We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous pool, lovely hotel, pricey food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous pool, lovely hotel, pricey food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I went here with a friend a few weeks ago. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are changed everyday and you don't need to take towels for around the pool as they are provided. It's really luxurious around the pool, gorgeous views and a lovely sea-breeze. The staff were lovely and very helpful. My only complaint is that if you want to eat at the pool around lunchtime, you will pay a lot for it. A sandwich costs about £10 which does seem astronomical even for a 5-star hotel (and the service can take ages so be prepared to wait!) Also, it was very hot and windy and if it's too windy, they can't put up the umbrellas so there's no shade for when you're eating which can be quite uncomfortable at times. However, overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and we had a great stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top floors of the hotel as I think the views from some of the ones below are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyFlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are sorry for mentioned inconveniences.
We recommend ourselves for your next stay in Dubrovnik.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    528
    168
    46
    23
See reviews for
261
977
57
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We have recently returned from fantastic holiday staying at the Dubrovnik Palace Hotel.

This was our first visit to Dubrovnik and we quite liked the idea of staying in the old town but are so glad we picked this hotel. The old town is lovely but very busy and extremely warm and whilst we did spend most of our time there during the day it was good to get away from the busy streets. Dont forget to take your camera to the old town - there are beautiful pictures to be taken in some of the narrow - colourful streets.

We arrived at the Airport and booked a taxi locally to take us to the hotel, the taxi driver was very polite and chatty (it felt great when he told us that we had picked the best hotel in the area!!).

The hotel itself was beatiful, the hotel lobby is very impressive. The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. Their English is fantastic (in fact so good it was slightly embarrasing that we had not bothered to learn a little of the local lingo!) One point worth mentioning is that we booked a couple of excursions via the hotel as the girl was so helpful. We had expected to pay more via the hotel and happened just to check the prices on our arrival in the old town - surprising but it was not any cheaper!

No complaints about the room, we were on the 9th floor, the room was a standard size, and kept very clean and tidy. I had requested a room on this floor for the spectacular views and Rade (General Manager) had this arranged for our arrival!

The breakfast was second to none with a wide range of fruit, cereals & cooked foods. Very tasty and eat as much as you like. We had dinner at the hotel on a couple of occasions and whilst it was a bit more expensive than some of the local restaurants it is worth it - the food was lovely.

There are a lot of things to do and it was always after lunch before we made our way to the pool but never found it a problem finding a sun bed. With a courtesy towel waiting as you walked to the pool area I had no complaints. There are steps down into the sea and if you can handle the chill its well worth a swim.

Overall the hotel was great, and if we visit Dubrovnik again (which we hope to soon), we certainly would stay at this hotel.

Conratulations to Rade and all his staff.

PS Thanks for the birthday cake that was delivered to our room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stevenson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear Mr. Stevenson,
thank you very much for your valuable review.
It's been a pleasure to have you as our guest and
we look forward to your next stay at Dubrovnik Palace.
Best regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christinaanne068
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We have recently returned from fantastic holiday staying at the Dubrovnik Palace Hotel. This was our first visit to Dubrovnik and we weren’t quite sure where to stay – the old town itself, Lapad area or even to stay in Cavtat and to make a couple of visits into Dubrovnik old town, but chose this hotel from the reviews already on Tripadvisor and were very pleased with our choice.
The hotel is positioned in Lapad, about 25 minutes from the airport and approximately 15 minutes by bus from the old town. As has been mentioned, the No. 4 bus stops outside the hotel and at the Pile Gate entrance to the old town so it is really easy. The hotel courtesy bus is running at the moment too, which is free for guests. From the hotel, it is a short walk into Lapad, where you will find a beach, some pleasant coffee bars and a few restaurants
The large hotel lobby area is lovely with floor to ceiling windows with fantastic views and the feature water wall very impressive. All the staff, from reception to bars, restaurant, pool etc are all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. There are two iPads available on the bar which again are free for guests to use.
We were in Room 321 which is a “superior” type room. Plenty of space with a very comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space with hangers, sofa, easy chairs, tea and coffee making facilities and bathroom with bath and shower over. Yves Rocher shower/bath gel, shampoo and body lotion is provided. There was also a balcony with a table and chairs and a fantastic view out to sea, the lighthouse and the islands. The only niggle was the air conditioning control which was very difficult to use.
The outdoor pool is lovely with a Jacuzzi, swim up pool bar, waterfall feature, plenty of sunbeds/parasols and towels. We never had a problem getting a sunbed but there really aren’t any shady spots so if we needed to be out of the sun for a while we made our way to the pool bar terrace. There is also access to the sea via steps from the bathing platform area lower down from the pool.
There was a huge choice at breakfast with everything you could imagine from fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, croissants etc., to cold meat/cheese and cooked breakfasts and a chef was on hand to make omelettes. Service was always friendly, pleasant and efficient. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and apart from a lunch in the pool restaurant which was excellent, we ate out every night in Dubrovnik old town where there is a great choice and at reasonable prices.
There is a small but well equipped gym in the hotel. My husband used it several times and enjoyed the lovely views out to sea, whilst working out
The hotel throughout is very clean and well organised and for a first visit to Dubrovnik very convenient in all respects

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinaanne068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to write this lovely review.
As we constantly strive to make our service and offer flawless, it is always nice to know that our efforts are recognized and appreciated by our guests.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we recommend ourselves for your next stay with a promise to go beyond your expectations.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Reluctant to leave the hotel this morning, one of the best places we have ever stayed at.
I have to pick up on some of the points mentioned earlier like the shower screens and the floor getting wet, felt sorry for the house keeping staff who seem aware of this. The sea view was obscured by trees and the air con being stuck at 24 degrees, never the less these issues did not have much of an impact on our enjoyment of our stay. Every member of staff we met was so polite and helpful. (the security guard seemed a misery though!) I would like to say a special thank you to all the catering managers who understood my wife's special dietary needs and with the help of the friendly restaurant staff fulfilled her eating desires. Our week flew by so quickly, I wish I was there now. I would recommend this hotel to anybody full stop you would not be disappointed believe me! A big thanks to all the staff we had dealings with :-)
Just had to come back after seeing the next section, the Mini bar was a little over priced and therefore I didn't use it much. If the prices were reasonable then I wouldn't think twice. I was was charged for something I didn't use and I complained and the charge was waived.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Timmy_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik.
We are so glad you enjoyed it and hopefull that you will come back.
We are sorry for mentioned inconveniences and hope they haven't spoil your overall vacation experience.
We look forward to your next stay at Dubrovnik Palace hotel.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We spent a week here and had a wonderful time. We had only booked a standard double (room 309), and it was fantastic - spacious with an enormous bed and a lovely, private balcony overlooking the sea and gardens. The only negative thing we could find to say about the hotel was that the bathroom shower screen was a bit inadequate and it was too easy to flood the bathroom floor whilst showering. There were two fabulous swimming pools, one outside and one in, and we enjoyed swimming in both. We found the hotel spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

We did a bit of research into other hotels for when we return, thinking that a more central location might be better for a short stay. Wrong. The Palace was the best, and well connected by the no 4 bus which runs every 20 minutes until after midnight (10 minute journey), and, in high season (which started 15 June) a hotel shuttle bus several times a day. We didn't have dinner in the hotel because restaurant prices looked a bit steep, but even when we didn't go into Dubrovnik, good restaurants are to be found in Lapad only a 10 minute walk away.

We'll be back, and we'll be recommending it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pequeno_Planeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear guest,
Your review is very much appreciated.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik, we are glad you enjoyed your time.
We look forward to your next stay at Dubrovnik Palace with a promise not to fail in making your stay even more enjoyable.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

A very pleasant surpise indeed! Arrived at the hotel a couple days earlier with my wife and 11yo son in order to enjoy a couple vacation days prior to my attending a conference at the hotel. Comfortable room with terrance providing a beautiful sea view. What stood out for us was the the incredibly helpful and friend staff. Starting with the hotel transfer service to and from the airport (Ivan? and Toma), the waitstaff/poolside bar team (Ana, Armin, Anita, Denis and everyone in the buffet dining area) to the housekkeping staff (Claire)... Each and every person we met on the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, took time to speak with us regarding the local history and basically treated us like old friends. Customer service was above and beyond in our opinions. Buffet food for breakfast and dinner was generally good and there was quite a variety of choices. No complaints fom us. Enjoyed the outdoor eatery for lunch some days and my son was pleased with the huge burgers and home made pizza. We thought the indoor a la carte eatery on the first floor was a bit pricey with a main course Seaffod stew for two that was North of 125 Euro though some other items were closer to what I would have expected to see price wise. Fresh lobsters there looked good. Did not see anyone eating there during the day when I was not in conference. That said, we usually opted for the dinner buffet which fit our needs perfectly.

If I had to find anything else somewhat negative, I would say the A/C was a little tricky in our room with a preset temp of 24 degrees. It was difficult to change the temp, allowing a range of 3 degrees either way but it never seemed to deviate from the 23-24 degree range the entire time, so we ran it on high most times to keep it comforatble. The Starfish club for kids was also closed since it was not in the summer season yet but I was informed they would open for us with 24 hour notice so they could bring someone in. Not important as my son spent the majority og his time in and around the pools. Bottom line, very nice and memorable stay. We would return to this hotel again without hesitation and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCN-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear guest,
thank you very much for a very nice review.
We are glad and thankful you recogniized and appreciated the level of our service and hope the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff members compensated for the inconveniences you mentioned for which we apologize.
We hope the conference you attended was as successfull and pleasant as your vacation and therefore recommend ourselves and look forward to your next stay at Dubrovnik Palace.
With kindest regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

This is not five star by any standards and if you can manage your expectations accordingly you could have a reasonable time here. The views are spectacular however if you look closely at the photos you will see that the rooms are cramped and where there is a balcony you need to INSIST that you see the room first as a lot of them overlook trees. We booked a suite which was really two small rooms side by side with an open space that requires you to climb over the bed to access (again look closely at the pictures) and we order breakfast in our room and it was terrible. So, if you can get a great deal on the internet its probably fine, but I would really recommend that you stay down town at somewhere like the Hilton as you can still access the water etc from there. Very nice Spa though and we took a private boat trip which was expensive but a great way to pass the morning.

Room Tip: a lot of rooms dont have view - see room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
We are very sorry to hear our hotel haven't fulfilled your expectations but still hope you had an enjoyable vacation altogether.
There is no hotel that can get an 'A+' at all times, by everyone. However, I believe everyone can find something for him/herself in any 5 star premise.
We will be honoured to welcome you again in our hotel and quite sure, if given a chance, will be able to accommodate your taste.
Best regards,
Rade Malobabić,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing