We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Neptun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neptun Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, good hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had a lovely time in this hotel, the staff are very positive and helpful, and I had a fantastic view from my 7th floor room over 2 bays (stunning!!!) if a little too high up for me, as I do have a fear of heights and found it difficult to get too near the edge of the balcony. Tea making facilities so it was great to sit on the balcony with a cup of tea and admire the stunning view.

Breakfast was a pleasure, even bucks fizz with ice, lots of choice of everything, great outside seating area with amazing views, I just loved sitting there in the mornings.

So easy to get into Dubrovnik by No.6 bus stopping right near hotel as the last stop, so always got a seat. Coming home at night was a bit of a scramble though, a few times I didnt think I would get on as so many people use that bus. It was good to stay just a little outside Dubrovnik as it can get a bit mad with the crowds, and to go home to some peace and quiet at the end of the day.

The cocktail bar overlooking the sea is very pleasant. Nice pool and lovely spa. Can't fault this hotel at all, although not luxurious in the bedrooms, its really OK and I found the bed very comfortable.

The reception staff were exceptionally good at their jobs and speak good English. The reception manager even spent time with me explaining what happened when the war broke out in 1991. It was very interesting. They really do want the world to know how it all happened.

The walks around the hotel by the coastline are beautiful. The More hotel is a few minutes walk away, with cave bar and great place to sit out and have a drink.

I would definitely return to the Neptun. Thanks to the gorgeous setting and the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: go as high as possible overlooking sea. Avoid rooms near reception as they are noisy. (Rooms 106 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jezjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    292
    69
    14
    4
See reviews for
153
427
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cobh, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This month we stayed for 5 nights half board at Neptun Hotel, part of the Importanne Resort, a group of 4 hotels and the Villa Enrica. We were in Dubrovnik for a conference hosted in the nearby Royal Princess Hotel. Our room on the 6th floor had a magnificent view. At present there is building going on, so be prepared for some extra noise. Some 8 years ago we had visited another hotel in the Dubrovnik area, and our experience had been a bit mixed, particularly in terms of some Croatians' understanding of the concept 'service'! We were delighted to be greeted on our arrival by friendly, helpful reception staff, including Nicola, Daniele and Arjan. We had opted for half board, and were not disappointed. Obviously with buffet style service, one has to be prepared that main dishes are being kept warm (or lukewarm). So if you want your food piping hot, arrive early! Every day there were lots of choices, and the selection of hors d'oeuvres and salads were particularly impressive. The atmosphere in the dining room is relaxed, and the diners are greeted with a smile. The chef is delighted to answer questions about dishes, even in a foreign language. We were lucky enough that the last few days of our stay we had good weather, and were able to breakfast on the balcony. You can even accentuate that holiday feeling with a glass of sparkling wine at breakfast! I hope to visit Hotel Neptun again, with its 3 pools (indoor, fresh water and seawater), and enjoy more expresso macchiatos at the 'On the Rocks' bar. The coastal walkway to Lapad is a delight in itself. Well done, all at the Neptun!

Room Tip: The view to the northwest (we were in room 613) was breathtaking. I hope the building work will soon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ingemarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just got back from a week in dubrovnik. Stayed at the Neptune hotel. What a beautiful hotel. Very clean, well kept. Very friendly staff. Although we only had bed and breakfast it was lovely and plentiful. Pool area was lovely, especially down by the sea area. Dubrovnik itself is beautiful. You must go in the cablecar and have lunch on the terrace cafe. Not to be missed. Bus to the old town is very near (bus number 6). You can buy tickets from reception for cheaper than the bus. Also easier. There are some really good restaurants within easy walking distance. We did originally book the Kompass hotel a short distance away, but once booked discovered the refurbishment that was supposed to be taking place there was no longer not going ahead, so changed to Neptune instead. So, so glad we did. Was so happy with our choice, especially after seeing Kompass. Could be ok but looked very tired outside. Would definitely stay at Neptune again.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher room, with definitely a seaview. Breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Rooms are exceptionally clean and spacious. Wonderful view of the Adriatic from our large balcony. Breakfast buffet has good variety of dishes. Grounds/pools are well maintained. A 3 minute walk to the number 6 bus takes you to Old Town with just a few stops along the way. Bus tickets can be purchased at the front desk.

Room Tip: View of the Adriatic a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWATravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff. Perfect hotel for a visit to Dubrovnik, as the bus stops almost outside the hotel and brings you to the Gates of the town in about 15mins and all for 12 Kuna.(get tickets at hotel reception)
The hotel itself is spotless in all areas. Our room was a standard double with a side sea view, and small balcony with two chairs and bistro table. The room itself was not very big. There was a double bed, with a shelf/drawer on only one side of the bed. It had a wardrobe with both shelves and hanging space (lots of hangers), with a safe in it. Other then that, there was a shelf type dressing table, which had a mini bar and stool under it. The room sadly lacked a chair or two. I took one in off the balcony. The bathroom also, is compact, but with a nice size shower. There was always lots of hot water, but you need to run the taps for awhile before it comes through. The breakfast was very good, with a wide range of food that is continuously being topped up. Again I must compliment the staff ,who kept tables cleared and clean.
There is a lovely walk along the sea front to a range of pubs and restaurants.

My overall view of the hotel is that I would recommend it, just don't expect too much from a standard room (spotless, but not as big as a room in a four star hotel in Ireland)
Also, for those with walking difficulties or in wheel chairs, I feel they might have problems as there are a lot of different levels and therefore a lot of steps.

Room Tip: If you are booking a standard room with sea view - look for one on a upper floor that has the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tramoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. It was an average hotel just worth the price I paid for. The breakfast buffet was excellent and I did expect it to be outside the Old City. the bus stop to the Old Cityi was 10 minutes away. However, they are doing some renovation work so the gate closest to the bus stop is currently close and this means an extra 10 minutes walk. The guy at the front desk did drove us twice to the bus stop. It was really nice of him:)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tates12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is Babin Kuk peninsula, right on the beach. The hotel has a nice small indoor
pool, gymn and they do different type of massage. We tried a classical massage, which was
absolutely great. It's worth to have it. Breakfast and dinner is buffet with lot of different choose.
There is two lovely outdoor swimming pool, which unfortunetly we couldn't use, because the weather wasn't great. I can imagine summer time should be brilliant to swim in this pools.
If you take a shuttle bus from the airport to the old city, first buy a bus ticket at the kiosk for HRK
12 p/p and take bus nr 6. It can be very full. Then rather wait for the next bus. It takes about 20
minutes to the hotel.
Only negative things: Walls are very thin, if you have a noisy neighbour then you can hear everything. The day when we left, there was only one receptionist, who wasn't very friendly.
We asked to store our suitcases for a couple hours, but they left in the hallway next to the reception all the time.

To go back to the airport probably better to book a private transfer. We booked our transfer
through Metro Tours (Hrk 180) - found them in the old town - they take only cash) - picked in
time - good service
We booked a day trip to Montenegro through Amigo Tours - based in the old town - it was excellent trip. Well organised, good driver & guide - Gabrielle - very good day.

Room Tip: Aske for a sea view and higher level. Quiet????
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cabbage57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,810 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptun Hotel

Property: Neptun Hotel
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded seaside hotel surrounded by nature with panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea and nearby islands. Only a short ride to the majestic Old Town of Dubrovnik. All restaurants and beach bar have open air terraces only a few meters from the coast line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Neptun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Neptun Hotel
Hotel Neptun Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing