We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice 3 star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lero
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very nice 3 star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant provided an ample and tasty breakfast. The staff at the reception were very helpful regarding bus information etc. Very close bus stop made it simple and quick to get to the entrance of the old city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    513
    132
    15
    13
See reviews for
161
458
49
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel looks like a typical non-atmospheric business hotel which now caters for tourists and the surly reception staff behave as if they would rather not be bothered by anyone. Not one of them (and there are several) smiled in our eleven day stay but despite being unfriendly they were efficient. Neither were they interested to find out at the end of the stay whether we had enjoyed it or indeed even bothered to say goodbye. They couldn't have been less friendly if they tried.

The hotel actually has a lot going for it. The location is very good - I am told it is a 20 minute walk to the old town but the bus stop was just a few meters down the road and in the heat we didn't feel the need to walk it (and if you buy the bus tickets from reception it is cheaper than buying them on the bus). The rooms and all public areas are spotless; there is comfortable seating in the reception area and there is a hairdresser and a salon. There is also free wi-fi. If you want to book any trips, you can do so from the Atlas tour stand in the reception area.

The room was a fair size - lacking in any style but it was kept spotless and there was plenty of wardrobe space. A flat screen tv was in the room but only a couple of English channels but we weren't there to watch tv. There was a safe in the room but no tea or coffee making facilities. The air con wasn't the most effective as sometimes we couldn't work out whether it was on or not and occasionally it was a little smelly and noisy. The bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower and the housekeeping staff (who did know how to smile) kept everything pristine throughout our stay. Apart from a liquid hand soap dispenser in the wall by the sink and the same in the shower, there were no other toiletries. A wall mounted hairdryer was also in the bathroom. We were on the third floor overlooking the road but were not disturbed by any noise. We did not have a balcony although some rooms (overlooking the pool mainly) did have.

The dining room was large and bright and the staff were lovely; they were constantly rushing around but always smiled and had time to ask where you were going/where you had been/had you slept well etc. The dining experience was a mixed bag. We had booked half board but I would NOT recommend having an evening meal at the hotel. Breakfast and evening meal are buffet style. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice from croisants, toast, cereal to fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, sausages and more. Although the juices and hot drinks weren't necessarily the best, they were acceptable. HOWEVER, the evening meal left a lot to be desired - there is no special dining experience and the offering for vegetarians was absolutely awful. In all fairness I can't comment on the meat options but there is a restaurant right next door and a couple of others a few minutes' walk away which by all accounts are very good.

The pool and its surrounds are well kept and the hotel provides pool towels which is a bonus but the pool is very small with under 30 sunbeds for the 155 rooms. It wasn't always easy to get a sunbed but the beach is very nearby.

If you want evening entertainment, you won't get it here but it is lovely to sit outside in the bar area in the evening where the guests could actually benefit from the musicians playing to the diners in the next door restaurant.

It is a good 3 star hotel and despite the reception staff we would stay here if we were to visit Dubrovnik again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluebelleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel Lero is without any doubt, a good hotel. Though slightly out of the Old Town & a 20-min walk to it, there are frequent buses to take you there & back. This hotel is also ideal if you have a car. Staff try to please you & breakfast is abundant. The rooms are very clean, comfortable & with easy internet access. Given the chance, we will be back in this hotel without any doubt.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callanish, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent a very enjoyable holiday in Dubrovnik. The hotel was very comfortable spacious rooms clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and efficient. The pool was small but more than adequate as there were no children taking control of it as can happen in other hotels that cater for families, loungers were comfortable with towels supplied, great boon for saving on luggage space. The food was tasty with a good selection both at breakfast and dinner. The hotel is a pleasant 20 minute walk to the old town and also the bus stop is just outside. Dubrovnik is a stunning town filled with lots of lovely restaurants shops churches and much much more. Stop in at the Hilton Imperial Pomery champagne bar for a cocktail well worth it. Sadly the only down side was the theft of channel perfume and a designer silver ring from our room. This was at the end of our holiday fortunately and although staff were very sympathetic it was an upsetting incident. All toiletries were kept in the bathroom and I had my jewellery in a box on the dresser the ring was the only item of value in the box as all other pieces were costume same with the perfume only one I took on holiday. I would recommend keeping any items like these in the room safe. On saying this if I went back to Dubrovnik I would stay at the hotel lero again. Another place to visit- Take the local bus service to Cavtat beautiful resort we'll worth 1/2 hour bus journey.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The rooms are new, modern and clean. That is all you need.
Breakfast is okay but food in Croatia is okay. Although you don't want to get there too early as the food is dry. Eat when they top up with fresh food.
Staff are reasonably friendly but this is Croatia. Good walk to the old City but there is a bus no 4 you can catch or 12K.
But the walk is okay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor North Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Thank you Thank you Thank you to all the lovely staff at Hotel Lero, our stay was extremely enjoyable,the food was a little on the cool side at times but there was plenty of it and was extremely tasty.
If you are considering a visit to Dubrovnik then it is a must, my first experience was 28 years ago and I said then that it was the most beautiful place I had ever seen....That has not changed it is an absolutely beautiful place and breath-taking Dubrovnik is steeped in History and the old town relives that History and at times very poinient
Both Irish bars in the old time are a must very lively as is the Rock bar .......Enjoy

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Key es
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is very comfortable, with air conditioning throughout. The service is excellent and the staff very friendly. The food is great - buffet style breakfast and evening meal. Waiting staff are very attentive. The rooms are clean and maid comes in each day to ensure that it is kept that way. The Spa is great and we benefited from massages, manicure and pedicure. Very reasonably priced too. The bar is very inviting and benefits from evening music provided by the adjoining Bosnian restaurant. Hotel Lero is vey convenient for the old town - just a 20 minute walk. It is also a 20 minute walk from Port Gruz, You can take boat trips from both Port Gruz and the small port in the old town. The hotel is spotless and we really enjoyed our stay there. only one small downside - I'd you like sifting by the pool there aren't many sunbeds. Highly recommend hotel,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50AnnaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
1.7 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lero

Property: Hotel Lero
Address: Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lero 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lero Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing