We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Splendid, more So-So”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 22 August 2012

First of all the positives: A superb location with excellent views, easy access to lots of local (and very nice) restaurants, lovely spot by the sea and very simple to get to the Old City by local bus. The young lad who carries the suitcases is the most pleasant and chatty member of staff and deserves a mention!

However, there are lots of other hotels in the area of Lapad most of which are from the same company that owns Hotel Splendid, they range from 3-5*. We would definitely return to Lapad but not to Hotel Splendid.

We often stay in 3* hotels, particularly if it is a couple of evenings and in a city, But the rooms are dated and suffering from mould this is accentuated when the air-con is on and made the room smell very unpleasant. We were unfortunate that the hotel was having a local Croatian party so we were forced to sleep with air-con on as the party went on to the early hours and was below our room. My partner politely asked reception what time the party would end and was told, 'Don't know, maybe midnight'. He asked if we could change rooms as we had an early start and were told, 'No, full' and the night porter closed the door! We are not against hotels putting on parties and accept this is part of the business, however, the communication from the staff was rude.

Another example, was on our final night when the restaurant manager wouldn't let us sit in the restaurant outside terrace with a drink. Fair enough if it were busy, but of the 60 or so tables only 3 were occupied and it was 9.30pm!

Definitely go to Lapad, especially if you have a family but pay a bit more and avoid Hotel Splendid.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies, worth checking as the air con isn't pleasant,
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for writing this review.

We are very sorry we didn't meet your expectations but we'll definitely keep in mind all the suggestions you wrote when we renovate our hotel.

I would like to mention that all the rooms in our hotel have balconies. Technical difficulties that you experienced and warned us about will be removed.

Thank you for being our guest.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Splendid
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Splendid for a week in August 2012. We drove from Zagreb to Dubrovnik and enjoyed all the three star B&B's we were booked at except this one. We were very disappoinated in the Splendid which was a shame because we were booked for a week. The hotel staff were nice enough, however, on our last day (check out is at noon) we were leaving for the airport at 2 pm. I asked the front desk manager if we could get a late check-out until 1 and he replied "no ... but two hours to wait in the lobby is not too bad!!" The only thing the maid did daily was make our bed. Our bathroom, shower gel, and emptying our gabage pail was a hit or miss. When I wanted a decent cup of coffee with breakfast, I was charged extra. The coffee in the dining room was in a large white container that had a tube running into the coffee machine! The breakfast was ok, however, the bread that was to be used in the toaster was always stale (I guess on the assumption that you are going to toast it!) and everything was luke warm. As well, I did not enjoy all the kittens that were in the outdoor restaurant. At one point, there was one on the table next to us eating some fellow's bacon when he went into get coffee. Use of the lounge chairs and umbrellas was extra. Butter with lunch was extra. Wifi in the lobby only.

On the plus side, it is easy to get a bus into town. A ten minute bus ride and the buses leave on the quarter hour. The location is great , nice view and there are lots of local restaurants at Lapad Beach if you didn't feel like going into town. I would really only give this hotel a two star rating.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a seaside view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luckyme007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank for staying in our hotel and for your detailed description of our services which will help us to improve in the future.

We are very sorry that we were not able to assure you late check-out because we had a large group of guests coming in that day.

Because of the technical difficulties in our hotel we are not able to install WI FI in the rooms but we are planning to work on that during the next hotel renovation.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here2 nights June 5 and 6. Ample parking, very welcoming reception staff eager to assist with luggage and all our questions. Twin room with usable balcony viewing a pond and garden then on to the sea. room spacious with usual amenities that all worked and WI-Fi. Bar and dining area has a pleasant terrace, dinner was either a very extensive buffet or a la carte, we found the buffet to our liking, the food manager was on hand to offer advice as to the content of each dish and drink waiter was active, same applied at breakfast, assistance was given when leaving regarding our luggage, we certainly had a Splendid experience

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as the last part of a 2week holiday in Croatia and chose this hotel due to the location being outside of Dubrovnik and next to the sea.
It's ok, the rooms are very dated but clean with a flood view of the sea, note that there is no lift which was not a problem for us but could be for some, although the staff did help with luggage.
There is free wi-fi with a decent connection and a good bus network running until early hours every 15 minutes from just outside the hotel.
The breakfast- this was our 6th hotel of the 2 week trip and it may have been that we were fed up with this sort of breakfast, but this was the only one we decided to miss and go to a local cafe, not a great selection, hardly any fruit and poor quality produce.
The worst thing about this hotel is that you had to pay for sunbeds even though we were guests, which I have never known before and they were more expensive than those on the public beach!
The best thing was the location, which is beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPP_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We just returned from our stay at the Hotel Splendid, and I have to say both my partner and myself loved it!

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by very welcoming hotel staff that provided us with all the information we require. We went up to our room in the old part of the hotel, with our bags being carried by a young and friendly member of staff who wanted to chat about our visit and offer some advice about visiting the old town. When we arrived in the room we were initially slightly disappointed with the décor. The room itself was quite dated, with some paint pealing off the wall, a very old ‘box’ TV and a dated carpet. The view was over the bay, although largely obscured by trees.

Although this sounds negative, we were actually very comfortable. The bed was firm and afforded us very restful nights sleep. The trees blocking the sun meant that the heat (which was very very hot) stopped the room from being unbearable and the TV wasn’t used as we were in such an amazing place, why would we want to watch TV?

Our first evening we made our way down to the beach bar and had a drink whilst watching the sun set (which was amazing). The guys at the bar were very friendly and helpful and pour a decent beer. Throughout the course of the holiday we would eat in this bar 3 times and the food is lovely (I recommend the squid).

We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was lovely. My partner had a spinach risotto which was delicious and I went for grilled scampi which were so good I wanted them again! The staff were (as expected as they were all great) very helpful and friendly. The sunset was beautiful as well. I think that it’s worth noting here that the hotel offer a half board option which we didn’t participate in as there are so many restaurants to choose from, each offering fresh seafood caught that day. You may wish to go half board, and the buffet food they were offering did look ok. The restaurants in Lapad are excellent though, so if you can afford it I would say don’t bother with half board and make the most of trying the different restaurants in the area.

The breakfast offered was nice with eggs, sausages, bacon, cheese, fresh fruit and cereal. There are several kittens that will come over to request some food. If you’re not a cat person, don’t worry, they won’t approach you unless you offer food.

The only other thing I would note is that if you have a bath in the old part of the hotel it won’t drain properly. When pulling the plug the bathroom flooded through the drainage hole. This was an issue which we reported to the hotel staff. To their credit, they sent a handyman immediately but unfortunately he couldn’t fix the problem (even though he said he had). The second time he came he was slightly grumpy about it and still didn’t fix it so I think it was a plumbing issue with that part of the hotel. Luckily this wasn’t a major issue as we had showers everyday but this is the reason they have lost a star.

Overall the hotel was excellent. If you’re looking at here rather than somewhere like the President or Uvala it is because you’re looking for something a little cheaper. This is well worth the money with an excellent beach area, plenty of loungers, very friendly staff and nice food on offer. This is great value for money and a lovely place.

I think we’ll be back next summer!

Room Tip: I would request the newer part of the hotel (on the left) and pay the extra for a sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indianad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We've just returned from 8 nights at Hotel Splendid and chose a sea view room - a definite for those sunny mornings and wonderful Croatian sunsets! We arrived during a bank holiday weekend but there were still sunbeds on the rocky beach, which seems very popular with locals. We really enjoyed sunning with the locals as we felt less like tourists. The water is just fantastic: lots of coast to snorkel, kayak, jet ski or just chill out. Note there are rocky coves rather than sandy stretches. The hotel beach bar has good drinks but overpriced meals. Breakfast was cold cheese & meats, hot eggs & bacon, bread rolls, fruit, juice, hot drinks - enough but nothing fancy. We ate outside overlooking the bay which was wonderful. There is a 15-min bus to the old city every 20 mins or the port is 30 mins walk to reach the islands. Otherwise, a 5 min walk to local/tourist restaurants & shops. The rooms are comfortable with air-con & fridge but slightly dated in decor only. All the staff were very sweet and friendly - they really made us feel welcome and answered all our tourist questions! Average in style but we loved the slightly by-gone feel. However, excellent for friendliness and environment!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the little extra for sea views!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent 12 days in June. Found Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine - cold meats - hot food and pastries, loads of fresh fruit. Fabulous to sit outside having breakfast looking out to sea and giving bits of food to the local cats. Beach Bar was grand with lovely drinks and food. Expensive to have to pay for deck chairs and brolly daily, feel guests should have these free. In all the hotels we have stayed in never had to pay before.

Bedroom basic but clean - found bed very hard - the addition of memory foam mattress would be great. Lovely view across the bay.Sunsets amazing. Very quiet no entertainment at all not even background music in the evenings.

Big problem for anyone with back or knee problems as there are 56 steps from Reception to main road and from reception to the beach much the same. As there are no internal lifts it is quite tiring to go from Restuarant/Bar to your room particularly if higher than first floor.

Would have no problem going back except for the steps.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Masarykov put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £47 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a picturesque Mediterranean garden leading down to a private beach, the Splendid hotel is a perfect getaway for couples who want to take a break from everyday life and spend some romantic time together. It is situated in beautiful Lapad Bay. A bus leaves every 15 minutes for Dubrovnik's historical quarter. The Lapad Bay promenade with many shops, restaurants and cafe bars as well as large shopping mall are within walking distance from the hotel. The bright and airy double rooms with pleasantly decorated interiors and air-conditioning open onto balconies boasting stunning sea views. Single rooms are with balcony and park view. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian cuisine in the indoor and outdoor restaurant and have a refreshing cocktail on the romantic terrace overlooking the Lapad Bay. The complimentary breakfast as well as dinner are served in buffet style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Splendid Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing