and breakfast could have more choice and the room used could do with sprucing up a bit. However, this hotel was definately worth the money and we would stay again. Dubrovnik was fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-Louise2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was staying for a weeks holiday with a friend on a B&B basis in July. My room was situated on the first floor. I had a sea view but no balcony. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It is a business hotel and is open year round. The rooms were very well appointed in a business fashion. The double glazing and door were very efficient as my room faced the road and was directly opposite the lift but I was never disturbed by road noise or other guests. Medium sized bathroom but great shower. Also air con very efficient and definitely required as temp 35+. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Only criticism was the pool is not very big and was very crowded but only used late afternoon. Hotel ideally situated as 20 mins walk into old town or 5 mins bus ride.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We are a family of two adults and two teenagers and we stayed in the Hotel Lero for a week in July 2013. We had a family room which was actually two bedrooms, bathroom and separate toilet and had plenty of space for us. There was reliable wi-fi in the rooms and two flat screen tvs and very quiet air-conditioning.. The pool is wonderful, quiet and with plenty of fresh towels and pool-side bar service. The hotel is only 3 star but many 4 stars are not as good. There is a lovely outside seating area off the bar at the front of the hotel and a Bosnian restaurant, which is well worth a visit. All the staff are friendly and helpful and both the rooms and communal areas are spotless. It is possible to walk down to the old town in Dubrovnik but the hotel sells bus tickets which were very welcome in the heat. There is a beach within walking distance but we didn't really find it worth the walk (lots of steps and then a very stoney beach). One tip we were given was to visit the Old Town in the morning or evening in order to escape the crowds that arrive on the cruise ships. When one of these is in port, the place can get very crowded. Walking the walls is a must but be prepared for lots of steps. A visit, by boat, to nearby Lokum Island and also Cavtat is also recommended. This was our first visit to Croatia, and we could not recommend the Hotel Lero highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braynative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#25 of 68 in Dubrovnik
597 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lero

Address: Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £48 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lero 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Splitty, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lero Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing