We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 18 June 2010

A girlfriend and I have just returned from a short break at this hotel. The location is wonderful, very peaceful and relaxing and the staff are lovely and friendly. No pool but as the hotel is by the sea this is not a problem, the swimming is fabulous in a clear blue, warm sea. The rooms are basic but clean and all have gorgeous views. It is a short bus ride (No 4) to Dubrovnik Old City and there is a lovely walk around the bay with plenty of nice places to sit and eat and drink and admire the scenery.
We took a taxi from the airport (€35) and the drive along the coastline is stunning.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2010

We booked this hotel because it had it´s own clay tennis court and our main intention was to play there. Unfortunately the court was not ready to play on and that was actually the only thing preventing this hotel from getting a full star review from me.

The hotel is located 4-5 km´s from Dubrovnik Old Town , right on the beautiful Lapab Bay with the cleanest ocean water in the world. It´s a joy to take a swim in that blue-green water.

The rooms are clean and fresh and they had just laid new carpets in all rooms.
Free wireless Internet access in reception.

Good breakfust buffet .

Very friendly and helpfull staff in reception.

Free parking outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henkebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We had sea view and balcony, which was excellent.
The hotel is right on the shore, there's no pool, if you want to swim, dive straight into sea.
Its rocky with very little sand,
The rooms are a fair size and we had a bigger than kingsize bed, with TV, on suite, hairdryer ect. The maids do a brilliant job keeping rooms clean & tidy
The food is reasonable. Plenty of choice, The views from the outside dining area are sensational.
As a result on the hotel being next to the sea, there are steps and stairs at every turn, there are no lifts. Its not a problem to the average person, but may not be so good some people.
There is a 5 to 10 minute stroll into Lapad bar and resturant area, which can be reached by road or by coastal path. The bus to Dubrovnik passes right infront of the hotel about every 20 mins.
We had a really good time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulmusikman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

While this is not the most modern of facilities, it is made up for by the fact that many rooms ahve lovely views of the sea. Also, the hotel is set amidst gardens and has its own tennis courts and its own private beach. There is also a breakfast buffet for guests - ntohign fancy but still ncie and the dining area has a patio which overlooks the sea. While distant from the old town, there is a public bus (Bus No. 4) which stops in front of the hotel every 15 minutes or so and takes about 15 minutes to get to the old town. You can buy tickets from the staff. As for the staff, they were friendly and spoke English well. The only somewhatdownside is that the hotel looks as if it hasn't been renovated in 20 years and teh shower head in my room was leaky. However, overall, it was a great and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjy8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Just got back after a week at the Hotel Splendid. weather fantastic and sad to arrive back to the rain of the UK. The hotel is situated approx 40 minutes walk outside the beautiful city of Dubrovnik and a bus ride away which run approx every 15 minutes outside the hotel for about 8 KN from the hotel lobby ( approx £1.10) will you get you into the centre in about 10 minutes.
The Hotel is clean and has the basic facilites of you're average BNB at Blackpool in High season- minus the tea making facilities AND LIFT. Good showers and a great view of the Adriatic Sea.The reception staff are very helpful and chatty but not overly.. the cleaner was lovely we liked her !
Lapad itself has lots of Restaurants although prices ares slightly cheaper than those in the centre we still found it suprisengly expensive - after the hype we were expecting pennies a pint. infact it was like for like for both a good wine or good beer compared to the UK.
This region is definantly NOT for the under 40's who want nightlife and later nights most of the resort is closed by 11.00 which means that you are up early and able to walk the million steps which seem to be everywhere in Lapad.Its worth doing the walk on the opposite side of the bay ( babin kuk) but expect tight calfs the next day .
We stayed half bored expecting fish dishes, and fresh salads however..the food at the Hotel Splendid is basic, expect fatty bacon ( or spam heated up to look like bacon) and the usually continental breakfast of cheese and breads. Tea was mainly full of carbs and hardly a fish , or olive in sight which was suprising considering the proximety to the sea and the restaurants stance that it is meditterian in its values. The manager of the restaurant is over keen in service to say the least and will happily present the bill half for extras half way through a meal, which can be an irritation and makes you feel uneasey. We had a protest ( if not small 2 man one)we were assigned a table on the 2nd day, and refused to sit there as the restaurant was half empty, there were much better table soutside and we are rebels! worth it for the sunset if not black looks!
Eat out is my view - great restaurants down by the harbour in Dubrovnik which are reasonable prices, offer lazy evenings to people watch and a great view of the bay and Islands beyond.
Go to Dubrovnik late aftenoon the cruise ships have left, the streets are walkable and its cooler to walk the city walls icecream in hand I think we tried every flavour for about £1.00 for a large cone...far better that the usual smow globe souveniers and fridge magnets which seem to be the norm for this region. This romantic city has the architecture and streets to match those of Vennice, Barcelona. Parids or Rome.
We would definalty go back to Croatia the people speak English, are happy to help in the main, very friendly and relaxed. however would we stay at the Hotel Splendid in all honesty probably NOT!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachysnscream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Splendid for four nights in October 2008. The hotel was nothing fancy, but for the price, about $100 usd per night, was a good value for Dubrovnik.

We stayed in a sea-view double room with a large bed, desk, small tv, mini-bar, closet and small balcony with typical plastic furniture. The bathroom was nicely sized with a full-size tub, sink, etc.

The balcony is small, but has a wonderful view of one of the small bays. The furniture wasn't brand new, but was more than sufficient and the room itself was clean and spacious enough.

The hotel has its own sea-side swimming area (not a pool), although the cafe was closed during our trip. The only downside is the hotel does charge extra for deckchairs/ towels, 25 kuna per person for the set, or about $5 for the day. The weather in October was still warm enough to swim mid-day and the beach area was sparsely populated.

Breakfast was a buffet featuring a wide selection including meats, cheeses, rolls, as well as a hot bar with fishy-tasting scrambled eggs, jams, danishes, sausages and other items. The worst item was actually the coffee, which came from one of those automatic dispensing machine and offered a variety of choices (cafe au lait, espresso, etc.) all equally burnt.

The hotel is located on the Lapad peninsula, which appeared to basically be a row of hotels all owned by the same company. It was convenient to the bus stop which went directly to the Old City, leaving every 20 minutes for a 10 to 15 minute ride. Bus tickets are available at the front desk and were inexpensive. A taxi ride to the hotel from the ferry harbor was also inexpensive, about 70 kuna.

The hotel was quiet and we could hear the sea at night, which was very pleasant, as opposed to the hoards of tourists who still populated the Old City, even in October.

The hotel staff was very friendly, arranging dinner reservations as well as contacting a kayaking company.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank washingtondcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Dubrovnik was great but the Hotel Splendid disappointed. This hotel could be so much more, unfortunately it hasn’t been updated to today’s standards. We reserved a double room with sea view which we got. The view was nice but the balcony furniture had seen better days. The room was very small, very little space between the bed and the desk and difficult to even get to the balcony. The carpets in the room and the hallways were grungy and the waste paper basket hadn’t been emptied from the previous occupant. However, the worst part of this 4 floor hotel was that it had no elevator, not even ramps or handrails along the staircase. I have to admit that I had not read reviews before I booked but noted afterwards that other travellers had mentioned the lack of elevators. I am mobility impaired and it was impossible for me to even go to the breakfast room, since it involved at least 20 stairs. My husband brought breakfast to the room, where we ate on the balcony. More stairs led to the garden, patio and beach, all not accessible to anybody with mobility issues. On the positive side, the reception staff were very helpful and friendly and reserved a parking spot for us close to the entrance. Do NOT book this hotel if you have difficulties with stairs. Since there was a lack of quality the room rate was NOT justified.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#27 of 68 in Dubrovnik
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#39 of 68 in Dubrovnik
334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £47 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a picturesque Mediterranean garden leading down to a private beach, the Splendid hotel is a perfect getaway for couples who want to take a break from everyday life and spend some romantic time together. It is situated in beautiful Lapad Bay. A bus leaves every 15 minutes for Dubrovnik's historical quarter. The Lapad Bay promenade with many shops, restaurants and cafe bars as well as large shopping mall are within walking distance from the hotel. The bright and airy double rooms with pleasantly decorated interiors and air-conditioning open onto balconies boasting stunning sea views. Single rooms are with balcony and park view. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian cuisine in the indoor and outdoor restaurant and have a refreshing cocktail on the romantic terrace overlooking the Lapad Bay. The complimentary breakfast as well as dinner are served in buffet style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Splendid Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing