We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could go back!”
Review of Neptun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neptun Hotel
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed here last summer with my family and we all absolutely loved it! The only downside to the holiday was that we booked 9 nights rather than 14! The hotel was excellent, the pool area was lovely, however slightly crowded and some rocky parts near the sea were slippery and would possibly be unsafe for young children if they wanted to swim in the sea. The weather was perfect, hot but bearable, one thunder storm one morning but as soon as it stopped the sun came out and everyone ran back out again, and it was dry in no time. To get into Dubrovnik from the hotel, all you have to do is walk for 2 minutes out of the hotel and jump on the buses which come very regularly, the restaurants and shops in Dubrovnik were all open till late, and the restaurants all served delicious food. In the hotel there was a restaurant called Zoe's, which we ate in at lunch time but never for dinner as it was quite pricey, so we usually just ate at the buffet restaurant or in Dubrovnik. The food was nice and quite varied at dinner time, but at breakfast it was the same every morning, but there was still a lot of choice so it never bothered us. The room was spacious and was cleaned very regularly, and the maid was absolutely lovely and the views from our room were amazing! All of the staff were very helpful and kind and made it even more difficult to leave! The coastal path to Lapad was a lovely walk to go and have some lunch or go to the supermarket, all along the path were little bathing platforms over the sea which we were tempted to go on but never did which I regret now.
Overall it was a fantastic holiday and hope to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetter120796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We are just back from a 7 day stay at the Hotel Neptun which forms part of the Importanne resort. If you are considering a stay here then also read Trip Advisor reviews for Importanne Resort as well as the Hotel Neptun which will give a broader view of the facilities.

Although I've graded the hotel as very good we have stayed in far plusher and grander 4 star establishments across the world. Probably the two points which we found slightly disappointing were the fairly small but functional double room with a standard sized double bed and very small bathroom with shower only and the fairly repetitive and uninspiring breakfast and dinner buffets. The room however served our purposes and was clean and comfortable and we never went hungry throughout the week. We did find the drinks prices in the restaurant expensive though - a bottle of wine came in at around 240 kuna (£30) and the food quality did not merit good wine. After dinner try a visit to the fairly plush terrace of the Lobby Bar of the next door Valamar President for a coffee , beer or cocktail and watch the stunning sunsets.

The Importanne resort location is near the point of the Babin Kuk peninsula next to the Valamar Dubrovnik President. The pathway leading to the Lapad beach area took us a 20 minute pleasant stroll. If you enjoy swimming then look for the various rocky swimming and sunbathing spots along the walkway which can be accessed from the pathway.The number 6 bus terminal for the old town is about 150 metres from the hotel. Bus tickets cost 12 kuna per journey from the bus driver but can be purchased for 10 kuna each from the hotel information desk or reception. The buses are frequent throughout the day and there is almost always one sitting at the terminus outside the Valamar President. The bus gets very busy on the 15 minute journey to the old town but as you will join it at the start of the route seats are invariably available.

In summary the Neptun 'does what it says on the tin' and will provide a functional and pleasant base for a stay in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This hotel is set atop of cliffs overlooking the Adriatic. There are 3 pools and 2 of them are saltwater surrounded by decks with towel service and bar service. The kids play in the pool while parents can jump of rocks into the sea where there is a gorgeous deep swimming area. The concierge service is great and all of the staff were very helpful. See Mia for a mani pedi in the spa. The food was great in all of the restaurants and they provide a nice breakfast buffet. Take a direct bus into the Old Town of Dubrovnik definitely one of the most beautiful cities in the World. DIne at Gils for Michelin star french cuisine in the old town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelley_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my wife in July 2011. We enjoyed our stay very much.

The staff was very helpful, polite and friendly, offering us information whenever we asked them, even though some was not related to the hotel.

The rooms were modernly furnished and well equipped (26’’ LCD TV, mini bar, air conditioner, safe, hairdryer), and the buffet breakfast and dinner were delicious, with a rich variety of food, with new elements every day.

The hotel had access to the sea and offered the tourists free sun beds, umbrellas and beach towels. Also we had free use of air conditioning, safe, parking, indoor swimming pool and sauna, WI-FI and also 2 computers in the lobby, and a ping pong table, which not all hotels offer for free.

We also liked that we had slippers and bathrobes in the room (after 3 days we received new pairs of slippers).

The view from the room was impressing, large cruise ships coming and leaving from one of the two ports of Dubrovnik virtually passed by our balcony almost every morning and evening.

The water was crystal clear; you could actually see fish swimming around you.

Only one thing could be improved, which is the bathroom. It hasn’t been renewed over the last years, as the tile is a rather old model, totally different from the rest of the hotel’s and the room’s appearance. (I don't know if all bathrooms are like that or only some of them).

Dubrovnik is an excellent place to spend the holidays, offering both relaxation (beach and crystal water, cruises to near islands) and culture (impressing old city). It is not a cheap place to spend the holidays in, though. Like everything else, accommodation is expensive in Croatia, and this hotel didn’t make an exception (it was the most expensive hotel we have ever stayed in during our vacations). But it was worth it, we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a renewed bathroom, if there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ketchup1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We spent four delightful days at the Hotel Neptun, part of the Importanne Resort complex. Although the room was a bit on the small side, we hardly noticed it because there is so much available on site and nearby. The food at the breakfast buffet was very good, while the setting is spectacular - a balcony overlooking the Adriatic. It's a short walk down the pedestrian pathway to the Lapad Beach area, with many cafes, restaurants and other ways to entertain oneself. And the #6 bus takes you from the President Hotel next door to Pile Gate in about 20 minutes, running frequently for early morning until after midnight. Definitely a good choice in Dubrovnik

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Im from Australia and stayed at Neptun Hotel for 6 nights on my own. I was looking for a hotel that felt safe and this hotel was perfect, it has 24 hour reception and information centre with good security. A t night the beach bar is open until 1am which was good as i didnt want to be on my own out somewhere during the night for safety reasons. If you love the ocean then this is the hotel for you. The hotel is directly opposite the ocean with sun chairs to lounge in. The buffet breakfast is excellent and so is the service. The internet is free, they have a beauty salon ,gym, sauna and indoor pool. The bus stop is a 2 minute walk away and takes 15 minutes to old city, you wont be able to walk. From the hotel there is a walking path which is 20 minutes along the beach that will take you to the shopping district and restaurants and cafes. Great views. Please for that extra bit on money book the sea view room because it is awesome. This hotel has 5 star service!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This hotel is clearly designed for tourists, but it also has some very nice, clean, mini-suites that are suitable for business travelers to Dubrovnik. On balance I give it a 4 rating, although its probably more like a 3.5+

Disclosure:I stayed in a mini-suite that was about 35% larger than a typical room.

Plus points: Clean well appointed rooms. Outside parking area for hire car, internet was free and good quality (wired and wireless). Good pool, reasonable fitness area, good views. Easy trip by taxi (15 mins) to Dubrovnik old city.

Not so plus for business: Its essentially a tourist hotel so many groups coming and going and reception can be chaotic at times. Breakfast was fine but not stellar. One important point: some of the rooms (mine) had no safe, so ask before hand, if this is important. None of the rooms have irons/ironing boards, which is a pain if you are on business. They do have an area you can go to use an iron and this was satisfactory although certainly not ideal... or you can pay them to do it...

Staff were fine and considerate, albeit oriented to a typical 'no-nonsense' approach to be expected from dealing with hordes of foreign 'bus tourists' on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,007 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptun Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £73 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded seaside hotel surrounded by nature with panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea and nearby islands. Only a short ride to the majestic Old Town of Dubrovnik. All restaurants and beach bar have open air terraces only a few meters from the coast line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Neptun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Neptun Hotel
Hotel Neptun Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing