We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position the only plus....”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 11 August 2013

First room was on ground floor needed serious updating, broken hair dryer held together with tape which was dirty, shower didn't stay in the holder or rise up the wall bracket. Room was full of small sewer flies we killed at least 20! View fabulous and small concrete beach on which you have to pay for loungers and umbrellas!! Maintenance was supposed to go in and repair the above problems whilst we were out that evening and they went in but left the ground floor patio doors wide open and we ended up with one item missing so we reckon we must have arrived back as someone was entering the room! The manager paid us the cost of the missing item and moved us upstairs but I would still not recommend this hotel. It is the 21st century and WiFi is only available in the lobby area! They could have a fabulous hotel (it probably was 3* 20 years ago) but they need to spend some serious money on it to upgrade it! Plenty more choice in Dubrovnik...

Room Tip: Book some where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for staying in our hotel and writing a review which will help us to improve our services.

I am sorry for the displeasure you experienced during your stay.

Because of the technical reasons we are not able to install WI FI in hotel rooms but we will definitely keep this in mind when we approach to renovate our hotel.

We hope to see you in our hotel again,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week, 21st-28th July. Bought lunch there the day we arrived which was enjoyable but we were half board and the breakfast and evening meals were really very poor. Only ate there 3 nights out of the 7 as a result. Room and en suite were kept clean and staff were very friendly and more than helpful. It was mainly the food which let it down. They also won't give you tap water at the restaurant. Only way to get some is to buy a coffee! Close to the beach which is rocks and pebbles and parasols and reclining chairs are expensive. All stairs on the way back to the hotel. It is close to plenty of restaurants and bars but not too close. Wouldn't recommend it because of the food which is a real shame.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for the detailed description of our services in hotel Splendid. This is very important to us in order to improve in the future.

I am sorry for not meeting all your expectations .

We hope that you will visit us again and see that we improved and listened to all your suggestions.

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at hotel splendid in early June. Staff were helpful and the little beach was a welcome surprise. Wifi not fantastic but worked adequately in the lobby or downstairs bar. Staff very friendly. Rooms clean but are a little dated. We had a room with a sea view and balcony which was great to relax on after a busy day sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for being our guest and also thank you for all your comments and suggestions.

This will help us improve our services in the future.

All the technical difficulties will be removed during the preparations for the season 2014.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

+ The bay view, the quiet area and the closeness to the old city of Dubrovnic. Great place to stress down.

- The breakfast - it wont prolong your life in any way but you'll live :-) And bring your own shampoo.

= Good service - kind people. The hotel beach (concrete) is ok and there are no direct water sports activities in front. Daily rent of sun beds (70 kn)

We enjoyed the simple but very functional hotel. The water is not for smaller children. Stones and rocks in the water and it gets deep very quickly. The water is crystal clean. The bus to the city is right outside the hotel every 15 minutes.
Besides the extremely dull breakfast we ate all other meals somewhere else. A good lunch and dinner is at the 5 star hotel at the end of the road (200 m).
The bay is a great, calm area. No water sport activities directly outside the hotel. The house next to the hotel used to be the late presidents vacation spot not only to him but world leaders. So if you would like to enjoy the same views as Queen E II, Jimmy Carter, Nixon etc. this is it. Currently the house is being transformed to a museum.

Room Tip: All rooms have bay side view. Beware that safety box is at the reception - but it worked smoothly. A...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

Thank you for all your comments and suggestions which will help us to improve our services.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Kindest regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We told the staff at Hotel Splendid that we'd recommend their hotel: that's what we're now doing! We stayed from May 22nd to June 2nd (sorry we're a bit late posting this!).

We chose the hotel because it looked small and intimate, where we would not just be a number, insignificant to the staff. How right we were. They couldn't have been more helpful, polite and friendly, whether at the main desk, in the dining room, in the bar, or cleaning our room. There is no lift, but the receptionist offered to carry our cases up to our room. This was well equipped with a comfortable bed, desk and chairs, en suite, air con., etc. and the balcony (for which we had paid extra through Balkan Holidays) gave us a stunning view down the coast.
The food (breakfast and evening meals) was self-service. We always had plenty to eat and certainly plenty of choices. Perhaps they need to be a little bit more imaginative with the desserts. We used the bar area and the terrace, which were well appointed. It's a hotel, so you pay a bit more for your drinks - but you're on holiday, aren't you?!
We found it was also a great base for getting into Dubrovnik old town, with the bus stopping up almost outside. When we arranged excursions (Mostar and Montenegro), we were picked up from/near the hotel.
We spoke to a couple who were staying at the nearby 5 star hotel and they felt they were paying too much for what they were getting and that they were just a number there. Croatia and especially Dubrovnik has been through a traumatic war. It is amazing what they have achieved and rebuilt in only a few years. We both felt that we were important to the staff at Hotel Splendid; we would go back again and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

Thank you for being our guest, your positive thoughts are very much appreciated.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Gorgeous location and views, close to bus stop to old town and to park ( right behind Dubrovnik palace) with stunning views on sea
However: no elevator and no help to take luggage to rooms, overall poor service, they make you pay chairs and towels for little beach in front of the hotel, rooms badly need renovation with scratches on walls all over the place, poorly lit bathroom with no ventilation and worn out bad sheets and blankets

Room Tip: Avoid first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nademo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for taking your time to write this review.

We are we sorry we were not able to meet your expectations and we will keep in mind all suggestions during hotel renovation.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at the Splendid Hotel from 1st July for a week, the location is wonderful, the staff are friendly and the hotel is clean, but it does need some refurbishment, it is very dated.
In the brochure it says the bus stop to the old town is just outside the hotel, what it doesn't tell you is that you either have to climb 60 steps or walk up a steep pathway to get to it. There are a lot of steps around the hotel and with no lift is not suitable for anyone with limited mobility.
Also in brochure it does tell you there is a charge for sunbeds on the hotel's 'private beach', what it doesnt tell you is that there are no other sunbeds around the hotel, to hire a sunbed and umbrella costs around £10 per day, so take that into account when budgeting for your holiday, and if you are not a 'child lover' stay away from the beach (which is all rocks) from 4.p.m. and weekends when it seems a lot of the local children invade it, so in fact it is not a beach just for hotel patrons
The food is basic and there is not much choice, that could be because when we were staying a lot of the residents only stayed bed and breakfast.
The drinks in the hotel are very expensive, four times dearer than down on the strip. £5 for a single Bacardi and Coke and on average £20 for a bottle of wine
If we went back to Dubrovnik we would not be staying at the Splendid.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms 118 and 119 unless you want to hear the sound of tennis balls all day and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazzaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for writing this review.

We are very sorry we didn't meet your expectations but we'll definitely keep in mind all the suggestions you wrote when we renovate our hotel.

Thank you for being our guest.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
924 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#37 of 68 in Dubrovnik
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £44 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a picturesque Mediterranean garden leading down to a private beach, the Splendid hotel is a perfect getaway for couples who want to take a break from everyday life and spend some romantic time together. It is situated in beautiful Lapad Bay. A bus leaves every 15 minutes for Dubrovnik's historical quarter. The Lapad Bay promenade with many shops, restaurants and cafe bars as well as large shopping mall are within walking distance from the hotel. The bright and airy double rooms with pleasantly decorated interiors and air-conditioning open onto balconies boasting stunning sea views. Single rooms are with balcony and park view. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian cuisine in the indoor and outdoor restaurant and have a refreshing cocktail on the romantic terrace overlooking the Lapad Bay. The complimentary breakfast as well as dinner are served in buffet style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Splendid Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing