We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious and expensive”

Gil's Little Bistro
Ranked #40 of 406 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated in the middle of the bustling luminous Old Town of Dubrovnik but tucked away neatly in a little side street allows the perfect balance of summer atmosphere and privacy amongst friends and/or family. Gil's Little Bistro is Little in size and large in quality!
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This little bistro came highly recommended in several guide books, but we found it to be not nearly as good as it would like to be. Much is made of the choosing of the steaks which are sold by weight and cut at your table, but the finished dish is only so so. We had to wait for our wine and the service in general was haphazard. The restaurant is tucked into a tiny alley, which is quite charming, but it is also very stuffy on a coolish night and must be suffocating on a hot one.

3  Thank LondonPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana D, Owner at Gil's Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations!

Gil's little bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 366 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I've been to this french restaurant with my boyfriend while in holiday in Dubrovnik. (Old Dubrovnik) I ordered the lamb: the meat was part stufato and part grilled, there were agnolotti made of polenta and some rocket salad: it was beautiful. My boyfriend had truffle risotto with a cream made of cheese, it was amazing, but maybe a little overcooked for me (I am italian, we eat risotto "al dente"). Very good, the prices are a bit high. Anyway recommended.

1  Thank Noemi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a really nice meal but the portions were small. More expensive than we paid for the rest of our stay in Dubrovnik but not compared to UK prices.

Thank lizandjeff53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Whilst the setting leaves a lot to be desired ( tables set up in a side street) the service and food were stunning and more than make up for it! Having eaten in quite a few steak restaurants in London (gauchos, Carter's etc) this surpassed all of them. The waiter recommended a shared starter of cured ham and sheep cheese for two, an excellent red wine and a stunning steak. It was cooked to perfection and the knife glided through the meat like butter! We went for the waiter's wine recommendation and that was extremely drinkable.

Having chosen the previous two nights restaurants through TA I was slightly disappointed with them and therefore apprehensive about Gil's. It did not disappoint! I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Thank cmjUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana D, Owner at Gil's Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We are very grateful for your comment. Many many thanks!

Gil's little bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Four of us had dinner here one night in July. The side alley location means it does not get cooling breezes, so keep that in mind on a hot day. It is expensive. Food, steaks, fries, was good, not great. I guess it does not take too much to be a good restaurant in a tourist town. For my money not worth it. Eat a pizza in Dubrovnik, and save your money for a much better experience in a less touristy location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Loki744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana D, Owner at Gil's Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Surprised by your comment!

Gil's little bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gil's Little Bistro also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Gil's Little Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing