We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience at at this hotel”
Review of Hotel Lero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lero
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I had been reading reviews of Hotel Lero since April, knowing that we would be staying in Dubrovnik for 2 nights in July. I was put off by the comments on the parking garage construction noise from earlier in the year, but these disappeared as it got closer to our trip. We had been advised that if we didn't want to go up and down steps for accommodation in the Old Town, that we might want to stay within walking distance of the Pile Gate. After doing lots of research, I made a reservation at Hotel Lero for a twin-bedded room.
We arrived in the early evening on July 18, after a very long day. The person we spoke to at the reception desk could not have been more helpful. He advised us to walk to the Old Town and take the bus back to the hotel, since the trip back is uphill, and we were able to get our bus tickets right there at the hotel. We did this the next day, and it worked out perfectly.
Our room was on the small side, and was on the 5th floor of the renovated building, set back from the road. We had a view of the ocean and we did not notice traffic noise (and I am sensitive to that). The wifi worked. The bathroom layout was cramped but manageable. The breakfast in the restaurant on Saturday morning was just fine. We did not eat dinner in the hotel, but rather walked a short distance to Vapor Restaurant down the road and had an absolutely fantastic meal there on the terrace. Worth saving up to go there.
We had a 6:30am flight from Dubrovnik to catch on Sunday morning, and when we spoke to the desk staff Saturday night, they organized a taxi for us and let us pay for it at the hotel. They also asked us if we wanted to have a breakfast bag since we would be leaving too early to have breakfast. All in all, they made it very easy for us to get to the airport and also have some food to eat.
I swam in the pool which was small as many people have stated; however, my purpose was to cool off after walking around the Old Town for several hours, and not being a sunbather, I did not linger. It was nice to be able to take a dip in the pool. My partner used the gym facilities.
I would stay here again having been there. Some rooms are clearly going to be noisier than others, so it's smart to heed the room tips given by others. The reception staff were great.
All in all, this was a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLero_Dubrovnik, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lero, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

Dear dancesmith,

we truly appreciate such a beautiful and detailed comment about your stay. I am glad to hear that our staff met your expectations. We are really proud of our young and friendly reception staff, which made your vacation more pleasant and easier. If you decide to come back to Dubrovnik, don't hesitate to contact us directly at +38520341333. See you!

Regards,

Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel appears to be quite basic, but once you get under the skin, it's quite nice. It's not expensive, so you have to take that into consideration. It's been recently refurbished and looks quite modern. It's clean, the rooms are spacious. It's about 15 minutes walk from the Old town which is quite nice, as its fairly bustle free. Not much of a view, but you have all the views you want within a few minutes walk. Forget going to the beach, nightmare to get to. There are some nice alternative restaurants very close by. Staff were friendly and efficient, pool is ok, but can get busy in the afternoon. A pleasant stay all in all.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLero_Dubrovnik, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lero, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Dear Nic L,

it's nice to hear that we got under your skin. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasant! Dubrovnik has many beautiful beaches. If you decide to visit us again, our friendly staff will be pleased to help you with some information. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My first impression was that of disappointment as it is on the main road and the pool and sunbathing area were small, with only half of the area in the sun at any time.
But luckily for us this hotel had more positives than negatives. The room was of a high standard, safe was free of charge and we had a mini bar, flat screen TV and hair dryer. It was also one of the best showers I have had. Pool towels were provided and you could use more than one with no deposit required. All staff were exceptionally nice and helpful. Being on the main road near the bus stop to the old town was an asset and the buses were every 15 minutes. I enjoyed the selection of food at breakfast and dinner however every night the desserts were much the same. Overall, this hotel had a nice friendly feel to it.

Room Tip: This hotel only has 7 rooms with balconies, but to be honest we did not miss it. The rooms overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jennieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLero_Dubrovnik, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lero, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Dear jennieGlasgow,

thank you for giving us a chance to correct your first impressions. I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our staff and service. If you're traveling to our area again soon, don't hesitate to contact us directly at +38520341333. We will be more than happy to host you again.

Regards,

Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just back from a lovely week long stay at the hotel lero. Upon booking we requested a room on a high floor and sea view and were delighted when our room had just that. Our bedroom was a good size and had a nice clean modern en suite.

We enjoyed a large selection of food at breakfast and dinner each night which we both thought was very good value for money and served by friendly staff (especially the blonde haired woman).

The pool area is slightly small for the size of the hotel (you have to get up early if you want to reserve a sun bed for the day) but is still a lovely place to relax. The old town is a bit of a walk away but local buses to the old town stop just outside and taxis are pretty cheap!

The staff in General were friendly and professional, however, we had a couple of instances where cleaning staff entered our room early in the morning without knocking or checking if we were in. The second time this happened WE were told off for not bolting our door. A small complaint but slightly annoying for us.

Overall, for a 3 star, this hotel is very good!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gray195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLero_Dubrovnik, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lero, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Dear Gray195,

thank you for your kind comments. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. I will let our blond haired waitress Nada know that you were pleased with her service. Also, our apologies for inconvenience with cleaning staff. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our housekeeping management. I am happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and that we met your expectations. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A 3 star with 4 star facilities. Staff a bit miserable ,but then Croats tend to appear a bit grumpy at the best of time with little customer service ethic. "Yes sir it is on the menu ,but no we don't have it"...was a constant refrain. We had a good saty her .The pool could do with a lot more loungers ,only 30 for a 150 room hotel.
Dubrovnik is like a film set. still evidence of the recent war,but gobsmacking setting. Only 20 mins walk or a £7 taxi ride from the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor front, balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxmeister-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLero_Dubrovnik, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lero, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

Dear foxmeister-10,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the staff. We are constantly improving our service and your critical feedback will help us in training our staff. We are happy that you had a good stay overall and hope you give us another chance if you decide to visit Dubrovnik again.

Kind regards,

Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights last week. The hotel is very modern and clean. We were half board and the evening meal was nice, plenty to eat. The breakfast wasn't to our taste however there was plenty of choice. The blonde waitress in the restaurant is lovely. We had full wifi signal in our room. Overall we were really happy with the stay. Apart from the breakfast the only negative was the lady in the gym who was really rude to us when we asked if we could look at the gym and was it a charge to use the gym. She acted like we had just walked in off the street and then she shut the door in our face. However I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank swans40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLero_Dubrovnik, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lero, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

Dear swans40,

we are glad to hear such nice comments about our lovely hotel. Thank you for taking your time to share them with us. We will let our blonde waitress Nada know that she made an impact during your stay. I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced with the lady in the gym. We recently changed our wellness providers so next time when you visit us you won’t have to deal with her anymore. It’s nice to hear that you had a nice stay overall and that you would stay in Hotel Lero again. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Quiet, clean and spacious hotel situated 20min walk from the Old Town, 10-15min walk to 2 beaches, 5min walk to small supermarket and really nice Bosnian restaurant on ground floor. We stayed here for 6 nights and had a lovely sleep every night, the rooms were a perfect temperature and beds very comfortable. We arrived early at 11.30am but luckily our room was ready so we were allowed straight in. Our room was cleaned to a high standard.

We got the buffet dinner 3 nights and each time we had it we were happy with the quality and freshness of food used. Breakfast was great too with plenty of choice, it is served from 6.30am so we found it was never too busy no matter what time we went.

Outdoor swimming pool is clean and refreshing, usually quite busy though.

Wifi always worked and had good reception.

Would recommend this hotel and will stay here again if I'm ever back in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kiakaha7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLero_Dubrovnik, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lero, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

Wow kiakaha7,

what an amazing review! We are delighted that you can't complain about anything and that you are satisfied with your stay at our quiet, clean and spacious hotel. Thank you for your recommendation. We will be happy to host you again!

See you,

Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#25 of 68 in Dubrovnik
597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
790 reviews
1.7 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lero

Address: Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £49 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lero 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Lero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lero Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing