We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing, did not meet expectations. No attention to detail.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing, did not meet expectations. No attention to detail.”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Very good location and facilities. However very poor attention to detail.
We booked well in advance and asked for rooms on high floor. Got 2 rooms on the 2nd floor (ground floor.) Complained to both front desk & manager - both unsure on our reservation details and could not provide any suitable alternatives.
Our hotel maid was always slow to make up the room. We would request early, but it took more than 3hrs for her to come and clean the room. This was consistent over the five nights we stayed. The used complimentary toiletries were not replaced, we ended up having to ask the maid.
Light fittings in the room was loose and kept falling out as it was held in place using plasters. I am used to using plasters for cuts and wounds but never for attaching light fittings ! Light bulb not working was never replaced.
Lifts are slow and only accomodate 6 persons max. On one occasion, the lift doors would not open an we were stuck between floors. Eventually the lift started after pressing many buttons in panic.
Having stayed in many superb hotels across Europe, US and Asia - if you expecting 5 star experience at Dubrovnik Palace (as we were) you will be significantly disappointed. Closer to 3* + / 4 *.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    551
    169
    46
    22
See reviews for
277
1,032
60
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Our stay at this hotel was most enjoyable. We were given a room on a high floor with beautiful views across the Adriatic. Used the spa frequently and indulged in full body massages which were excellent and reasonably priced. The staff were very fliendly and attentive, particularly when they left a delicious birthday cake and letter from the hotel manager in my room for me without my other half having to mention it! The hotel offers an excellent variety of excursions which are easy to book. We went on the horse riding trail in Konavle and Wine tasting in the same region which were very enjoyable. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of choices and the pool area was a great spot to relax in.

It is worth noting however that the wireless internet connection was relatively slow for the majority of our stay and could be improved. Also the pool snack restaurant was very slow service-wise at times but given that the hotel was fully booked - this was understandable.

All in all we had a fantastic stay here and loved Dubrovnik. We came home well rested after our 10 nights and cannot wait to plan another trip back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
First of all, thank you for understanding regarding 'slow' service at the pool, I really hope it wasn't much of an inconvenience.
I am glad you enjoyed the amenities our hotel has to offer as well as the excursions to the surrounding area.
And last, but certainly not least, happy birthday once more and thank you for honoring us by choosing to celebrate it in our hotel.
We will be looking forward to your return.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Hotel a little way out from Dubrovnik old town but buses so frequent we never waited more than 5 minutes. Loads to do. Visit lodum island and find the sandy beach. Most beaches on the main land are rocky so water shoes and snorkels are really worth having. In Dubrovnik old town you could eat every day for a year and still not visit all the cafes and restaurants. The ice cream is amazing too. Montenegro is close by and worth a visit although the border crossings can be busy in the summer time. Just go its great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your review.
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all Dubrovnik city and the surrounding area has to offer.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Nice hotel and location ok but not a five star. The comfort zone is poor and very expensive. On the half board dinner was good but nearly all same dishes very night. If staying here go Bed and Breakfast as there number of nice restaurants short distance away. Alot of the staff could do with training on how to treat the guests as Croatia seems to be a country that people are taking the tourism very much for granted. Wake up

Would i go back ? Yes its a weekend city but don't think i would stay in same hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your honest review.
I am very sorry to hear the offer of our hotel was not up to your expectations.
Tourism isn't something our employees or the citizens of Dubrovnik for that matter take for granted, I assure you, however I cannot guarantee for every individual. I believe it is the true passion for the vocation that, among other, push us forward.
I am hopefull that you found Dubrovnik appealing and that you will be back someday.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The views and service were excellent. The only downside to the holiday was the food. The breakfast was excelllent. You were unable to have a small snack anywhere for a midday meal, you either ate in the Taverna restaurant or the restaurant outside. Both of which had a very limited menu. You could not get a simple meal as in a sandwich/bread/salad/cheese or fruit which is sometimes all you want on a very hot day. I was not aware that in the evening if you ate in the Elfiti restaurant it was a bufet style meal, this I felt was of a ver poor standard and not what I expected of a 5* hotel. I am aware that there are hundreds of places to eat in the 'Old City' but not everyone wants to travel for a meal. The shuttle bus service was excellent and was prompt every time, with plenty of room. The staff were also excellent and could not do enough if asked. Unfortunately we were below the restaurant and regularly heard tables and chairs being moved and women with heeled shoes walking above us anywhere from 6.30 am for breakfasts and from 7.00 - 10.30 for evening meal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy8888_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is definitely not a five star hotel. Our room was very disappointing, we were originally given a room on the first floor with only a partial view of the sea, we complained and were moved to the second floor, which was only marginally better. I realise that everyone will request a room with a view but we had booked several months in advance and the reason we selected this hotel was for the views.

The room was also quite small for a 5* and the furnishings were very cheap looking, the bathroom was also small and there was dirty marks on the ceiling. The towels in the bathroom were thin and hard with fraying seams.

On the plus side most of the staff that we encountered were very helpful and friendly. There was a good choice at the breakfast buffet but neither of us liked any of the hot breakfast options we tried, for example the scrambled egg was inedible and the French toast was cold and greasy, after that I stuck to cereal and fruit, which was nice. There wasn’t tea and coffee making facilities in the room but we requested some and they were re-stocked every day.

We had lunch at the pool bar once and the food was very good, the other restaurants also looked nice although we didn’t try them. We had a cocktail in the lobby bar one evening before we went out and the views are spectacular although the bar itself was empty so lacking in atmosphere.

The location of the hotel is ideal and it’s a short walk to the Lapad area, which has a good selection of bars and restaurants and is a good alternative if you don’t want to go into Dubrovnik every night. The shuttle bus is very convenient and the terminus for the local bus is right outside the hotel, it’s also very frequent.

Overall the hotel is a good base to explore Dubrovnik but at most is of 4* standard. I rated this 'Average' as the next option was 'Very Good', however, if the option was there I wouls have rated it 'Good'.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelmadDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your honest review.
As I already explained in some of recent review responds, all of our rooms are facing the sea although some views are only partial sea views because of the pine trees surrounding the whole hotel area. The, quite minimalistic, interior furnishings are not appeasing to everyone's taste, I agree, however made of quality materials, I assure you. As for the other negatives you mention, I apologize. They are seriously taken into consideration or already acted upon.
I sincerely hope you enjoyed your overall vacation in Dubrovnik.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Dubrovnik Palace is a chic Croatian hotel, perched on a clifftop overlooking the Adriatic sea. It has magnificent sea views, an infinity pool with a cocktail bar where you can kick back, relax, and talk to one of the friendly barmen (who will even remember your name after a few days). The rooms are minimalist but elegantly furnished to blend in with the beautiful natural environment surrounding the hotel. It is worth going for an upgrade for longer stays (book the Junior Suite, the Ambassador Suite or the Executive Suite), because the rooms are much bigger, have larger balconies and two bathrooms. What my partner and I loved is that the hotel is only a 10-minute drive from the Old Town, where you can explore the narrow streets, go shopping, or just have a drink in one of the many squares and people-watch. There's a hotel shuttle bus to take you there for free, but you have to come at least 15 minutes before it leaves for the city to ensure your seats. If you're intent on activity, the hotel provides scuba diving lessons, rents jet-skis, has a tennis court set in one of the secluded areas of the pine forest above the hotel, and offers numerous divine spa treatments. Only this year (and we've been staying here every summer for the last four years) we found out that there was a jacuzzi on the terrace of the Spa Center, perfect for a dip before dinner. The food is simple but delicious, especially if you crave a tasty snack by the pool, or a more exotic meal in the hotel's Satu sushi bar. The best thing? You will leave perfectly relaxed, and ready to book your next stay.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your insightful review.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities we have to offer.
I am especially glad you left us perfectly relaxed, as any vacation end should be - it's what is all about.
We will be more than ready for your next stay.
Please, do contact me if you would have a few minutes to spare, I would like to meet you and have a word since it will be your fifth (if I'm right) visit to our hotel.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing