We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a city break and more”
Review of Neptun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Neptun Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great choice for a city break and more”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Just had a 4 day break and am over the moon at choosing the Neptun as our base.
Beautiful location and only 20 mins on the bus from the old City. (Last bus home 02.45!!)
Our tour operater classed this as a 3* but if the breakfast choices had been a little more sophistocated i.e. decent natural or pro-biotic yoghurt instead of one type of cheap individual pots, seeds and berries, and fresh squeezed orange (they had a machine in the bar) instead of carton stuff it would be another star higher.
Very nice looking public areas and lovely bar terraces with 'trendy' wicker and white cushion sofas - and amazing views. There were several little places to sit away from the masses dotted around aswell.
The room was smallish but nicely decorated, comfy beds and robes and slippers! Not usual to get those in a holiday hotel unless 4-5*, and again, the great views.
Sunbathing was on rocky multi levelled areas, with private nooks and crannies, ladders into the sea.
Lunchtime food was good on the whole, but follow the coast path round and lots more eateries 15 minute walk away.
All in all this was a perfect location if you want to spend lots of time in the old City but want a chill/sunbathing holiday break aswell, rather than just a city break.
Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.
One question: Are we the only ones that think the general fare on offer in almost every restaurant/cafe around Dubrovnik is bland unless you like fish? The menus are all the same and the quality quite poor. Don't go there expecting fine dining!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsetginandtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    310
    73
    16
    4
See reviews for
167
451
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Hotel staff issued me with three sets of room keys before I was able to get into the room. The complex is huge so walking back and forth to reception was a real pain.

Our room was pleasant but not what we had booked. The bed had hairs in the duvet, bath and toilet contained unflushed human waste. Not what you expect for €300 for one nights stay.

Avoid. There are better, cheaper and more professionally run establishments nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ec1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This hotel is used by big tours so is very functional vs special. It is however very good value with 4 pools, great breakfast, good location right on the water and clean nice sized rooms. The staff were lovely and the facilties all above average. Very easy to move around if you have a baby pram like us. Our view of the ocean was absolutely beautiful, so much better than the place we stayed in Hvar [Amfora] for twice the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
309 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Our reservation was made about eight weeks prior to arrival, and confirmed days before. We needed two rooms, and only one was available. Two staffers rather dramatically wrung hands and worked the computers. Then the owner/manager found the second room. We figured out that European beaches are best left to Europeans in the month of August.

This is not where you go for sandy beaches, gentle surf, and a highly equipped lifeguard station whose staff never takes their eyes off the swimmers. There are at least three pools, and one of them is fresh water. Then there is the Adriatic, right there, with even small children jumping in from the rocky outcrops.

Our rooms were at the Ariston, next door to the Neptune. The Ariston is clean and well equipped. In particular, a maid who has something to do with the 1200 level rooms was helpful and competent. In the restaurant, Jozo is a splendid combination of professionalism and friendliness. He will go far in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuViPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed here in early August, Hotel Staff were outstanding and never let down even for a second. The hotel is about :25 minutes from old town but the number 6 bus leaves every :10 minutes or so going down and back. The pools are good but be careful of the rocks at the beach and the undertow when the wind is blowing from the west/northwest! A tip is to buy your bus tickets ROUNDTRIP as there is always a cue to buy them on the way back.
We took the car in to old town but spent :45 minutes trying to park so we finally stuck with the bus. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety, We went one day to visit MonteNegro and had a pleasant trip there but on the way back there was a line at customs going in to Croatia that took us 1 hour and 15 minutes to pass through, something Croatia authorities should try to alleviate if they want the all mighty tourist dollar/euro! They only allow you :15 minutes of free Internet use, then you have to get another "chit" for another :15 minutes. If you ask they will give you 2 or 3 "chits".

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packersbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Just returned from a week at the Hotel Neptun. It is a perfect base to visit the city of Dubrovnik but also stay somewhere peaceful near the coast to relax! It is about 10 minutes on the bus (depending on the time of day) to go into Dubrovnik, the buses were very frequent, but usually very crowded. I expect other times of the year they are less so.

The hotel is clean and well organised, and the service mostly excellent. The breakfast was pleantiful, didnt eat much in the evening at the hotel but the food in restaurant Zoe was very good on the couple of occasions that we did eat in. There are also several other good restuarants in the area if you dont want to go into Dubrovnik every day.
The room was comfortable and clean, and had amazing views of the islands.

Agree with previous reviewers comments about the concierge though, found her useless, wanted to book some trips but ended up going to the many tour operators in the nearby shopping centre, which were much more helpful (and cheaper!)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Hotel Neptun is located on the tip of the Babin Kuk peninsula about 15 minutes walk from Lapad Bay. The Hotel More,a small boutique hotel on the pine fringed path between the Neptun and Lapad Bay has a lovely restaurant. The location is very peaceful and has lovely views of the Elaphiti Islands.Lapad Bay is a small tourist resort with a pebble beach ,a reasonable selection of bars and restaurants and an attractive promenade. The seafront terrace of the Kompas Hotel was a nice spot for lunch and the bar near the Neptun,The Levanet good for a late night drink. The hotel was very clean and well run, food of a good standard for buffet style,staff professional and helpful The rooms are a little small and short of clothes hanging space but view from balcony stunning. There is a large sunbathing area at sea level with 2 salt water pools but the nicest pool is a small freshwater infinity pool with surrounding terrace at an upper level. All of the outside areas including the restaurant terrace are lovely with breathtaking ocean views and lovely squashy sofas,very relaxed feel. Our only regret was that we did not spend more time in Dubrovnik itself as the city is beautiful but it was so hot,all we could think of was getting in the pool!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#16 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
870 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptun Hotel

Property: Neptun Hotel
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded seaside hotel surrounded by nature with panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea and nearby islands. Only a short ride to the majestic Old Town of Dubrovnik. All restaurants and beach bar have open air terraces only a few meters from the coast line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Neptun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Neptun Hotel
Hotel Neptun Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing