We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Bar Bard

Cafe Bar Bard
Ranked #113 of 366 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bahrain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go for the view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This place has an awesome view out to sea. It is located on the rocks outside of the Old Town walls. Quite tricky to find. Well worth it to watch the sunset.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Found this bar on the last night of a fortnight stay and wished we had found it on night one. You need to go right to the back of the old town and you enter the bar through a small door in the city walls, the sight that greets you on emerging from the wall is quite simply amazing. Tables and chairs perched on outcrops of rocks everyone with stunning views of Dubrovnik bay and surrounding islands.

Take a seat and a waiter will bring you drinks, sometimes he will use the steps to get to your table, other times its a big like a rock climbing adventure as he nips between tables and rocks to ge to customers.

This is by far the best bar I've been to EVER.
Prices are high but who cares when the view is so good.
It's so good i would come back to dubrovnik just to sit here again and watch the sun going down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swed80466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This bar is hidden 200m down from the popular Buza Bar, and well worth discovering as it's way better. Views are magical, especially at sunset, the drinks or average price, and not super crowded (on the weeknight in the summer). It's easy to get into the water from the rocks if you like too! A true little gem right in the walls of this awesome old town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is amazing...if you can find it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

I am not one to use exaggerations in my TripAdvisor reviews, but this place may have had one of the best views at any bar I've ever been to. And I've been to my share of bars!

Located just outside the Dubrovnik City Walls and hidden behind a narrow passageways, every single table faces the Adriatic Sea. The service is quick and the beers will run you about $6 but, Great Gravy on a Plate, what a setting to just sit and drink! Words do not do it justice! Bring your swim trunks; some patrons were even jumping in swimming. Also worth noting that there is no food and you have to hit a place around the corner for a bathroom, but I will not let that deter my five star review.

On a tiered setting over rocks and small tables, you can spend hours watching kayakers, sun bathers, cruise ships, islands, ocean views, mountains and more. Loved it here. I'm in town for a few days, so I'm going to go back tomorrow. And the next day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilandBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bar Bard also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Cafe Bar Bard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing