We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, Little disapointed by the room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2011

After a long night when we left for Dubrovnik. We got checked in to room 207. 1 hour late because our room was not ready.

When we got to our room. It was hot. About 27 Celsius.
The aircondition seem a bit tricky and would not work in the default automatic setting. So we need to manually set the fan speed everytime we go to the balcony. (because the ac turns of when you open the door to the balcony.).
When we complained about this. One of the messages we got is that their having problems when its hot outside.. I think that is a lame excuse. I think the ac should be more powerful if that is the reason. Rember this is a 5 star hotel.
After the complaining i think some steps have been taken. The cleaning ladys have inserted a dummy card to in our room that keeps the power on, so the ac don´t shutdown. This helps so now the temperatur is ok.

So to the second. The Minibar. It is not cold. All the drinks inside is warm. We also complained about this and they even sent the maintenance guy down to look at it. But he blamed it on 2 larger bottles we had put in it..
But the minibar was warm long before we put anything in it. We have even taken the bottels out. Still the same.
The free Wlan internet connection is very slow in room 207. So if you depend on doing some work, VPN or something. This will anoy you big time.
This small things is realy annoying in a 5 star hotel.

So over to the more positive things:
Nice view.
Clean!
Lovely spa and indoor pool. With helpful staff.
Dubrovnik is a good place to be, But a little crowded.

A tip: Take the Mljet National Park Excurson. Very nice views and lovely to swim in the small lake.


Summary.:
The hotel is a good hotel, Nice location by the sea, Clean, Good food but a bit pricy, Breakfast buffet is good, The Segway Tour was very good.

But the room we have/had did not meet our expectations for a 5 star hotel. Because of the things i did write above.

Ole M.

Room Tip: High Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcbnorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable review.
Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences with the air conditioning and minibar during your stay with us.
We admitt mistakes can happen but nevertheless, I will personally make sure that those mistakes are never happened again.
I sincerely hope your overall vacation experience is still positive.
Thank you once more for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,598 - 1,604 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was my first time to Croatia & hopefully not my last! My partner & I spent a long time trying to choose where best to stay...& I would definitely say we made the perfect choice with this hotel!
The hotel is situated only a short bus ride from the beautiful old town, & the buses are extremely regular and reliable and stop right outside the hotel -it's very easy! We actually hired a scooter to get around in the day (because we wanted to discover our own beaches) but the buses were ideal for the evening when we wanted to have a drink or two! The hotel is within a short-walk to the centre of Lapad which has some nice bars, small supermarket and beach.
The large hotel lobby is absolutely breath-taking, with glass walls overlooking the sea right in view of the sunset! The staff are so friendly, speak good English and you are always greeted with a smile. We specifically asked for a sea-view room in advance (which we got without a problem) and our room (no.650) had a balcony with the most stunning view i've ever had from a hotel....right next to the sea and in-line with the most incredible sunset and the islands! I often just sat out on the balcony to enjoy the amazing views. The bedroom and en-suite were very nice, comfortable and clean, and rooms are cleaned daily with fresh soft towels, shampoos, etc. The only tiny thing I would mention is that if you've got long, thick hair (like me!), maybe take your own hairdryer as the bathrooms do have one but it's not very powerful and took me a while to dry my hair! We also had air conditioning which worked well and the room was always a very good temperature. When we arrived, we also asked for coffee-making facilities, which were kindly brought to out room immediately.

Even though it is quite a large hotel, a feature that I love about this hotel is that it feels very personal, the staff are so friendly and a little gesture I thought was adorable was that at around 7:30 every evening, housekeeping bring you a little chocolate each to your room! Breakfast each morning is fantastic, with a huge selection of breads, fruit, cold or cooked breakfast choices and plenty of juices and coffee. We always sat outside on the large balcony for breakfast as the views are stunning, but you have the choice to sit inside too if you prefer, and breakfast also goes on until 10:30am which is perfect. There is a lovely pool and bar and towels are provided to use by the pool. We always managed to get sun loungers, but we didnt stay many days by the pool as we wanted to explore other places/beaches (definitely recommend going to 'Sveti Jakov' beach which is a hidden gem we discovered on our scooter!).

The whole hotel has a very chilled and relaxing atmosphere and I certainly hope to return again one day. Many thanks to all the wonderful staff for mking our holiday so incredible, definitely a 5 star hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us that much and glad we could be of service to make your vacation memorable.
We recommend ourselves for your next stay in Dubrovnik.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Fabulous views and the most amazing red sunsets. We were in room 623 so enjoyed watching the sun set from the balcony. We enjoyed being our on the coast away from the old town. It was so easy to get into town on the free shuttle bus or on the Number 4 bus. Getting home on the number 4 was a bit of a scrum sometimes though. Enjoyed using the spa, indoor swimming pool. Gym is basic but has air con. Astonishing choice at breakfast time. Lounge bar was strangely underused - we really enjoyed using the free ipads and used them to check out local restaurants esp on Tripadvisor. For any info needs on the area or to book tables in restaurants, talk to Guest Relations who were always really helpful. My only real criticism is the hairdryers in the room. Be careful as the lead overheats and broke too easily - all the hot air escapes through the break! That aside, we would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a full sea view before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Kate_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear guest,
thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer. We sincerely hope that mentioned inconveniences didn't downgrade your overall experience.
Thank you once more for trusting us with your vacation.
We look forward to your next stay at Dubrovnik Palace.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here from the 26th of June to 1st of July 2011. From the moment we entered the hotel we knew we had made the right decision. The view from the reception is amazing !. The people at reception could not have been more friendly and professional, they were a credit to the Hotel. In fact all of the staff were superb. The breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts that we have experienced . The room, if not the largest , was very comforable and the view from the balcony unreal. The pool area and health spa are pure relaxation. The hotel bus, on the hour to Dubrovnik and on the half hour return, was great and the No 4 bus was outside the hotel every 15 minutes. This service is all you need to travel to and from the old town. The restaurants in the old town are good and the local restaurants in the lapad area are also good ,and a little less expensive. Overall we would give this hotel a 5 star and would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenisBlarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
It is always nice to hear that the efforts put in the level of our service and the overall experience of our guests is recognized and appreciated, but most of all, that you , our guests, really enjoyed yourselves every moment of your stay.
Thank you, once more for choosing our hotel for your vacation in Dubrovnik.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I'm only in my 2nd day here to celebrate my wife's birthday and I just had to write a small review about the wonderful customer service here. The hotel is perfect in every way. Location, food, views. I just wanted to say a big thanks to Rade (general Manager) for the birthday cake we found in our room tonight. We hadn't said anything about it and my wife was over the moon. I'll write a full review when home but in the meantime if your looking for a hotel in Dubrovnik, stop right here and book it. 10/10 for customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIGGYStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking a few moments, while still on vacation, to write this review.
We are glad we could do something to make your wife's birthday even more memorable and thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate it.
We hope you are enjoying the rest of jour stay and recommend ourselves for your next special occasion.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I went here with a friend a few weeks ago. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are changed everyday and you don't need to take towels for around the pool as they are provided. It's really luxurious around the pool, gorgeous views and a lovely sea-breeze. The staff were lovely and very helpful. My only complaint is that if you want to eat at the pool around lunchtime, you will pay a lot for it. A sandwich costs about £10 which does seem astronomical even for a 5-star hotel (and the service can take ages so be prepared to wait!) Also, it was very hot and windy and if it's too windy, they can't put up the umbrellas so there's no shade for when you're eating which can be quite uncomfortable at times. However, overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and we had a great stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top floors of the hotel as I think the views from some of the ones below are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodyFlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are sorry for mentioned inconveniences.
We recommend ourselves for your next stay in Dubrovnik.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We have recently returned from fantastic holiday staying at the Dubrovnik Palace Hotel.

This was our first visit to Dubrovnik and we quite liked the idea of staying in the old town but are so glad we picked this hotel. The old town is lovely but very busy and extremely warm and whilst we did spend most of our time there during the day it was good to get away from the busy streets. Dont forget to take your camera to the old town - there are beautiful pictures to be taken in some of the narrow - colourful streets.

We arrived at the Airport and booked a taxi locally to take us to the hotel, the taxi driver was very polite and chatty (it felt great when he told us that we had picked the best hotel in the area!!).

The hotel itself was beatiful, the hotel lobby is very impressive. The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. Their English is fantastic (in fact so good it was slightly embarrasing that we had not bothered to learn a little of the local lingo!) One point worth mentioning is that we booked a couple of excursions via the hotel as the girl was so helpful. We had expected to pay more via the hotel and happened just to check the prices on our arrival in the old town - surprising but it was not any cheaper!

No complaints about the room, we were on the 9th floor, the room was a standard size, and kept very clean and tidy. I had requested a room on this floor for the spectacular views and Rade (General Manager) had this arranged for our arrival!

The breakfast was second to none with a wide range of fruit, cereals & cooked foods. Very tasty and eat as much as you like. We had dinner at the hotel on a couple of occasions and whilst it was a bit more expensive than some of the local restaurants it is worth it - the food was lovely.

There are a lot of things to do and it was always after lunch before we made our way to the pool but never found it a problem finding a sun bed. With a courtesy towel waiting as you walked to the pool area I had no complaints. There are steps down into the sea and if you can handle the chill its well worth a swim.

Overall the hotel was great, and if we visit Dubrovnik again (which we hope to soon), we certainly would stay at this hotel.

Conratulations to Rade and all his staff.

PS Thanks for the birthday cake that was delivered to our room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stevenson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear Mr. Stevenson,
thank you very much for your valuable review.
It's been a pleasure to have you as our guest and
we look forward to your next stay at Dubrovnik Palace.
Best regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Address: Masarykov Put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £94 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkeling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing