We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Neptun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Neptun Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Stayed here twice in 2009 and will stay again in june 2010. Staff were the frlendliest I've come across in Croatia (I've stayed in about 10 different hotels in Croatia). The GM, Kreso Tomic, is great as are his reception staff who seem to have his dry wit. A couple of the waitresses were a bit grumpy in the morning but come dinner time they must have had their caffeine fix and were transformed. We were upgraded on both visits. Suites were great with 2 bathrooms, sitting room, enormous balcony, large closets, microwave, fridge, etc. Having seen the bedrooms in the renovated part of the Neptune, they look big, nice bathrooms, and nice balconies. We have sea views which were amazing. Very quiet rooms.

The pool area is very good. And no, there isn't a sand beach, but thats the way it is in Croatia for the most part. And who wants sand anyway as it gets everywhere. There's a kids pool, a few showers, good drinks service, steps into the sea,loungers, umbrellas, etc.

The buffet breakfast was good. All kinds of everything. Food at dinner was also buffet but also good. Its simple but simple doesn't mean bad. Don't pay separately for the dinner as its very pricey for a buffet. You might as well go half board and eat out a few nights. I see there was a review that complained how there were wasps and cats outside at the dining area. EAT INSIDE. If you want a laugh, eat outside and watch some kids run for cover when wasps arrive.

The gym is very small but is very quiet (at 6am anyway!). Dumbbells are light enough going up to around 30kgs. There's a smith machine, small cable machine, a small multi-station for pulldowns, rows, leg curls, leg extensions, tri-pulldowns. Couple of treads and xtrainers. While the massage/spa isn't exactly luxury, the therapists were very good. Had a sports massage and the woman was a physio so she knew what she was doing.

The area is quiet and a 20 minute bus ride from the Old Town. Its about a 10 minute walk to the shops, restaurants, food shops, etc of Lapad.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dredd2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    300
    72
    16
    4
See reviews for
161
439
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

From the moment we collected our room key to the moment we (reluctantly) handed it back a week later, the Neptun never failed to impress. The service was highly professional yet personal with a humorous friendly touch. Nothing was too much - bus tickets (buy them from reception), hiring a car (delivered to the hotel), detailed advice about travelling to Mostar and Montenegro (not in the same day!) - the staff could not have been more helpful. We were up-graded on arrival to the 'penthouse' suite (I've no idea why!) but all of the rooms command magnificent views out across the Adriatic to the islands offshore. The room was immaculate (the hotel has been recently refitted). The only blemish was the size of the TV but who on earth would come to such a stunning location to watch unintelligible TV? The bed was firm but comfy; shower (or in our case showers) modern and hot; plenty of storage space; and a fabulous veranda (or in our case verandas) to watch the sunset.
Prior to booking our Croatia holiday, we had read that some people had struggled to fill a week in Dubrovnik. Don't believe it for one minute! The old city needs 2 days at least; then there's a trip out to one of the islands - we went to Lopud and spent a glorious day walking the excellent paths around the island; visit the Trsteno arboretum a few miles north of Dubrovnik and don't miss the path down to the tiny harbour below the gardens (look at the cover photo on the rough Guide to Croatia!); then hire a car and visit Mostar - you won't regret the drive and the town is beautiful; head south to Montenegro for the day - the Kotor bay is like a Norwegian fjord. If you like hairpins and awesome views, then drive to the summit of Lovjen.
Dubrovnik was simply gorgeous (I have now officially run out of superlatives) and made all the more so by the Neptun hotel. Did I forget to mention the swimming pools on the rocky shore below the hotel? Or the huge breakfast?
One last thing - eating out in the evening is a highly variable experience. It took us until the last evening to find the Levanat just 50m away from the Neptun on the sea front. Superb food, lovely atmosphere and very reasonably priced (same as a good British pub).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RossandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia, Moscow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This was a great experience. We spent 8 days in the hotel with a break inbetween (we travelled to Montenegro for a couple of days) and when we came the 2nd time they provided us with the same room we stayed the 1st time and which we liked so much! It was so nice of them. The room (panoramic sea view) was big and very comfortable with a big bathroom, very clean and everything necessary. We arrived late in the evening and when I woke up in the morning and went out to the balcony my first reaction was "Wowww!!!" - the sun was shining brightly and in front of me there was the sea and islands! Such a beauty even in late December!!! There was free Internet connection in the room and nice breakfasts with plenty of food. The waiter with coffee was very polite and the coffee was fantastic! The staff were very friendly with a good sense of humour, also very helpful - when we arrived in the evening we discovered that the towel-dryer didn't work - the next morning everything was Ok. I was pleasantly impressed with the hotel and with my stay in Dubrovnik. There is a good car parking in front of the hotel. The only tip if you rent a car - get a good map of Dubrovnik, we couldn't locate a hotel so fast when we were searching for it at night using a GPS.
When I come to Dubrovnik next time (and I will definitely do it) I will stay only in Neptun!!! Oh, god, the view from my room and the nature around the hotel were so beautiful!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stasia1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

The buffet dinners were appaling. Breakfasts were all right. The service in the dining room was grudging. Our room was tiny and the bathroom smelt strongly of damp.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The staff were very helpful and full of useful advice on the local area as well as excursions. Room was lovely and breakfast was good, wonderful views and a great pool area. 10 mins from Old Town on the bus and we never had to wait more than a minute or two. We couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. We would definitely go back

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Real_Mr_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I cannot say enough good things about the Neptun Hotel. In fact, I liked it so much I went back a few weeks later. There are reasons some hotels stand out more than others and the staff would be the #1 reason for staying at this hotel. The view from my room was gorgeous. The service in ALL areas was top notch. I have found my new favorite place... Dubrovnik !!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsamza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We booked a double room with sea view and were given a room with twin beds. After questioning why, we were advised that the double bed is too small for 2 people and the twin was much bigger. We ended up paying more to upgrade to a room which had a bed big enough for 2 people. This is clearly a misleading practice by the hotel as everywhere else we stayed a double was a big enough bed. The hotel ran out of hot water 2 days out of 4 and we had to wait 30-1hr for it to come back. The hotel advises sushi and nightly functions that dont exist. The reception staff are good but the service in the restaurant is slow and rude. There are cats everywhere which I witnessed licking teapots that had been finished with and cat chuck in a restaurant not being used. The breakfast terrace was so overrun by wasps people had to eat inside. I could not recommend this hotel as there are plenty of others to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacarandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptun Hotel

Property: Neptun Hotel
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded seaside hotel surrounded by nature with panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea and nearby islands. Only a short ride to the majestic Old Town of Dubrovnik. All restaurants and beach bar have open air terraces only a few meters from the coast line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Neptun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Neptun Hotel
Hotel Neptun Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing