We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but...”
Review of Hotel Lero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lero
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value but...”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel, first for a work meeting and then as a holiday maker.
The rooms were comfortable with large double beds or 2 singles together. The front rooms have sea views. It is about 20 minutes walk to the old town area or 4 stops on the No. 4 frequent bus. Tickets from reception cost 12 kuna per trip. Staff are friendly and competent.
The pool is small and not especially beautiful. Having stayed for many days the food was almost always virtually the same and of dubious quality. Not brilliant for veggies. The main problem is that they are building a car park at the front and side so there were building noises constantly and until 12 one night so not sure that I would recommend it for this year but once the building is finished then I would certainly do so.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    524
    134
    15
    13
See reviews for
166
464
52
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hove
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Went as a group of four for a 4 night break. Really enjoyed the stay - clean modern rooms - we were on the top floor with a sea view.There was work going on where they appeared to be extending but the double glazing was so good there was no noise,
The reception staff were helpful & ordered taxis for us or sold bus tickets cheaper than on the buses ! If there are four of you it is cheaper to get a taxi - ok walking down but an up hill walk back.
There is a Bosnian restaurant right next to the hotel - we thought it was part of it but it wasn't.Had some really good food & wine there and the traditional flat bread was gorgeous.The restaurant in the hotel was only open for guests on a package which we weren't.
Spent quite some time in the bar - comfortable & reasonable.
A lot of the shops & restaurants in the city weren't open as the season hadn't started - meant it was nice to explore.
Well worth a ride in the cable car & a visit to the museum - lots of info about the recent troubles - incredible when you see what damage was done to the city,
Went on a trip to Montenegro - Kotar & lunch at Budva.Our guide Bobo was informative & good company. The scenery was amazing !
Would love to visit again - lovely country & friendly people

Room Tip: Top floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faithfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were there as part of a organised toor. We stayed for two nights.
The place was clean enough, the staff was proffetional enough etc etc., but that was it. no smiles no sign of any attempt to make sure that the guests were happy.
I could bet that the room had not been hovered and when the sheets were changed from one night to the next, the pillowcased were left the same.
The toiletries were reduced to a bottle of secon rate shampoo. even when we asked for a pair of hotel slippers, we were responded negatively even though we try to make them understand that it would be nice for us to walk with wet feet on the carpet or on the bed.

All in all no more than average.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The cleanest and friendliest hotel we have stayed in. Cannot praise them enough. My only complaint was we did not have a double bed, which was not the end of the world given how really good everything else was. Extremely clean rooms, modern and very user friendly with plenty of room and hooks to hang clothes. Alarm cord in the shower.
The staff all speak excellent English and could not have been more helpful. Another good aspect of this hotel is that you are getting 4 star service, but three star prices at the bar and restaurant. Drinks and those little extra nibbles etc did not cause financial quincing as is the case in some higher star hotels.
Finally it is an easy bus ride from the Hotel to Dubrovnik old city (number 4) or just do as we did, a lovely 20 minute walk (tourist pace). Look out for the "love locks" on the fence as you turn right onto the road down to the City.

Room Tip: Staff bend over backwards to make sure you are happy with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I did a travel agent inspection of this 3 star property. It has a pool, gym, spa, wifi that really works well, 160 rooms. Along with double rooms, they also have Quad rooms for 4 people.
The hotel is 14 years old. They replaced the old tv's with flat screens. The front of the hotel is under construction with a garage complex. It's very hilly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank xxxtraveltoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Hotel Lero was the best hotel at this star rating I think I've ever stayed in. Very nice pool, bar and rooms. Food was always ample, drinks reasonably priced and the live music on the terrace in the evening very enjoyable. Rooms were very nicely presented and the walk to town along the sea front cliff always a pleasure (30mins down hill to get there, bit of a hotter walk back up the hill on a sometimes narrow path to get back). The beach was a bit tricky to find and involved a lot of steps but was secluded enough. Excursions went straight from the hotel (enjoyed the pirate ship) so easy to get out and about. Dubrovnik was like being on a movie set (in fact it became a movie set whilst we there) and a walk round the walls is an absolute must - take some water though, it's a long and exposed way. A trip up to the fort in the cable car is pretty spectacular and the islands in the bays decent to explore. Will definitely be going back to Croatia and if it was to Dubrovnik particularly, the Lero will certainly be on our list of possible hotels. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I traveled to Croatia once while in college and stayed at the Hotel Lero. I was back again and found that the hotel has improved in a great many ways. If you travel all over the world you know that what we deem an average hotel here in the states is not the standard in many other parts of the world. The room is small-ish, better size then I was expecting for a European hotel. The beds are comfortable. The room is clean. The bathroom works amazingly. What I like best about this hotel is that it is a very short walk to the old city. Maybe 15 minutes, and it is a straight shot. You pass by a few shops, a place to pick up some groceries, and most importantly an internet cafe. I recommend staying here. I enjoyed it both times and for not a lot of money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank victoriab607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
1.7 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lero

Property: Hotel Lero
Address: Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lero 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lero Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing