We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view”
Review of Hotel Adriatic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Adriatic
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our room was on the 2, floor with a nice view over the bay. We knew we had not to expect too much from a two class hotel, so staff was attentive and nice, the room cean... but it is defenitivly too noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O_Sjelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your compliments about our hotel location, cleanliness and kind staff.
Summer season in Dubrovnik always offers numerous events and happenings.
Therefore, for the guests who prefer more peaceful holidays, we recommend May and October.
Best regards.

Hotel Manager
Boris Barilar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We visited here for dinner as we were looking for a quick plate of pasta as we were spending an evening in Lapad rather than the Old Town. We would have been much better off eating in our own hotel restaurant but we tend to prefer going out for dinner.
It was fairly disastrous as after ordering our drinks, and watching our bottle of water go to another table, we waited almost two hours for two plates of pasta. The restaurant was busy but no more so than anywhere else we had eaten in.
After an hour since we ordered, we complained and asked to pay for our drinks and leave for the pizza pasta place at the top of the street, we were told our meals were ready and would be two minutes, they would give us free drinks and a starter if we stayed for the meal.
We were then brought tuna paste, tequila and beers but still no dinner....
When the pasta was brought out, approx half an hour after complaining the portions were tiny and we were half drunk, not ideal.
This would probably be an ok restaurant if quiet, but if it is busy, avoid it! And we still paid about 350 kuna for two pastas, one beer, one coke, and a bottle of water that we were never given.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank misstee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Our hotel restaurant offers only buffet table meals, so separate dishes cannot be ordered. I am sure your review does not refer to our hotel. I hope you were satisfied with other services in Dubrovnik.
Best regards,

Hotel Manager
Boris Barilar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Basic rooms but exceptionally clean. Fresh bedding and towels daily and very helpful reception staff . We stayed an a B & B basis and there was plenty of food with a really good selection. Being open 7-10 was excellent as we liked a bit of a lay in.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EC0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
We thank you for your kind words. We are glad that we made your stay in hotel Adriatic a memorable one.
Greetings from the entire staff and me.

Hotel Manager
Boris Barilar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is excellently situated. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and the beach is just a stones throw away. Free internet in the lobby and parking just outside. The staff is very friendly and helpful and do what they can. However everything is worn down and old and not very nice. The noise is the worst part as the hotel is often used for school classes. Beds are ok and the balcony has chairs. No elevator/lift. The restaurant is opposit the hotel below a fitness centre. Breakfast is ok but be early to get a varied selection.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanneVirum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
We thank you for your kind words you used to describe our excellent location, kind staff, hotel beach, food…
Because of an excellent value for money we sometimes, not too often, accommodate younger guests, who also wish to visit our well known Dubrovnik.

Best regards,
Boris Barilar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a 2 star hotel- it does not pretend to be otherwise- so those reviews which are highly critical were probably expecting 5 star quality for 2 star prices.
As with all our reviews there are both positives and negatives for this hotel.
Positives:
1.It is is in lovely setting on the Lapad Peninsular.
2.The no.4 bus stop to the Pile gate is directly outside the hotel. 24 hour bus tickets -allowing you to use any bus for the day at a cost of 30 kuna pp are available from hotel reception. Journey 15-20 mins to Old Town.
3.Our room 303, although basic, had a balcony with wonderful views of Lapad Bay. It was clean, and linen and towels were changed regularly.
4.Wi-Fi is free but only available in the reception and bar areas.
5.The bar staff are delightful, and prices reasonable. The outdoor seating area overlooking Lapad Bay is lovely.
6.The reception staff were very pleasant, and Edin was particularly helpful on our arrival, taking our cases up to our room, providing a useful booklet on Dubrovnik, and explaining breakfast arrangements (which were included in our stay) and check-out times.
7. Breakfast is served from 7-10 am across the road. It had a good selection of hot and cold dishes, but there are some negative comments.
8. We did have the Buffet dinner on two nights- priced at 110 kuna pp- it was reasonably priced-with a good choice. Again restaurant staff were very pleasant. I think if you treat staff with respect then you get a far better response- perhaps this may have been the problem with the terrible reviews.
Negatives:
1.There is NO LIFT. STEPS! 56 from reception to our room (303) 10 more steps to road -50 more steps to restaurant on other side of road. We always travel light -each of our cases weighing less than 7kg-so this did not cause a major problem- but those with heavier luggage may find this more difficult.
2. Yes, some lights did not work in the room, air conditioning was poor, TV was old-but worked, and shower was flimsy. There is no safe/safety box in room.
3. Breakfast - fruit juices much watered down. Hot chocolate and museli/ yoghurt good. Hot food-scrambled eggs/boiled eggs, sausages,bacon, not very hot but microwave available to reheat food. Toaster worked well. Selection of cheese/ham/salami and pastries. I often wonder what reviewers expect from breakfast at a 2 star hotel!
Tips:
Just under the hotel is the office of ALFA TURIST, run by Lidija Duratovik. She is extremely helpful and pleasant, and we booked trips with her to Mostar and the Elafiti Islands. She cares about her clients and the tours were excellent value. The shuttle bus service run by this company, which was part of our package deal, are not wonderfully efficient. On arrival at Dubrovnik airport we had quite a search to find our transport from the airport to the hotel. We suspected there may be problems on the return trip from the hotel to the airport- we were right- and it was Lidija who helped to sort the confusion- the company had the wrong hotel and transfer time for our return trip - so beware. They actually picked us up 20 mins early.

Room Tip: Room 303 had lovely view, but in the height of summer rooms at front of hotel might be more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
We thank you for your detail description of our hotel. I am very proud of your kind words referred to all our business segments.

Best regards from entire hotel staff and me,
Boris Barilar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Although the view from our room was amazing, there was lots of little flaws in our room. Things that should normally be repaired, for example bathroom door had no handle, remotecontrol for tv was broken and some lightbulbs also needed to be changed. Breakfast wasnt worth the money, specially the coffee was bad. Some of the people from staff had quite unique sense of humour.. I think its not very good idea to joke about a booked room not being booked when you just arrived to the hotel after long and exhausting trip. Also you should be careful when taking a taxi at the night time, and check the money you recieve back(some taxies uses currency thats worthless and looks similar to Kunas).

Room Tip: Choose room with a view to the shore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank veikkoveikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Our sea view rooms, especially during the sunset, indeed provide unforgettable views. We are glad that you described our hotel having that impression in mind. We are constantly organizing various trainings for our kind staff.

Kind regards,
Boris Barilar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I found the hotel to be perfectly adequate and well up to 2 star standard great location good service good food shame that it looks a bit tired and no lift but would definitely recommend as a value for money hotel and would return

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reallywannatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
We thank for your recommendations: they are honest and describe advantages of our hotel in comparison with our competition – great location, kind staff, cleanliness and affordable prices.

Kind regards,
Boris Barilar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#40 of 68 in Dubrovnik
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#38 of 68 in Dubrovnik
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adria Apartments
Adria Apartments
#46 of 68 in Dubrovnik
18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Petka
Hotel Petka
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sumratin
Hotel Sumratin
#62 of 68 in Dubrovnik
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adriatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adriatic

Address: Masarykov put 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £36 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Adriatic 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful beach-front property situated in the beautiful picturesque Bay of Lapad, on the direct bus route to the historic center of Dubrovnik. This hotel is offering accommodation in both park and sea view rooms. Sea view rooms are featuring balconies with stunning views over the whole Lapad Bay. All rooms are air-conditioned. Guests can enjoy complimentary buffet breakfast in the sea facing restaurant, sip refreshing cocktails at the bar or work out in the gym or on the clay tennis court. The famous Lapad Bay promenade, full of restaurants and cafe bars is just a stroll away. A bus stop to the Old town is directly in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adriatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriatic Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Adriatic Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing